We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb accomodation in a wonderful location”
other travellers have booked this property
The Old Barn in its glorious setting
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Barn in its glorious setting
The sunny courtyard - perfect for al fresco breakfast The patio.....
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
The Old Barn in its glorious setting
The sunny courtyard - perfect for al fresco breakfast
The patio.....
...with that view!
the superbly equipped kitchen
the lovely oak dining table seats up to 12
Relax in comfort after a day in the hills amid the warmth of old oak beams and a roaring fire
the open and spacious living space
The West Bedroom - light, bright and ......
very cosy.
The East Bedroom - extra-wide single beds and, of course, the view!
more beautiful oak beams upstairs
A quiet corner for a read or a doze
The Bat Room - Sugar Loaf views and an ensuite wetroom
triplet lambs receiving extra tlc from the hens as well as their mum!
Feeling blue - bluebells carpet the woodlands above Porth-y-Parc
it's worth the pull up to the summit of Sugar Loaf....less than an hour's walk
summer sunset over Sugar Loaf
Autumn glory at Porth-y-Parc
Sugar Loaf looking very well sugared indeed!
Go Wild!  Nothing beats a cool river dip after a hot summer walk!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mariayres
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Superb accomodation in a wonderful location”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We were made to feel very welcome with our two large hounds. The barn was very well equipped, very clean, plenty of room (there is a large area for boots and walking kit etc.) and so beautifully furnished with a contemporary edge. It didn't rain but if it had, we would still have enjoyed every minute in the cosiness and tranquillity of this accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was all great
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sa129076
London
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to stay with beautiful views”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The Old Barn has been converted to a high standard, and is in the most fantastic location for walking and views. And if you are a fairly fit cyclist then the hills around Abergavenny and the one leading back to the Old Barn will test you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian N
Denham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A charming barn conversion in the heart of rural Monmouthshire”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The Old Barn is a spacious conversion providing 3 good-sized bedrooms set in the rural heart of the picturesque Monmouthshire. It offers a peaceful setting, with magnificent views of the surrounding countryside including Sugarloaf Mountain but is only a short drive from the amenities of Abergavenny. It is ideally situated for visits to the many local attractions, walking the Brecon Beacons or just relaxing with a glass of wine! In my opinion, it thoroughly deserves all the five star reviews.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen S
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“It would be difficult to imagine a place more perfect”
Reviewed 6 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This is our second stay at this beautiful barn. Everything is wonderful, very stylish accomodation, amazing scenery with fantastic walking straight from your door. Honestly quite perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing to find fault with
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
njk100
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beautiful property, friendly owners, great value”
Reviewed 4 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

An excellent property with very helpful and friendly owners. We felt very welcome and loved the location with great walks and views. The barn is very beautifully converted and well equipped. One of the best rental properties we have stayed at!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S
2 reviews
“Absolutely wonderful place to stay in Wales”
Reviewed 25 October 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed in The Old Barn for a week in July 2014 with my mum, sister and my husband. We absolutely loved it. Location is scenic, it's nice and private, conversion and interior is tasteful and convenient and Roz is the most hospitable host happy to help with our questions. Fresh eggs were absolutely delightful. I wish we could stay longer, as the weather was especially good and allowed us to dine outside enjoying fantastic view.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brixtonbe...
brixtonbelle
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Third stay, always wonderful”
Reviewed 28 September 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We returned to the Old Barn for our third stay in May, this time to attend both the Amlin and Heineken rugby cup finals at the Millennium Stadium in Cardiff. (Its a 40min direct train from Abergavenny).
We bought different friends with us and of course they loved the cottage, the views, the walk up sugar loaf.
As ever, a very warm welcome from Roz & Pip and we added mutton to our list of farm produce this time around and slow cooked it in the range while we went off to the rugby. Superb.
We'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful building, beautifully furbished. Fantastic setting.
Liked least: Its a cliché, but having to leave!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing