We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“WHAT A GREAT FIND”
other travellers have booked this property
The White House in its beautiful landscape
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The White House in its beautiful landscape
Perched on the hillside looking down... ...at the view!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
The White House in its beautiful landscape
Perched on the hillside looking down...
...at the view!
watch the sunrise over the hills while cooking breakfast
oak table, retro G-plan chairs...eat,drink and be merry!
Relax in the warm and comfortable living room
Chilly out? Stay by the woodburner and drink in the view from the sofa
The South Bedroom - neutral tones frame the views
The Porth-y-Parc imp oversees the ensuite bathroom
The Garden Bedroom - light, bright and spacious
The West Bedroom - comfort and style
Autumn glory from the garden
On top of the world - and just an hour's walk away
Bluebells in the woodland at Porth-y-Parc
Cool off with a wild dip!
Summer sunset over Sugar Loaf
The hills around Sugar Loaf - perfect walking in all seasons
Ancient oak woodland above Porth-y-Parc
Sugar Loaf in winter....
...bring your sledge!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
mandy f
Heacham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“WHAT A GREAT FIND”
Reviewed 3 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

I have just got back from 3 nights at The white house, i had to find somewhere for my family to stay so we could attend a family party in Abergavenny. I couldn't have chosen better it had everything we needed for a great stay. My mum and dad are in there 80's so the downstairs twin room with a wet room next door was ideal, a second double room downstairs for my sister and her partner and i had a beautiful double room and my own bathroom upstairs.
We were left lots of lovely treats including a home- made cake, fresh eggs, milk and even a treat for the 2 dogs.
The house has a lovely retro feel and is warm and very comfortable with fantastic views from all the windows and there are great walks from the house as well.
Thank you Roz and Pip you are doing a great job and we would love to come back if we are in the area again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ray_Finkl...
Manchester UK
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My wife and I decided to take our 4.5yr old daughter down to Abergavenny to stay for 5 nights, my wife is local and I used to work nearby, so we both know the area extensively.
The White House was amazing, we stayed downstairs, with our daughter sleeping in the twin room, however there was another lovely double aspect room upstairs with an amazing bathroom.
It's ideally situated for people who like to burn off a few calories walking to and from town (steep hill on the return leg), and for those who want a brisk walk or run up to the Sugarloaf (we did it once as a family and I did a little jog up there one evening). We didn't use the car all week.

The accommodation has absolutely everything you need for the self catering family and the owners have thought of absolutely everything, a true escape from it all, they provided home made cake, fresh eggs, a bottle of wine, and a lovely wine, it was a truly fantastic stay, like moving your own house there as it was very similar, and had absolutely everything you would need.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison S
1 review
“Really comfortable house in stunning location for views and walks”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Lovely house with stunning views. Great private garden with views over Abergavenny and chickens and ducks which come over to say hello the other side of the fence. The kids loved feeding Ringo the lamb and the walk up sugar loaf from the house was fantastic. Everything we wanted from a holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane S
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning views from bright & cosy cottage”
Reviewed 2 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The setting is superb and the cottage itself has everything you need for a relaxing and enjoyable holiday. The White House is filled with light with fabulous picture windows in the lounge and main bedrooms. Within easy reach of Abergavenney and beautiful walks up Sugar Loaf Mountain and along the valley accessible from the front door, this cottage enables you to sample the very best of the region. The welcome treats of farm fresh eggs, flowers, wine and cake are a lovely touch. Hope to return in the not to distant future

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambience and location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vvvvvvv
Flaine
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Hope to be back soon”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Comfortable house with everything you could need. Beautiful view and surroundings. The children loved colleccting eggs and feeding the sheep.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPG_FFC
London
Level 5 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A lovely home in a truly beautiful setting”
Reviewed 14 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We’ve just returned from a surprisingly sunny weeklong stay at the White House and I’m absolutely gutted to have had to leave. A lovely, extremely comfortable, well-appointed house that feels like a home. Everything we needed was in place, and there were also some great recommendations and personal touches from the owners, Roz and Pip. The setting is absolutely stunning and I don’t think I could ever get bored of sitting in the garden, enjoying those views.

Abergavenny itself is a five minute drive away, the local Waitrose is excellent, and we had great days out visiting Crickhowell, Talybont-on-Usk, Brecon, the Brecon and Monmouth Canal, Caerphilly Castle,the Sugar Loaf vineyward, which is just around the mountain from Porth y Parc. Unfortunately we didn’t do much walking on this trip due to the make-up of our group, but I hope to return at some point as the walking must be fantastic.

Of Roz and Pips recommendations, we had a very nice lunch at the Crown in Panty Geli, a fantastic meal at the Felin Fach Griffin near Brecon, and an outstanding dinner at the Walnut Tree Inn.

I really can’t recommend the White House highly enough and Roz was a pleasure to deal with at every stage from the booking through to departure.

PS. We struggled to find Porth y Parc at first, but that was purely because I forgot to print-off the comprehensive directions provided by Roz, and couldn't get a mobile signal to check online. The wifi at the house was great, but we'd obviously already arrived by that point! So, make sure you print off Roz's directions before you set-off!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning views
Liked least: Struggling to think of anything...possibly the hens making a bit of noise in the morning, but the upside of that was free, fresh eggs, so can't really complain!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing