We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like visiting family!!!”
Review of The Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abergavenny
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Guest House
Ranked #4 of 30 Abergavenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Like visiting family!!!”
Reviewed 20 July 2009

We stayed at the guest house on the 3rd and 4th July as we were attending a wedding in the area. This was our 4th visit to the guest house in 5 years, every time we stay there it is like returning to visit family. Kevin and Jenny welcome you and look after you so well you never want to leave. We love seeing the animals and talking to Alfie and Sammy (the parrots) who are so entertaining we could sit and chat to them for hours!
We stayed in one of the ensuite rooms, which is a beautiful room and had quite a romantic feel about it. The breakfast as per usual was fabulous I especially enjoyed the potato cakes with a suprise peice of sausage in the middle - so yum!!!
We are now planning our next visit for later in the year! I recommend this b&b to everyone, it is the nicest, friendliest and most wonderful b&b i know!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helend8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    72
    8
    8
    5
See reviews for
88
145
59
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Austell, Cornwall
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2009

Anyone checking this site will already see from previous reviews that the Guest House, for a number of reasons, is a very special place indeed. From the greeting on arrival until the farewell checkout, Jenny and Kevin together with their staff and friends will take very good care of you. We visited last week with friends, stayed for two nights in the en-suite rooms, both were spotlessly clean and comfortable.
The breakfast is far from a simple affair. On offer is a multiple choice menu which includes beautifully presented smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, French toast, homemade potato cakes, eggs prepared every which way (but best poached!) and all this on top of a full English buffet. With Kevins' homemade toasted bread - breakfast heaven.
Kevin and Jenny are warm and generous hosts and welcome you to their home so that you feel part of the family. The animal family which lives in the back garden may deter some guests from booking but our room overlooked this wonderful, happy menagerie and not once were we disturbed. Our stay was only enhanced by being able to cuddle the cutest of baby rabbits and view baby guinea fowl and budgies. Jenny and Kevin are passionate bird enthusiasts and all their interesting collection are on display for you to admire. The Guest House is in a convenient location being a short walk to the market town and all its local colour. The main purpose of our visit was to dine at Shaun Hill's Walnut Tree, which was outstanding and there are plenty of other excellent eateries in the area. We hired bikes from PedalAway at Hopyard Farm not too far away, they can be delivered to the B & B if required, and spent a good few hours cycling along the canal towpath. A thoroughly enjoyable way to see the countryside while taking much needed excercise. Our hard work was rewarded by taking 'tea at The Angel'. We ate a selection of crustless sandwiches, numerous dainty cakes and scones, jam and cream, plus a choice of high quality teas set on white linen tablecloths with fine china. The service and decor of the hotel was impeccable and all for under £12 each, a real treat.
The 3 stars awarded to the Guest House by the Welsh Tourist Board is well deserved.We had alot of fun while staying there and feel we will be seeing them again very soon.
Deryn,Vince,Trish and Roy

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ridgewaylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anglia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2009

I can really recommend The Guest House in Abergavenny.

Excellent bedrooms and as has been said in other reveiws, a breakfast that will stay long in the memory. Within short walking distance of the town. Very unique owner in Jenny Taylor-Jones.
For children there are the birds, chickens. rabbitts, pigs etc to lkook at.

Even if you intend to visit futher places in Wales, make this one your base but this comes with a WARNING!
Book early - yes, it is that popular

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhyAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2009

From Dot and Dave Warminster
On being recommended friends/family to stay at The Guest House whilst on a visit to Abergavenny, we were not let down, from the moment we entered the door and was introduced to Jenny and Kevin we knew we was in good hands, the accomadation was bright and well presented, the "mini zoo"was a delight and to sit and watch, Jenny and Kevin was very helpfull in advising on what to see and places to eat out etc.
The breakfast was out of this world and caters for all, we are already planning a return trip.
[ --XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX-- ]

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DACWarminster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2009

Made to feel at home, use of guest lounge, clean bedrooms, with all you could ask for and more.
Breakfast to die for, eggs freshly laid every morning.
But don't ask for scrambled eggs, you must have poached. Ha! Ha!
Jenny and Kevin are the perfect hosts.
Have no problem recommeneding them and would definitely stay there again.
Colin, Penny, Pam and Karen

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alma2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2009

Jenny's guest house is the best bed and breakfast in Abergavenny. The rooms are tidy, and extremely comfortable. You are provided with a delicious breakfast every morning with a wide selection. We enjoyed watching the chickens, roosters, and pigs in the backyard, very entertaining!

Jenny and Kevin are wonderful hosts and they made us feel completely at home. We would most definitely return to stay at the Guest House if ever back in Abergavenny. Thank you very much!!!

Yvonne, Nicole and Christy

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nhalldorson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trafford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2009

Returning to Abergavenny for our wedding anniversary we looked on TripAdvisor for ideas where to stay. The Guest House was the No.1 B&B based on customer feedback. The reviews were glowing and I have to say we were not disappointed.
The breakfast was fantastic with an amazing choice - check out the breakfast menu on their web-site but believe me it does not do it justice for choice and quality. We did not eat again until dinner !!
The double room we booked was spotlessly clean and comfortable with TV and a wide range of drinks, biscuits and even cup a soups available on tap.
The owners Jenny and Kevin were so friendly (as were the staff) and made us most welcome providing plenty of ideas as to where to go and what to see in the area and we were thoroughly entertained by the two resident parrots. We could hardly tear ourselves away from their hilarious banter.
We noticed that a number of guests were making return visits which is always a good sign and we can now see why.
Altogether we felt it was not so much a weekend stay but a wonderful experience and one I would recommend to anyone looking for accommodation in Abergavenny

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManchesterPosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergavenny
0.4 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
867 reviews
4.3 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
500 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Abergavenny Hotel
Abergavenny Hotel
#2 of 30 in Abergavenny
160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#3 of 30 in Abergavenny
311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Black Lion Guest House
Black Lion Guest House
#26 of 30 in Abergavenny
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guest House

Property: The Guest House
Address: 2 Oxford Street, Abergavenny NP7 5RP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Abergavenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Jenny's Guest House you are invited to indulge in one of our seven guest rooms, all of varying sizes to suit your needs. We are within 7 minutes walk of Abergavenny town centre, we offer secure off-road parking, a varied breakfast menu catering for all tastes, and we even have our own mini-zoo complete with chickens, pigs and rabbits! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Guest House Abergavenny, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing