We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service was poor” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Raj

The Raj
Ranked #24 of 53 Restaurants in Conwy
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Conwy, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Service was poor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We are local to the area and went for my daughters birthday. The food was ok, nothing spectacular. We were really disappointed with the service. When the waiter came to take our order, he was not concentrating on us but kept looking around the restaurant. The restaurant was busy and lots of people were coming in and out for takeaways. The waiters were very rude to some people, especially a man on his own who came in and asked for a table. They were also hostile towards a group of 10 who came in with two prams as the restaurant is only small.
We asked a waiter to come over to order some drinks which he acknowledged but then continued to clear tables and did not come over for 10 minutes. Overall disappointing.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Yvonne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    95
    40
    32
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

A group of 8 visiting on a Sunday night.

Cant complain about the food, really good value, all came out hot and everyone was happy with their choices.

Only downside was the service... whilst taking the drink order they left us to welcome new guests, whilst taking the food order they left to take a phone call, and they took plates away whilst people were still eating during all courses.

They just about had the room for the table of 8, it just got a bit hot inside.

Would return again for the food/value element.

Helpful?
3 Thank Kallan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S. Wales
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely food, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I visited with 2 young children and a baby in a pushchair. The staff were friendly and the waiter chatted to the children. The food arrived in good time and was very tasty. We were offered more drinks by the waiter, we didn't have to catch his eye or wait. The price was reasonable. It was a nice night out, so I was surprised to read of other diners' bad experiences.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mamoftwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yonkers, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Horrible experience!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

WARNING! Solo travellers aren't welcome here. I was told by the waiter that it would be a waste of a table. When I challenged the waiter by pointing out that the restaurant was empty he started shouting in my face. I felt embarrassed and intimidated. I left and had some fish and chips down the street.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Amanda1981White
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Due to some food intolerances I phoned the place up in advance to ensure that they could cater for our needs and they said yes. I was staying in Betws y Coed, which was about a 40min drive away, on arriving there we were shown to a table which was very wobbly, which was corrected by putting some tissue paper under the table leg. Then the waiter came to take our order, we advised that we phoned up earlier with our dietary requirements, he then asked another waiter to take our order, on explaining our requirements he said oh no, we can't do that! There after they denied that they said yes and were very rude and were laughing. So we left there without having any food and very annoyed.

Please avoid this place the staff have no sense of customer service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank parin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Raj also viewed

 
Deganwy, North Wales
 

Been to The Raj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing