We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Guest House
Nearby Hotels
The Angel(Abergavenny)
US$153
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier inn Abergavenny Hotel(Llanfoist)(Great Value!)
US$82
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
US$116
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor Hotel(Crickhowell)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$112
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel(Pontypool)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$126
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (466)
Filter reviews
466 results
Traveller rating
366
76
9
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
366
76
9
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bhome from homesecure parkingpunch bowlguest loungetown centrefresh eggspatio areabrecon beaconslovely placeexcellent breakfastdown to earthbreakfast roomdouble roomcar parkfull englishwelsh breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
172 - 177 of 466 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I have just arrived home from a stay in the best guest house i have ever stayed in. It was a complete joy. The rooms were lovely and there was constant hot water, even when folks were all having showers etc. The breakfasts were excellent, with a huge variety of food all cooked to perfection. The animals were a constant source of entertainment, all looked after so well and all very happy. Jenny and Kevin are lovely people and you really feel you have made new friends when you leave. I would recommend this guest house to anyone, and i really cant wait to return for another holiday. Thankyou so much Jenny and Kevin.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

A lovely breakfast every morning ' amazing choices' home from home, Really fresh eggs for breakfast, and really good info from Jenny about ' Symonds yat, views amazing, the personal touch! Thank Jenny , c u again next year !! Also from Brian the naughty one lol! X

Stayed: July 2013
Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

My husband, our dog and I were made very welcome by the eccentric Jenny, Kevin and the staff at this unusual guest house. Car parking was available on the road outside. The room, Sugar Loaf, was airy, clean and comfortable with lovely touches such as fresh drinking water and biscuits every day. The breakfast was truly scrumptious, the fruit salad being the best I have ever eaten, with delicious home-made preserves and a plentiful supply of local foodstuffs. The eggs, poached of course, Jenny! were very tasty. Jenny is a mine of local information and we found her suggestions for dog friendly places to visit, walk and eat very successful. The menagerie out the back was interesting, the three ducklings were so cute and the pets were as friendly as the hosts! If you do not like animals, do not stay here, but if you do, it is the perfect place to stay in Abergavenny, a great town and a useful base for touring the South West area of Wales. We would also recommend The Angel Hotel for a meal in the town, the gothic ruins of the Priory at Llantony and The Sugar Loaf Vineyard with magnificent views of the hill just outside the town. We would thoroughly recommend The Guest House and look forward to staying there again.




Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I stayed at The Guest House for a week and just left today. The experience was wonderful that I had to write them a review as soon as I got back home! It is located in a quiet street just off the main road and is central to 2 parks and very close to town. Jenny, Kevin and the breakfast staff have been amazing and never failed to check up on me to see if everything was ok! They make your breakfast however you want it and always made time to chat with you, giving you ideas on what to do around, the best places to eat etc. The room itself was very comfortable, a nice view of the mountains and the mini "farm" in their back yard! The only issue was the internet where you'd have to go to the lounge to get connection but I was barely on the internet much so that wasn't too much of a problem. Overall, it was the cheapest accommodation in that area (as they usually have a 1 night free offer) and definitely worth the money. I couldn't resist leaving them a box of chocolates for their hospitality once I left!

Room Tip: Ask for room number 7. "The Blorenge". It was at the end of the corridor so it was extra quiet and had the mountain view!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shiv R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

What a fantastic guest house!! Jenny and kevin were brilliant from our arrival, poor kevin had the job of carrying the heavy bags up to the room!! Nothing was too much for them, always checking u were happy. Breakfast was amazing not greasy just yummy, fresh eggs from jenny's chickens and may i add the only way is poached!!. Fresh made preserves also. All the extras in the room make a difference, i have been to 5 star hotels where u have had less. Wonderful keep it up jenny, kevin and staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sab4690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews