We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An interesting stay”
Review of The Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abergavenny
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Guest House
Ranked #4 of 30 Abergavenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warminster
1 review
“An interesting stay”
Reviewed 28 June 2009

From Dot and Dave Warminster
On being recommended friends/family to stay at The Guest House whilst on a visit to Abergavenny, we were not let down, from the moment we entered the door and was introduced to Jenny and Kevin we knew we was in good hands, the accomadation was bright and well presented, the "mini zoo"was a delight and to sit and watch, Jenny and Kevin was very helpfull in advising on what to see and places to eat out etc.
The breakfast was out of this world and caters for all, we are already planning a return trip.
[ --XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX-- ]

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DACWarminster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    72
    8
    9
    5
See reviews for
89
146
59
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
plymouth
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2009

Made to feel at home, use of guest lounge, clean bedrooms, with all you could ask for and more.
Breakfast to die for, eggs freshly laid every morning.
But don't ask for scrambled eggs, you must have poached. Ha! Ha!
Jenny and Kevin are the perfect hosts.
Have no problem recommeneding them and would definitely stay there again.
Colin, Penny, Pam and Karen

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alma2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2009

Jenny's guest house is the best bed and breakfast in Abergavenny. The rooms are tidy, and extremely comfortable. You are provided with a delicious breakfast every morning with a wide selection. We enjoyed watching the chickens, roosters, and pigs in the backyard, very entertaining!

Jenny and Kevin are wonderful hosts and they made us feel completely at home. We would most definitely return to stay at the Guest House if ever back in Abergavenny. Thank you very much!!!

Yvonne, Nicole and Christy

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nhalldorson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trafford
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2009

Returning to Abergavenny for our wedding anniversary we looked on TripAdvisor for ideas where to stay. The Guest House was the No.1 B&B based on customer feedback. The reviews were glowing and I have to say we were not disappointed.
The breakfast was fantastic with an amazing choice - check out the breakfast menu on their web-site but believe me it does not do it justice for choice and quality. We did not eat again until dinner !!
The double room we booked was spotlessly clean and comfortable with TV and a wide range of drinks, biscuits and even cup a soups available on tap.
The owners Jenny and Kevin were so friendly (as were the staff) and made us most welcome providing plenty of ideas as to where to go and what to see in the area and we were thoroughly entertained by the two resident parrots. We could hardly tear ourselves away from their hilarious banter.
We noticed that a number of guests were making return visits which is always a good sign and we can now see why.
Altogether we felt it was not so much a weekend stay but a wonderful experience and one I would recommend to anyone looking for accommodation in Abergavenny

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManchesterPosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2009

Sorry for the delay, Jenny, but life off of vacation is chaos!

We stayed only one night, back at the start of May. I had mis-booked the place we were going to afterwards and pre-paid it, so that only left the one night with Jenny and her crew in our itinerary. It was like going home to a relative's house - back yard full of chickens, bunnies, budgies, turtle, ducks,... lovely, just lovely. Spent a quiet evening, after a quick take-away supper bought from a baker downtown (a very short, pleasant walk) in Jenny's front room, watching Dr. Who on Sky TV and then playing with the various critters (lovely orange tabby cat, sweet older dog). Breakfast the next day could not be beat. We are not heavy eaters, but we did stuff ourselves that day. Jenny makes a mean French Toast (and has maple syrup stashed away for those of you who like it) and the rest is served buffet style. She pleasantly accommodated my daughter's special dietary needs. Wish I hadn't goofed up, I'd have liked to have stayed for several days - it seems there is some good walking in the hills nearby, with castles to visit. Perhaps the next time the dollar does well against the pound the the airlines are bargaining we can get back and spend longer. Summary - If you want something low-key and relaxing this place is just the ticket! (Speaking of tickets, we didn't realize you can take the train from London to Abergavenney, and so we rented a car. Take the train if you can, as the streets are extremely narrow.) And be sure to say "hi" to Alfie the parrot and don't be surprised at anything he says back! : ) Thanks for a lovely day, Jenny.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Momzillasd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2009

The Guest House is spotlessly clean, very comfortable and excellent value for money. Jenny went out of her way to make me feel welcome and provide a lovely breakfast. I'd definitely stay here again if I needed to stop overnight in Abergavenny.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve-the-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2009

Rooms are spotless and very comfortable. Breakfast is well prepared, delicious and offered in very generous servings. The grounds are well maintained. The animals are well kept and provide much interest. Jenny and Kevin are in my opinion the consummate hosts. They will do what ever they can to make your stay an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taffscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergavenny
0.4 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
877 reviews
4.3 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
505 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crickhowell
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#16 of 30 in Abergavenny
120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blorenge View Bed & Breakfast
Blorenge View Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 30 in Abergavenny
44 reviews
6.4 mi away
Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Llangattock
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guest House

Property: The Guest House
Address: 2 Oxford Street, Abergavenny NP7 5RP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Abergavenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Jenny's Guest House you are invited to indulge in one of our seven guest rooms, all of varying sizes to suit your needs. We are within 7 minutes walk of Abergavenny town centre, we offer secure off-road parking, a varied breakfast menu catering for all tastes, and we even have our own mini-zoo complete with chickens, pigs and rabbits! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Guest House Abergavenny, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing