We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!”
Review of Castlebank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castlebank Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We went to the Castebank Hotel on a KGB voucher and, despite the low income this generates for the owner, were treated to an excellent weekend. From the moment we and our friends arrived, till the time we reluctantly had to depart, we could not have asked for more. Henrique, the owner, makes everyone feel special, whilst his wife produces first class fare in the resteraunt..
Look at the website for details of the individually styled rooms, ours was generously stocked with those little extras. There are some stunning photos around the hotel many taken by Henrique himself...a very talented photographer who is keen to share his knowledge of the subject.
We are already planning our next trip to this excellent hotel.

Room Tip: Look on the website...they are all described there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (479)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 479 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2013

Found the stay very pleasant, the owners where very helpful and treated us like the family. Enjoyed talking to the owner about Conwy. The rooms are well layout and has a modern look and feel. The breakfast was the best we have had in North Wales and was all local produce and I am not over hyping it up! If I was to stay in Conwy again it would be my first choice.

Room Tip: The rooms over looking the town, with a great view of the castle and the sea front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarahandsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We had an overnight stay on Boxing Day as part of a mini-break with our daughter, who was visiting from Barcelona. We couldn't have chosen better. The rooms and lounges were warm, comfortable, tasteful and unpretentious, and the owners were incredibly friendly and helpful. The food was superb, including a dinner with a very imaginative menu - which made it difficult to choose between several tempting options! Our daughter has some particular dietary requirements, but these were met with no fuss at all. Conwy itself is pretty and worth a visit, and we'll be going again....but probably when the days are a bit longer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed at the Castlebank for a couple of nights on the 7 December with a group of friends...Jo and Henrique were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was really good, just what you need for a nice long walk!!! We will definitely be returning for a long weekend :) we would all highly recommend this hotel........

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Picture7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed here recently.

There was confusion at the start about our booking buy it was sorted quickly.

The hotel is Just outside the town wall, but still handy. Clean and quirky. Breakfast was superb and plentiful. Host was great and attentive and helpful and a real customer service pro. Great experience.

Got in late and had a nightcap outside at 12am, owner came outside ans said hi and gave us a smile, saw it was all good and went back inside, wedging the door open for us for when we were done. Extra mile was nice.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

My husband and I have just had a fabulous Christmas at Castlebank Hotel,Conwy ,North Wales.We had the warmest,friendliest time,where nothing was too much trouble.Henrique (the owner) is incredibly attentive,and notices your every need,Jo,Henriques wife ,is a superb chef,and every meal was a delight.They are a lovely friendly couple who take pride in their business.The rooms are individual,cosy and warm,with all the facilities one could wish for.Altogether,SUPER !!!

Room Tip: They are all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

We were stuck on a train due to floods in november, and this hotel was recommended to us by a friend of my daughters who lived close by, it was a lovely place and the hosts were so friendly and helpful, we felt safe and were very happy with our unexpected night's stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank welshlady560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
409 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,794 reviews
2.8 mi away
Karden House Hotel
Karden House Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,086 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#5 of 60 in Llandudno
873 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#15 of 60 in Llandudno
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlebank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlebank Hotel

Address: Mount Pleasant, Conwy LL32 8NY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Price Range: £82 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Castlebank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlebank Hotel Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing