We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend The Guest House.”
Review of The Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abergavenny
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Guest House
Ranked #4 of 30 Abergavenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend The Guest House.”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My husband and I won a 2 night stay in The Guest House, so my review is totally honest. Pre arriving, I spoke to Jenny on the phone, and straight away sge was very helpful.
We arrived, and met by a member of staff, who immediately called for Jenny who gave us a very warm welcome.
She showed us around her delightful house and took us to our room. It was beautiful. We stayed in the Blorange Room, which has amazing views over the Blorange Mountain and the lovely pets corner at the back of the house.
Jenny is a wealth of information on the local and surrounding areas, and very helpful.
She recommended a few eateries close by, and we visited 2 of them. The Hen and Chickens for lunch, and The Gurkhar Restaurant for Dinner.
Both were outstanding!
Actually when we were having luch, Jenny and her husband Kevin arrived and invited us to join them for a drink, which we gladly did, and met the new Mayor of Abergavenny whilst there!
I had read reviews, and the breakfasts had alot to live up to........we were not let down one iota!
Jenny and Kevin provide a breakfast which is more like a feast fit for a king, and everything is fresh and very tasty. The best breakfast I have had while staying in any accommodation.
We stayed for 2 nights, and both nights were very comfortable, the bed was perfect.
Everything possible was supplied in our room. The usual tea tray was better than average. Bath robes, shampoo, shower gel, cooling spray, a new razor all there to use.
We enjoyed a couple of hours in the back garden in the sun which was very nice with the animals. All the animals are very friendly without being too much, but I wouldn't have minded that at all. It was lovely to sit watching them all.
There is a very secure parking area out the back for motorbikes, which is ideal, and we had no problem parking our car out the front every day.
Jenny, Kevin and the staff at The Guest House treat every guest extremely well and make them feel at home. Every need is catered for.
They also have an excellent room downstairs which is perfect for disabled people, wheelchair users etc. Even the bathroom is wheelchair friendly.
I can't say enough about this place. It is most excellent, and very good value.
Please book if you are thinking of doing so, you won't be dissapointed.
Thank you Jenny, Kevin, the staff and the animals for a stupendous break! We will return.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 109Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    72
    9
    9
    5
See reviews for
89
147
59
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Hatley, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We were two couples who made arrangements to stay here in early May, as a point of departure for a ten day canal boat adventure on the Mon and Brec Canal. The arrangements prior to arriving(done on the 'phone) were easy and friendly, the welcome warm and our hosts generous with their excellent fare, their time and their suggestions about local things to see.
It was an easy walk to all that we wished to visit in our brief time there and our host's suggestion that we visit the church hall nearby where a tapestry had been completed by a team of talented local artists over a five year period was worth two visits!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rackwick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Roding, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We wanted to stay in Abergavenny to attend a wedding and were so pleased we picked the Guest House for our 4 night stay. The hosts go out of their way to be friendly and helpful with lots of amusing tales to tell. The choice at breakfast was amazing - try the freshly made pancakes and home made jam! Our twin bedded room was spotless, comfortable and quiet. The town is an easy walk away but when we had to use the car, returning to park near the house was easy. I especially loved the pets, cats, poultry and of course the parrots, Alfie and Eric. Thank you, Jenny and Kevin, you made our stay memorable and we hope to visit again. We will certainly recommend you to others.
Ken & Christine

Room Tip: The large ground floor room is spacious and amazingly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Loved it here and would definitely stay again. The owners are very attentive and chatty. The room was a good size and has all the amenities you could ask for. The bed was very comfy, didn't want to get out of it. To top it all off they have some very cute cats and a couple of chatty birds. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Hector G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I went to Abergavenny to learn to drive in a week. The week was very intensive, and "The Guest House' could not have been more of a perfect retreat to return to. Everyone is incredibly welcoming and want you to feel at home throughout. The room was maintained to a high standard continually, with a breakfast in the morning that cannot be beaten. Not only would I recommend staying there, I am going back in a few months to enjoy more of the area. A five minute walk from the town centre, and a great location to stay wherever you may be going during the day. Thanks again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I arrived in Abergavenny by train and the guest house is in easy walking distance from the train station. The owners Jenny and Kevin are great hosts, friendly, welcoming, comical and have a great local knowledge of the area. The Guest House is spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated, has good sized rooms with a very comfortable bed. Just what you need after a long days walking. The location is great, during my stay I walked to and up the 3 peaks of Abergavenny. In the evening its a short pleasant stroll to the town for a beer and something to eat.
Breakfast can only be described as massive! You order the day before what you want for breakfast from an extensive menu. Breakfast is basically as much of whatever you want! My personal favorite for starters at breakfast was Jenny's delicious home made fruit pie topped up with fresh strawberries and yoghurt.
Another great bonus of The Guest House is that guests have access to the large garden patio area.It is nice to just be able to sit outdoors whenever you want. There is a separate smoking area.Great stay and at 4 nights for the price of 3 also great value. I would not hesitate to recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Genuinely warm hosts, delicious breakfasts, a bunch of cute well-behaved pets, clean rooms that have anything you might need. Easily accessible by train and good start for walking trips to the beautiful park.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank W L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergavenny
0.4 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
877 reviews
4.3 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
507 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crickhowell
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#16 of 30 in Abergavenny
120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blorenge View Bed & Breakfast
Blorenge View Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 30 in Abergavenny
44 reviews
6.4 mi away
Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Llangattock
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guest House

Property: The Guest House
Address: 2 Oxford Street, Abergavenny NP7 5RP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Abergavenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Jenny's Guest House you are invited to indulge in one of our seven guest rooms, all of varying sizes to suit your needs. We are within 7 minutes walk of Abergavenny town centre, we offer secure off-road parking, a varied breakfast menu catering for all tastes, and we even have our own mini-zoo complete with chickens, pigs and rabbits! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Guest House Abergavenny, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing