We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view from roof”
Review of Castle Tea Gardens

Castle Tea Gardens
Ranked #6 of 6 Coffee & Tea in Conwy
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great view from roof”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We popped in for a sandwich after visiting the castle. Entering the garden you order from a counter. We chose to climb up from the garden to sit on the roof and were asked to remove any leftovers when we left because of the gulls which are pretty determined but no real trouble. We weren't certain what to expect as the place is a bit ketchupy but our sandwiches were excellent and I had a glass of ice cold milk, really nice as I try to avoid sugary drinks. The view from the roof was excellent.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    19
    7
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abertillery, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“An Oasis of Coolness”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This cafe doesn't look particularly appealing or welcoming from the outside, but we were hot and hungry, so we went in. We were pleasantly surprised by the covered outdoor eating area, which shielded us from the sun and faintly resembled a Greek taverna. We expected to be waited on, but, instead, had to queue at a hatch to place our order and pay. There was nothing slick about the running of this establishment, rather it felt more retro, more homespun. If the service was a bit strange, my sandwich nullified all doubts: it contained the tastiest ham I'd had that week, and my coffee was excellent, too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gillian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“80's Transport style cafe!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Step back in time to a 1980's style transport café. The main problem was how dirty the overall place was. You have to queue up at a hatch to order your food, the lady that served me was very grumpy and pointed to where I had to collect cutlery, sauces etc. The Cutlery holder was filthy! Once the food came, both myself and my husband had ordered all day breakfasts and they were swimming in oil. My egg was undercooked, and the bacon was so cooked you could only just get your teeth through it. Both of our children had the kids sandwich, crisps and drink pack and the drink was the cheapest brightly coloured drink I have ever seen-very cheap. So, for 2 breakfasts and 2 children's sandwich packs , and a diet coke it came to £20.00!!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Babenbasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great club sandwich”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Great outdoor eating area at the rear good simple menu the club sandwich was great ordered it with a bowl of chips but really didn't need to the sandwich was so filling nice fresh ingredients certainly one to revisit next tome in Conwy

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank hoppywigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great cafe”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We had wondered round conwy and found this cafe as we was walking down the street.

Seating is inside, undercover and outside, we had a dog so we sat undercover outside which is huge and ideal for dog walkers, walkers and coach parties or large groups.

Food menu is vast and excellent value for money and superbly cooked. We would highly recommend this cafe and will definitely return.

Don't miss the opportunity if visiting conwy.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank honeymooners8308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castle Tea Gardens also viewed

Conwy, Conwy County
Conwy, Conwy County
 

Been to Castle Tea Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing