We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unique experience!”
Review of The Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abergavenny
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Guest House
Ranked #4 of 30 Abergavenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“unique experience!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Meeting Jenny & Kev when we arrived was a lesson in how to look after guests,set them at ease and make them feel welcome.It has to be one of the most original B&Bs in Wales,with huge charm and originality...the rooms are bright and clean with all the usual en suite appointments. Breakfast is a feast and caters for all tastes. Near the centre of town,good parking and easy walking to a variety of restaurants. Terrific value.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    72
    8
    8
    5
See reviews for
88
145
59
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Was very much impressed with the Guest House. I stayed there for four nights and was treated like a long lost friend from the minute I stepped through the door. Breakfast each morning was excellent and the room was clean and tidied to a high standard every day.
If you're looking for a great value, well located, friendly Guest House in Abergavenny then look no further.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We recently had a 2-night stay at The Guest House whilst house-hunting in the area. From the offer of a jug of milk for afternoon tea on our arrival, our hosts Jenny and Kevin could not have been more helpful. Our room was clean, the beds were comfortable, and the breakfasts were wonderful: fresh fruit salad and forest fruits jelly, home-laid (and very fresh) eggs (plus a wide range of typical British breakfast components), home-made toast and marmalade. It was a 5-minute or so walk to the centre, so the guest house location was quiet. We appreciated Jenny's interest in our house-hunting, as we benefited greatly from her extensive local knowledge. Overall, a most satisfying stay, and we have just booked another visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballina, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Abergavenny is a pretty little town set in stunning scenery. Stay at this little gem of a guesthouse and you'll really have a trip to remember.

Within five minutes of stepping into the house I knew I was going to love it. The homely atmosphere, the wonderfully welcoming and helpful staff, the menagerie of animals and birds, the fantastic breakfasts! And supervising it all is Jenny, the queen of landladies, who treats her guests as though we are family members. A week was too short a stay. I shall be back.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden allow you to watch Kevin collecting your newly laid breakfast eggs from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here.
We staid for two nights. The host was lovely, the rooms were cute (small but comfortable), the rooms were cleaned every day.
The breakfast was great.
A charming place to stay and a short walk from the town's centre.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slsl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenby
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My friend and I really enjoyed our recent stay here. Jenny and Kevin are thoughtful and humorous proprietors and we loved all the animals, the parrots being our favourite. Never before have we had such fresh eggs - from the hens in the garden. Breakfasts are brilliant. Cereals, fresh fruit salad and Jenny's speciality- fruits of the forest jelly ring - for starters. Then full Welsh or English, which I enjoyed twice. Also on offer scrambled eggs and smoked salmon and, my personal favourite, a generous plate of kipper fillets with poached eggs. Bacon potato cakes (order 24 hours in advance) very tasty too. To follow, toast, with Jenny's homemade marmalade or strawberry jam. Our bedrooms were very comfortable and we got a very good weekday deal - Monday to Friday, 4 nights for the price of 3. If going to Abergavenny again I would definitely stay at The Guest House, where the breakfasts, to my mind, offer better quality, quantity and value than the much-lauded Walnut Tree Inn restaurant where we had an evening meal.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are good, with an interesting overview of the chickens etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eloiseTenby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was our second visit to The Guest House and although our expectations were high, we were not disappointed. We were greeted as old friends by staff and pets alike; breakfast was as usual a feast; and the comfort of our room and the service provided was top range. Well done!

We will definitely book again next time we come to Abergavenny - if only for the opportunity to reminisce about the Bailey Park pool :o).

Best wishes
Richard & Marie-Louise C-J

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_and_mrs_C-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergavenny
0.4 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
867 reviews
4.3 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
500 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Abergavenny Hotel
Abergavenny Hotel
#2 of 30 in Abergavenny
160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#3 of 30 in Abergavenny
310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Black Lion Guest House
Black Lion Guest House
#26 of 30 in Abergavenny
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guest House

Property: The Guest House
Address: 2 Oxford Street, Abergavenny NP7 5RP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Abergavenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Jenny's Guest House you are invited to indulge in one of our seven guest rooms, all of varying sizes to suit your needs. We are within 7 minutes walk of Abergavenny town centre, we offer secure off-road parking, a varied breakfast menu catering for all tastes, and we even have our own mini-zoo complete with chickens, pigs and rabbits! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Guest House Abergavenny, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing