We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent day out” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kings Arms Hotel Restaurant

Kings Arms Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 99 Restaurants in Abergavenny
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rhondda, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

myself and my family had sunday lunch. The venue, food and staff were excellent. They were very child friendly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    49
    8
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We went for Sunday lunch having booked a table for four. On arrival we took our seats and ordered some drinks and meals we had to wait 40 minutes before our meals arrived and two out of four meals were very poor tough, tasteless meat and and vegetables spoiled. We will not go there again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
133 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Food fit for a king”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Fantastic meal, wonderful service, cozy atmosphere. Savory cauliflower bleu cheese soup, fresh steaming mussels with cockerels, rib eye steak cooked to perfection. I never expected such a wonderful meal in such a rural and modest setting.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank born2bwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic evening out.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We went here for an evening meal with a group of 8.
The food was absolutely amazing. Fresh, well made and great choice. The staff were very attentive and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble.
Such a great atmosphere. We have no complaints as a fantastic evening was had by all.
Facilities were very clean and tidy even on a busy Saturday night.
Will certainly be returning here again. Thanks for a great night out. Would recommend as a proper Abergavenny gem!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kcareyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Spot of lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Was visiting Abergavenny for the day. Ha looked on trip advisor for somewhere to eat and this place stood out, so I seeked it out and was not disappointed. A nice selection of real ales complemented my lunchtime set menu. I had the cod to start and west coast seafood broth as a main. Both meals delicious as was the bread that complemented it. Lovely views of the Beacons. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
2 Thank Winonski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kings Arms Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 

Been to Kings Arms Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing