We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made very welcome”
Review of Castlebank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castlebank Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We had a very comfortable two night stay at the Castlebank hotel. The owners, Mr and Mrs Fino, were welcoming and attentive. The double bedroom was clean and comfortable, with an en suite shower room, which included nice toiletries and a good supply of fluffy towels. Front rooms have an elevated view towards the castle and sea. The room was warm and quiet. Breakfast offered a good choice of buffet service fruit, fruit juice, yogurt and cereals and a cooked breakfast that you chose for yourself from a menu on the table once seated. The cooked breakfast was delicious.
There is easy parking in front of the hotel and it is only a five minute walk to the shops and facilities of Conwy. We ate at a local restaurant, Watson's Bistro, which I would also recommend as friendly and serving good food.
Mr Fino's photographs of the local area are on show in the hotel and are really worth looking at.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2012

We stayed one night at The Castlebank Hotel. The hotel is full of period furniture and articles with a small bar area and a dining room. We were welcomed and shown to our room by the owner. Our room was charming but rather cluttered with just a bit too much furniture and a very small TV. Also the shower cubicle was very small and the electric shower was not very powerful. That said we did enjoy staying here. The breakfast was nice and the whole ambience of the hotel is very pleasant. It is very close to the castle and it was a convenient for walking into Conwy for the sights and the restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Spent two evenings at the Castlebank and enjoyed our stay. Very pleasant village and ever so close to Conwy Castle. It is in a very quiet area and we enjoyed the walk to the village everyday. Lots of parking made it very relaxing for us. We had a room that overlooked the village and beyond. Would have liked to stay longer but time did not allow.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a front view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUNSETS_AND_SEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Spent a very relaxing weekend at the Castelebank Hotel. From the beginning the welcome was warm and genuine. Both Mr & Mrs Fino (owners) are in the business to provide a service and that's certainly what they do - and to a very good standard. All aspects of the service is attentive without being obtrusive.

The hotel itself is a victorian building with the bedrooms having been refurbished. Our bedroom was freshly decorated in a modern way which complemented the age of the building.

Breakfast was tasty and freshly cooked with guests ordering their cooked breakfast on arrival in the dining room. To precede the cooked breakfast there was a good choice of cereal fruit and juice. The hotel offers evening meals in the retaurant. Can't comment as we didn't partake.

The hotel is situated just outside the historic town walls of Conway, five minutes walk from the centre of the town and the harbour. The hotel has its own car park.

We took advantage of a KGB offer at �78 for two for the weekend including a bottle of wine on arrival.. Extraordinary value.

Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwyndaf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We used our KGB deal to visit this hotel so had good value for our money. We arrived to a friendly welcome and tour of the small hotel. There was a lovely sitting room with fire and books, radio/cd and comfy sofas. I made use of this one afternoon as weather turned cold and it was good to be able to sit somewhere other than your room looking at books and listening to the radio. There was a bar area and area to read the papers near dining room. Our room was decorated "French style" and big enough to be comfortable and had everything you need. No view a such but as we were not in our room much didn't bother us. The shower was an electric one but hot water and plenty of room to move around. There were full size swing doors between bedroom and shower/toilet area. There was plenty to eat at breakfast and you choose the cooked items and write down what you want from a list so there isn't much wastage.
The hotel is conveniently near the old castle walls and the little town and harbour etc. are within easy walking distance. There were varied shops and restaurants for all tastes and prices.
The hotel is decorated in a personal manner and it is almost like staying in someone's home. Hendrick is very helpful. You are given a key to let yourself in and out after 10pm when the front doors are locked.
Enjoyed our stay very much and found it relaxing and lots of places to visit close by if you want.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellight55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We just returned from a treat given by our lovely daughter. Castlebank is imposing outside and warm and cosy inside. Whilst our room did need some updating, this was made up for by the added extras such as bottled water, sweets and tissues a very nice touch. The charming host served a delicious breakfast with nice veggie sausages. The town is so pretty and an evening at the British Legion provide singing and much jollity with people noisily voting on each singer, and they made us strangers so welcome.

Room Tip: Good views from the attic rooms but dont book top floor if you have trouble with very steep stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Just outside the old walls of the town, great hotel in an old house run by a young family. We had a lovely room with a view of the walls and the castle and could walk into town in two minutes. Lots of restaurants and things to do. Great breakfast and my husband has celiac and they not only had gluten-free toast, they had gluten-free sausage. Excellent on-site parking and lots of charm. I would definitely stay here if I came here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huntejk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,269 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,660 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#20 of 60 in Llandudno
1,271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Bryn Derwen Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlebank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlebank Hotel

Address: Mount Pleasant, Conwy LL32 8NY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Price Range: £75 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Castlebank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlebank Hotel Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing