We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This place is perfection”
other travellers have booked this property
The Old Barn in its glorious setting
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Barn in its glorious setting
The sunny courtyard - perfect for al fresco breakfast The patio.....
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
The Old Barn in its glorious setting
The sunny courtyard - perfect for al fresco breakfast
The patio.....
...with that view!
the superbly equipped kitchen
the lovely oak dining table seats up to 12
Relax in comfort after a day in the hills amid the warmth of old oak beams and a roaring fire
the open and spacious living space
The West Bedroom - light, bright and ......
very cosy.
The East Bedroom - extra-wide single beds and, of course, the view!
more beautiful oak beams upstairs
A quiet corner for a read or a doze
The Bat Room - Sugar Loaf views and an ensuite wetroom
triplet lambs receiving extra tlc from the hens as well as their mum!
Feeling blue - bluebells carpet the woodlands above Porth-y-Parc
it's worth the pull up to the summit of Sugar Loaf....less than an hour's walk
summer sunset over Sugar Loaf
Autumn glory at Porth-y-Parc
Sugar Loaf looking very well sugared indeed!
Go Wild!  Nothing beats a cool river dip after a hot summer walk!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Helen S
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“This place is perfection”
Reviewed 9 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

It is difficult to add more superlatives than are already written about The Old Barn. We have stayed here 4 times now and cannot find fault with it. The location is fabulous, beautiful walks straight from the door, yet the town is less than 5 minutes drive with great eateries and shops. The accomodation is immaculate with everything you could need and great touches like fresh eggs, homemade cake, fresh flowers and a lovely bottle of wine to greet us. On top of that the owners Roz and Pip are so genuinely kind and friendly and always make both us and the dog feel extremely lucky to be here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Susan R
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Beautiful barn conversion in lovely countryside”
Reviewed 22 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We loved our stay here. Although set in lovely countryside the town is easily reached and we found it a good base for visiting the area. The Barn is very comfortable and well equipped with everything our party of 5 needed, including a welcome package of wine, fresh eggs and a delicious home made cake. The owners were on hand in a nearby property but didn't intrude which was appreciated as we were there for a family "get together". Although we didn't use them, the Barn has a good selection of dvds, books and games that look to have been thoughtfully selected.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColdCossa...
1 review
“Excellent Accommodation”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in July 2016

I will keep this short and sweet as my title tells all that needs to be told.
We arrived in July 2016 after flying in from Norway to The Old Barn, I was instantly impressed and glad i had choosen this accommodation for our holiday in Wales.
The Barn itself is tucked away from the centre of town and within 5 minutes drive of everything you need in the centre.
Roz was my point of contact from the very beginning and she couldnt be more helpful when i was going through the booking process.
The barn itself is very spacious and there was plenty of room for the 4 adults and 2 children that took this advernture from Norway.
I will no doubt be staying again the the future and would strongly recommend The Old Barn to anyone else looking to stay in the beautiful part of Wales

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally-Ann...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 4 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We recently stayed at The Old Barn with our 8 month old daughter and my parents. It was our first trip with the baby and what a fantastic choice we made in choosing The Old Barn. I was so impressed with the quality of the interior and the how well appointed it was. There wasn't anything missing - there was even a travel cot and highchair supplied which was so helpful. The barn was perfect for our group - my daughter in one of the upstairs rooms, us in the other and my parents in the adjoining room downstairs. Because this room is a slight distance from the upstairs rooms it meant that they didn't hear a thing when she woke crying in the night! A great place for a group like ours or would also be good for a group of 6 friends.

Beyond how beautiful the barn is, inside and out, what particularly makes this a special place is the kindness of the owners. I had fantastic communications from Roz in the run up to the trip and she went above and beyond in agreeing to make a birthday cake for my husband who celebrated his birthday during our stay. I have to say, it was one of the best cakes we've ever had! As other reviewers have said, small touches like the wine, a welcome note, eggs etc make this such a great place to stay.

We felt instantly at home and we very much hope to return in the near future. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing