We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful 50th birthday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Foxhunter Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abergavenny
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Foxhunter Inn
Ranked #19 of 31 Abergavenny B&B and Inns
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful 50th birthday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

My 3rd (and certainly not the last) visit to The Foxhunter in Nantyderry. I had 2 nights in the very comfortable & perfectly equipped Old Stable for the occasion of my 50th birthday.

The double bed has really fluffy & luxurious pillows on top of an extremely comfortable mattress. Sleep is VERY easy here! The kitchen area is well equipped & enables you to make breakfast in the morning (or something late at night?). The fridge and cupboards have everything you need for a hearty start to the day - including thick bacon rashers, tomatoes, eggs, bread, juice, cereals, teas, coffees, preserves, butter & milk. A comfy sofa means you can relax with the TV, or just read a book & unwind with a cuppa. The Foxhunter restaurant is just a few steps away at the other end of the row of cottages, so this is perfect accommodation if you would like to take advantage of the extensive wine list available there.

In the Foxhunter restaurant I have never had anything but exceptionally well crafted dishes created by the hugely talented Matt Tebbutt & his kitchen team. The atmosphere is relaxed and informal - a place to eat & enjoy the experience (and to savour the food instead of worrying about airs & graces). Matt & Lisa are the most genuine & sincere hosts - they care about their customers, and any problem that may occur will be quickly rectified.

Matt & Lisa own an amazing restaurant and gorgeous accommodation in a picturesque area - The Foxhunter is a "must do" if you enjoy eating wonderful good in a warm, friendly restaurant. The accommodation is the perfect way to be able to enjoy all The Foxhunter and the area has to offer. If you're still uncertain of whether you should visit, then I would suggest DO IT - you would be missing out on an experience to remember!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinC35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    9
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
14
26
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

We’ll definitely be revisiting this restaurant/hotel on a regular basis. Even though it is 85 miles away I’m sure it will be one of our local haunts for a great meal and super company. A delightful little restaurant and hotel/cottages in the middle of peace and quiet.

We had a wonderful weekends stay at The Foxhunter where we were looked after with the same warmth and charm to match our other favourite eateries. Lisa and husband celebrity Chef Matt Tebbutt made us feel most special all weekend taking time out to chat and drink with us discussing all sorts of cooking points.

Wonderful food and a great selection of wines at reasonable prices.

Richard

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhodopsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Usk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

A dining experience of the highest quality and one that certainly should not to be missed. If you have, then I can only suggest that you put that right as soon as you can.

The Foxhunter is in the most picturesque of settings of the welsh countryside. The beauty of the old stationhouse is both without and within, cosy with a depth of quality.

From the moment you arrive to the time you leave, the warmth of the welcome will carry with you. Matt and Lisa are the most attentive of hosts.

Lisa is both delightful and charming, with a smile that makes you feel instantly welcome and at “home”. A sommelier par excellence! The most perfect Maitre d’!

Matt Tebbutt creates the most incredible dishes, he is a true talent! His creations are to be savoured and enjoyed to the full. The balance of the menu’s, the tastes, the flavours, are beyond words. ….but how can you write a review without words! Simply go treat yourselves!

At a nearby table, we conversed with a couple from Leicester who had travelled to meet Matt and experience his culinary skills. They weren’t disappointed. As Matt sat and chatted with us, I couldn’t help feeling humbled as we had journeyed but a mere five miles. In reality a 500 mile journey or more would be well worth it.

As I write this review, I salivate at the memories of the lunch that beats all lunches. I can’t wait to return to enjoy many more lunches and dinners at this most special of restaurants. Already, plans have been made to return with friends to share the wonderful cuisine.

I reflect on dining at Gordon Ramsey’s in Claridges, with Marco at the Oak Room, Gary Rhodes in Twenty Four and ever relaxed James Martin. Matt sits easily with them all.

We can only thank both Lisa and Matt for a wonderful, wonderful experience.

The Foxhunter is not a “must visit” restaurant, it’s a “must visit soon”!

Steve & Suky

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

You simply cannot fault the food at the foxhunter simply stunning. It's also great to still see Matt cooking in the kitchens. The only problem we found was instead of having a waitress for your table or area it's a bit of a free for all and trying to get drinks or asking a question was a bit hard. We asked one waitress if they had a cheese board only to be told she was not sure I'll ask and not come back. Asked a different waitress for the bill only for her to forget and had to ask again which seamed to take an age(not good when your taxi is outside with the meter running). We all would definitely go back as the food was that good.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Griffs73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

My 2nd time of staying in the Old Stable at The Foxhunter. Ideal self-contained accommodation, enabling you to savour the food and wine at the restaurant without the problems of travelling afterwards. Beautiful countryside around the area is waiting to be explored - this time I walked from The Foxhunter down to Goytre Wharf & back (around 50mins each way) on a warm evening. An extremely comfortable bed meant I got a good nights sleep, and with skylights you can wake to the sun streaming into the room if you wish. The fridge & cupboard is well stocked with complimentary breakfast items to give you a good start to the day.

My next visit is due in August (unless I can find an excuse to go again before that).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinC35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Delicious family lunch. Travelled from The Mumbles/Swansea to eat at the retsaurant - had heard great things about it. Did not disappoint - food was delicious, excellent selection on the A La Carte mnue and alsio the prix fixe lunch time menu. Very good selection.

I would highly recommend this for a special meal. Pricey - but to be expected for this quality of meal.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tahirs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We had eaten at The Foxhunter before but this time also stayed in one of their charming and comfortable cottages. The cottage was lovely, fridge and cupboard stocked with drink, bacon, eggs, bread, homemade marmalade.
And thanks to Lisa and Matt for fabulous hospitality for the duration of our stay.
Food was excellent at all times (three nights) and the kitchen is equally confident with meat and fish AND some lovely little flourishes.
The duck salad with feta and pommegranate was equally wonderful as a starter or a main (and thank you for offering to scale up starters to mains for us.
Perfect rice pudding!
Wonderful presentation but never over the top.
Service was friendly, personal AND personable but never intrusive.
A most enjoyable wine list (especially re the short French Lady wine producer!) and we were made to feel comfortable, welcomed and valued at all times. Thank you all.
We look forward to our next visit and unhesitatingly recommend The Foxhunter.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TedHeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abergavenny hotels
0.0 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
0.0 mi away
Abergavenny Hotel
Abergavenny Hotel
#2 of 31 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Llansabbath Country Farmhouse B&B
0.0 mi away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#3 of 31 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foxhunter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxhunter Inn

Property: Foxhunter Inn
Address: | Nant-y-derry, Abergavenny NP7 9DN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Abergavenny
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restaurant/Gastropub. Real ales. Great food and great value. Free wifi. Free secure parking. Outside seating available. Also beer garden. Disabled access. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Foxhunter Hotel Abergavenny
Foxhunter Inn Abergavenny, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing