We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!!!”
Review of Castlebank Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Conwy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castlebank Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We stayed at the Castlebank hotel for two nights and enjoyed every minute of our stay there and in Conwy. We arrived early on our motor bike but Henrique allowed us to leave our gear in the lounge till checking in time. When we returned from a look around the town it was to find that he had kindly taken all our stuff to our room for us. And what a room it was ! We didn't have much of a view but the room itself more than made up for that. It was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean.The hotel is very homely and welcoming with two comfortable lounge areas with lots of books, games and even a telescope to look at the views. Our breakfast was delicious, freshly cooked to order and piping hot with endless top ups of fresh coffee. There is ample private parking, always a bonus, and an easy walk into the town centre where there are lots of bars and cafes. Henrique and his wife Jo have obviously put a lot of love and thought into the Castlebank and we wish them luck for the future with it . It's delightful and we really hope to return there some time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
There are newer reviews for Castlebank Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 460 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2012

Arrived at the hotel on Monday afternoon, greeted by the owner Henrique. After checking in our bags were taken to our room which was a treat. We stayed in room 3 which had a lovely big bed and a wonderful view of Conwy Castle. Perfect for touring that part of Norrth Wales. Breakfast was cooked to order, which was piping hot when it reached the table and was very tasty, which kept us going till the afternoon. Will definately be back again when we'll be touring North Wales, and will definatelly recommend the hotel to family and friends. All the best to Henrique and Jo.

Room Tip: Room 3 was fantastic, with the view of the Castle.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BethanJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Castlebank is a great place to stay if visiting Conwy and North Wales. Park the car and walk through the city walls and everything in town is within easy walking distance - wonderful!
All the rooms are differently themed and furnished with an eclectic collection of artwork and other little touches to give a homely feel. Our room had a lovely view of the walls and the castle - spectacular at night. The bathroom was tiny but adequate for the purpose and we had a good sized washstand in the room.
Breakfasts were great - a really good start to the day.
Jo and Henrique were great hosts and advised us on places to eat - loved the Italian! - and helped find us accommodation for our next night before we left.
Recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a castle view
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

The town of Conwy is the perfect jumping off point for all the sites in North Wales, and our stay at Castlebank was outstanding. The owners were really knowledgeable about the area and suggested sites to see, restaurants in town, and their breakfast was the very best we had our whole time in the UK! Our room was charming and cozy. It's clear that Jo and Henrique have great pride in their hotel - it shows with the extra touches in the rooms and their hospitality.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TracyM329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

The location of the Castlebank Hotel couldn't be better. It's just a couple of minutes walk outside the city wall and has a good car park. Our room (#5) had a great view of the castle and city. We had a comfortable king-size bed and lovely touches throughout the room----the art on the walls, small glass dishes on the nightstands for little items, a small leather sofa and TV. It had everything we needed and more. I was able to sleep well. The bathroom, however, was tiny but I guess can't be helped.

The rooms downstairs were lovely. One has comfortable sofas, lots of books and magazines, a computer, fireplace, etc. I felt as though I were in my own living room----there were so many homey touches.

I highly recommend it.

Henrique and Jo are great hosts. Henrique was very charming and accommodating. He got his personal computer and helped my husband look up the football schedule in London.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

This hotel is excellent, the room was lovely with a wondeful view. The breakfast was very good, but what makes the place is the lovely staff. Thank you very much

Room Tip: Our room was at the front and had a great view
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bear01773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

The hotel is lovely with a beautiful entrance and beautiful flowers. It is very well situated in Conwy (a recommended place to visit by the way). The owners were extremely friendly and received us everyday like it was the first day, always with a smile. The rooms are very cosy and clean and have everything you need.
Dinner at the hotel is highly recommended and breakfast is wonderfully served.
Me and my husband would definitely stay at Castlebank Hotel next time we visit Conwy.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChiekoPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,250 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,632 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Bryn Derwen Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlebank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlebank Hotel

Address: Mount Pleasant, Conwy LL32 8NY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Price Range: £28 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Castlebank Hotel Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing