We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute top notch”
Review of The Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abergavenny
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Guest House
Ranked #4 of 30 Abergavenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derby
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolute top notch”
Reviewed 25 March 2009

Made so welcome by Jenny & Kevin, Room excellent,breakfast wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vindaloo80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    74
    9
    9
    5
See reviews for
89
148
59
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alcala de los Gazules, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2009

Fortunately, we love chickens, ducks etc and to wake up to the sound of hens clucking and cocks crowing in the back yard was a real pleasure. An aviary full of songbirds augmented the dawn chorus. (If this isn't your idea of heaven, I would ask for a room at the front ...) Two parrots in the dining room entertained us throughout our visit, as did various friendly cats, including a three-legged one called Eileen ("I lean" - geddit??). The service was friendly, breakfast was delicious (how could it not be with all those free range eggs!) and the only gripe we had was a rather erratic electric shower which alternately scalded and froze us. But there was a nice bathroom down the corridor.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomorecamping4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2009

This was a very interesting guest house to stay at. There's a menagerie of animals here including, parrots, fish, rabbits, ducks and a variety of other birds. The proprietress, Jenny, is very welcoming and easy going. Parking was on-street directly opposite the b&b. The centre of town is less than a 10 minute walk away. There was a wide choice on the plentiful breakfast menu including salmon & scrambled eggs, omlettes, tradional english, etc, etc. There are a variety of rooms, some with en suite, some with shared facilities but there are plenty of bath/shower/wc facilities. The room was cozy and warm with a wardrobe, tv and tea/coffee making facilities. A warm and friendly welcome awaits. Sammy and Alfie the parrots reside in the breakfast area and are on hand to keep you entertained at any time.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2009

Jenny's Guest House surpassed our expectations and proved to be excellent value for money. As expected the room was comfortable and the breakfast tasty, but two things stood out for us young hill walkers. Firstly breakfast wasn't just tasty, it was buffet-style so you could have as much as you could fit in, setting you up well for the Brecon Beacons. Eggs were to order, and as Jenny said, you can't get fresher. Secondly the atmosphere was so welcoming you really felt like you were in a home away from home.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank digger95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2009

I stayed at the Guest House with my partner, having decided to have a short break to get away from work for a couple of days. We chose the Guest House mainly because of the tripadvisor reviews, and we were not disappointed.
We found the place clean, friendly and full of characters, and particularly enjoyed the ambience provided by the "free range menagerie" of pigs, chickens and birds which turned what was obviously a rather dour, functional car park/picnic area into a vibrant, welcoming oasis.
We can certainly recommend it to your readers.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sichuanwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2009

As soon as we were welcomed so warmly into The Guest House, we knew that we were in for a fantastic stay! Jenny and Kevin are such lovely hosts with a great sense of humour and we really felt like we were friends visiting for the weekend. The Guest House has a very cosy feel, with lots to look at and see, all the animals are so lovely and Sammy and Alfie (two parrots) will have a chat with you at any time of the day!
The breakfast was really yummy, perfect on a sunday morning after the night before and any vegetarians out there must ask Jenny for the potato cakes with scrambled eggs because they were to die for! The room was very pretty, perfect for couples and the bed was so comfortable that I didn't want to wake up!
I recommend The Guest House to anyone wanting a really enjoyable stay in Wales and we will definately be going again!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank astralaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2009

My family and my sister in law wanted a couple of days de stress so having found Jenny's guest house on line and phoned her up, as soon as I spoke to her I knew it was the right place. And we were not disappointed, the rooms are very decorative clean and a nice size. Jenny and Kev are so friendly and my 13 year old son loved ALL the animals not only do you get a B&B but free entry to a mini zoo, I thought having the room next to the yard with all the birds it would be noisy with an early wake up but not at all it was very quiet. But then why stay in bed when you in such a lovely area just a short drive and your in the big hills or as the Welsh say mountains, the town is lovely and the castle is interesting. I loved the breakfast it was FRESH especially the eggs and we had it at 8:30 very tasty, you can not fault the hosts they give advice on day trips and where to eat. My son really enjoyed the animals he often as teenagers do gets bored but not here.
I highly recommend to all.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonwien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergavenny
0.4 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
895 reviews
4.3 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
517 reviews
9.3 mi away
Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
The Beaufort Coaching Inn & Brasserie
6.3 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crickhowell
590 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blorenge View Bed & Breakfast
Blorenge View Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 30 in Abergavenny
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guest House

Property: The Guest House
Address: 2 Oxford Street, Abergavenny NP7 5RP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Abergavenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Jenny's Guest House you are invited to indulge in one of our seven guest rooms, all of varying sizes to suit your needs. We are within 7 minutes walk of Abergavenny town centre, we offer secure off-road parking, a varied breakfast menu catering for all tastes, and we even have our own mini-zoo complete with chickens, pigs and rabbits! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Guest House Abergavenny, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing