We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”
Review of Castlebank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castlebank Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2013

I stayed here with my wife and a friend for three nights, and out of a three week trip through Europe this is the hotel that is most memorable. The room was excellent, the location is perfect for exploring Conwy and the surrounding area, and the owner made us feel very welcome and was a real pleasure to hang out with and talk to. If anyone is planning a trip to Conwy this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psjohnson74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (479)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 479 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2013

My second stay at Castlebank, and as last time just perfect. This time I asked for a bigger and ensuite room and was in number one, great room.

Very comfortable, free wi-fi, and a wonderful breakfast. Wouldn't consider staying anywhere else especially when you can then walk to The Old White House to eat (see separate review)

Excellent hotel I was there on business but would take my wife to stay there without hesitation

Room Tip: They will all be quiet but first time I had no choice and had the single at the front with no en-sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike_Edwards1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

My partner and I stayed at Castlebank Hotel in February for the weekend and really enjoyed our stay. The owners were really friendly and they couldn't do enough for us. They made us feel very welcome and informed us of the best places to visit on our stay (great recommendations!) ensuring that we had a lovely break. The hotel is conveniently located for walking around the town and a short walk from both The Albion Ale House and Watson's Bistro which were great places to visit. Our room was huge and quirky with everything provided that we needed, the breakfast was great (using local produce) and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giddy_Goose_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We had such a lovely weekend there a couple of years ago time that when we booked a weekend away in the area there was no question as to where we'd stay.

The owners of the Castlebank are friendly and welcoming and go the extra mile to ensure your stay is enjoyable. The bedroom (2 - The French Room) was comfortable and peaceful with an ensuite bathroom with shower cubicle.

The breakfast is delicious and filling and really sets you up for a day of exploring the local area, a fully cooked welsh breakfast is offered and you can select which items you'd like daily when you arrive for breakfast - every serving is cooked to order so you can tailor it to your tastes. Fresh toast, a choice of a choice of cereals, fruit juices and tea and coffee are also on offer.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and will definitely book again in future!

Room Tip: Take a look at their website where pictures of their rooms are displayed, I'm sure - subject to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeaRoseBakery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We went to the Castebank Hotel on a KGB voucher and, despite the low income this generates for the owner, were treated to an excellent weekend. From the moment we and our friends arrived, till the time we reluctantly had to depart, we could not have asked for more. Henrique, the owner, makes everyone feel special, whilst his wife produces first class fare in the resteraunt..
Look at the website for details of the individually styled rooms, ours was generously stocked with those little extras. There are some stunning photos around the hotel many taken by Henrique himself...a very talented photographer who is keen to share his knowledge of the subject.
We are already planning our next trip to this excellent hotel.

Room Tip: Look on the website...they are all described there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Found the stay very pleasant, the owners where very helpful and treated us like the family. Enjoyed talking to the owner about Conwy. The rooms are well layout and has a modern look and feel. The breakfast was the best we have had in North Wales and was all local produce and I am not over hyping it up! If I was to stay in Conwy again it would be my first choice.

Room Tip: The rooms over looking the town, with a great view of the castle and the sea front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarahandsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We had an overnight stay on Boxing Day as part of a mini-break with our daughter, who was visiting from Barcelona. We couldn't have chosen better. The rooms and lounges were warm, comfortable, tasteful and unpretentious, and the owners were incredibly friendly and helpful. The food was superb, including a dinner with a very imaginative menu - which made it difficult to choose between several tempting options! Our daughter has some particular dietary requirements, but these were met with no fuss at all. Conwy itself is pretty and worth a visit, and we'll be going again....but probably when the days are a bit longer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
403 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,791 reviews
2.8 mi away
Karden House Hotel
Karden House Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#5 of 60 in Llandudno
870 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#15 of 60 in Llandudno
730 reviews
13.2 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlebank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlebank Hotel

Address: Mount Pleasant, Conwy LL32 8NY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Price Range: £82 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Castlebank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlebank Hotel Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing