We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tempting Combinations”
Review of The Foxhunter

The Foxhunter
Ranked #30 of 102 Restaurants in Abergavenny
Price range: US$10 - US$86
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tempting Combinations”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

6 June's menu was (as always), absolutely full of tempting combinations. I had never tried Razor Clams, so to find them on the menu was brilliant. They were served with a lovely, spicy Chorizo. Next was Pork Loin With Bubble & Squeak And Salsa Verde - gorgeous! To follow was creamy Lemon Posset With plump Strawberries And crisp Cantucci - a great end to the meal. A bottle of chilled white to drink before & during the meal, along with a good, strong espresso and hand made truffles afterwards made an already superb meal into an amazing one. With friendly, professional & perfectly timed service, along with an exciting and expertly crafted menu, Matt & Lisa have a venue that any foodie should head for.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RobinC35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    42
    28
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Oh boy I'm full !!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We got greedy with the starters as they all appealed so much which was our mistake, very tasty & very healthy portions so excellent value too. The pasta & ragu delightfully rich & creamy texture was my favourite. I couldn't do the main course justice and certainly no pud. I like the fact it is straight forward honest food both seasonal and packed with flavour. It was surprisingly quiet as compared to it's competitor the Hardwick don't know why because it's just as good & perhaps because of it better and it gave Matt the opportunity to come and talk after service which made the evening very special. Thanks

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodfozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Food! A little Gem”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Had an amazing meal at this lovely place - great to see Matt Tebbutt there and his lovely wife and everything on top form!

If you are in the area and a foodie, well worth a visit!

Helpful?
1 Thank Brummiefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent and personal experience”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful meal at The Foxhunter for a birthday treat. The food was excellent but what made the experience was there ability to cater for specific dietary requirements. Matt Tebbutt came out of the kitchen to talk to us about how the menu could be adapted for gluten free for me and lactose free for my daughter. The meal that followed was very good but the most memorable bit was the suggestion from Matt of a special pudding (there was nothing on the menu lactose free) for my daughter which she loved. As we left he came an spoke to her to find out if it was alright, it was excellent and certainly made the evening for her. Thank you to everyone at the Foxhunter for a lovely evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fieldmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Foxhunter - brilliant!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I was treated to dinner here by a friend and have him to thank for introducing me to this brilliant place. The lady who served us was very friendly which made us feel comfortable, and the service was perfectly timed. My meal of Truffled Potato Soup, Chargrilled Sirloin, Rice Pud with Caramel Sauce & Rum Raisins was very good. I want to go back regularly! I recommend you try it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Foxhunter also viewed

Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 

Been to The Foxhunter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing