We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Rate B & B”
Review of The Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abergavenny
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Guest House
Ranked #4 of 30 Abergavenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We wanted to stay in Abergavenny to attend a wedding and were so pleased we picked the Guest House for our 4 night stay. The hosts go out of their way to be friendly and helpful with lots of amusing tales to tell. The choice at breakfast was amazing - try the freshly made pancakes and home made jam! Our twin bedded room was spotless, comfortable and quiet. The town is an easy walk away but when we had to use the car, returning to park near the house was easy. I especially loved the pets, cats, poultry and of course the parrots, Alfie and Eric. Thank you, Jenny and Kevin, you made our stay memorable and we hope to visit again. We will certainly recommend you to others.
Ken & Christine

Room Tip: The large ground floor room is spacious and amazingly quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
There are newer reviews for The Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Loved it here and would definitely stay again. The owners are very attentive and chatty. The room was a good size and has all the amenities you could ask for. The bed was very comfy, didn't want to get out of it. To top it all off they have some very cute cats and a couple of chatty birds. Highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Hector G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I went to Abergavenny to learn to drive in a week. The week was very intensive, and "The Guest House' could not have been more of a perfect retreat to return to. Everyone is incredibly welcoming and want you to feel at home throughout. The room was maintained to a high standard continually, with a breakfast in the morning that cannot be beaten. Not only would I recommend staying there, I am going back in a few months to enjoy more of the area. A five minute walk from the town centre, and a great location to stay wherever you may be going during the day. Thanks again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I arrived in Abergavenny by train and the guest house is in easy walking distance from the train station. The owners Jenny and Kevin are great hosts, friendly, welcoming, comical and have a great local knowledge of the area. The Guest House is spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated, has good sized rooms with a very comfortable bed. Just what you need after a long days walking. The location is great, during my stay I walked to and up the 3 peaks of Abergavenny. In the evening its a short pleasant stroll to the town for a beer and something to eat.
Breakfast can only be described as massive! You order the day before what you want for breakfast from an extensive menu. Breakfast is basically as much of whatever you want! My personal favorite for starters at breakfast was Jenny's delicious home made fruit pie topped up with fresh strawberries and yoghurt.
Another great bonus of The Guest House is that guests have access to the large garden patio area.It is nice to just be able to sit outdoors whenever you want. There is a separate smoking area.Great stay and at 4 nights for the price of 3 also great value. I would not hesitate to recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Genuinely warm hosts, delicious breakfasts, a bunch of cute well-behaved pets, clean rooms that have anything you might need. Easily accessible by train and good start for walking trips to the beautiful park.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank W L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Me and my boyfriend have just came back from a wonderful stay here. Jenny and Kevin are amazing and do everything in their power to help you. The breakfast is very generous with eggs that come fresh from their chickens. We stayed in The Punch Bowl room which was lovely and had a view of the chickens and ducks in the back. We hope to come back this year or next year for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My friend and I stayed at The Guest House for one night, we were made to feel very welcome. It was a sunny room, very clean and quiet with good selection of coffee, tea etc. Jenny and Kevin were very friendly. I would recommend this to anyone.

MK from Sale

Room Tip: The view from The Skirrid Room overlooks the hens and ducks outside which is a treat to watch.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moira K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergavenny
0.4 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 3 in Abergavenny
909 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
4.3 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 3 in Abergavenny
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#3 of 30 in Abergavenny
328 reviews
0.5 mi away
Abergavenny Hotel
Abergavenny Hotel
#2 of 30 in Abergavenny
172 reviews
0.7 mi away
Deri-Down Guest House
Deri-Down Guest House
#7 of 30 in Abergavenny
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guest House

Address: 2 Oxford Street, Abergavenny NP7 5RP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Abergavenny
Price Range: £20 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Jenny's Guest House you are invited to indulge in one of our seven guest rooms, all of varying sizes to suit your needs. We are within 7 minutes walk of Abergavenny town centre, we offer secure off-road parking, a varied breakfast menu catering for all tastes, and we even have our own mini-zoo complete with chickens, pigs and rabbits! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Guest House Abergavenny, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing