We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Breakfast”
Review of Castlebank Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Conwy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castlebank Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb Breakfast”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Just spent a couple of nights here on couples’s weekend away, I agree with all the good reviews all was excellent, clean, and friendly. The breakfast was cooked to perfection with locally sourced products, would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Front Elevation has views over the estuary and castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JC1966JC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    55
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
71
257
20
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

We were in Conway on a last minute break, and looking for accommodation, decided to try the Castlebank on the back of the good reviews on trip advisor. At very short notice, they had a room at a reasonable price, so we decided to go for it.

The welcome was very friendly, and we were shown up to our room on the top floor. The room was clean and well decorated, and had a small but but perfectly adequate en-suite. It did face the back of the hotel, with no view but given it was the last one available that night, and we had not booked, that was not an issue.

The one key downside of being on the top floor was that the room was very warm ( though it was summer & in the middle of a very warm spell, so can't really complain about that). It did however mean that we slept with the window open, and thus were kept awake by the seagulls. Don't these birds sleep!! Eventually we had to close the window and once done, we had a good, if slightly warm night!!

In summary, I really liked the hotel, and non of the shortcomings of our stay were down to the hotel or the owners, just one of those things when you stay by the sea. What's more, being kept awake by seagulls was a small price to pay for the glorious weather!

In fact we plan to return later in the year, but this time will be sure to book in order to get a room with a view.

All in all, a great hotel, we're you will be assured a warm welcome.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Duncan_Wr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

This is a large, old house that's been nicely restored. Very clean and comfortable. Multiple lounge areas on ground floor that are comfy to sit in and read whilst listening to classical music. Owners are the best there can be. Friendly and helpful. The only negative thing to say is the parking lot is steep for my 81 yr old mum.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Just returned after a super, five night stay at the Castlebank Hotel. Henrique and Jo welcomed us warmly and were always on hand to answer questions about the beautiful town of Conway. The room was lovely, with great views overlooking the castle. The breakfasts were delicious, with good choices too. Saturday night dinner was excellent, as was the service overall. Couldn't fault it. Thanks so much for your care and attention to detail.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramsfanDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We arrived earlier than usual check in time, on a very rainy day. Greeted warmly by the host and allowed to check-in early. Family of 4 in a spacious room, w/ great view of the castle, castle wall/village. Room space accommodated all of us and are luggage well. Clean and cozy, full of character.

Others reviewers speak of the interior of hotel and I agree. AND the grounds/garden were very pleasant also.

Breakfast options broad and included vegetarian sausage, which is unusual I think in the U.K.

Owners were gracious, humorous, and not overbearing.

We enjoyed this part of Wales, and if we were to return to Conwy area we would book with this establishment again.

When we booked the room, Henrique was very helpful to let us know about the train stop to Conwy, as Conwy is a "request stop". (Thank you for that.)

Room Tip: We enjoyed the room w/ a view of the castle on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Have just returned from a weekend with friends at the Castlebank. Henrique and his wife Jo are perfect as hosts and just the way I like them, friendly without being false and happy to attend to everything you need without being overbearing. Henrique is perfect 'front of house' while Jo has the behind the scenes job of catering and keeping the place spotless. Hotel is full of character and in keeping with its setting, the town is literally minutes away.
The rooms are individually themed, a nice size but not huge. Very clean and very comfortable.
A relaxing sitting room and a separate bar/lounge area.
Breakfast was gorgeous and had many options both hot and cold, my wife is a vegetarian which was no problem at all as the hosts are too !

Room Tip: How can you not want the front castle view ones ?! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elab247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We had an excellent stay at this centrally located hotel with very comfortable accomodations. great view from our room of the castle. Breakfast was very good. The rooms were clean and comfortable and nicely furnished. Good suggestions for dinner. We spent two nights and didn't have to use the car at all which was great. We could walk everywhere. Really enjoyed the harbor area of Conwy and watching the families fishing for crabs.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkandstf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,203 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,595 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
687 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bryn Derwen Guest House
0.2 mi away
George & Dragon
George & Dragon
#9 of 22 in Conwy
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlebank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlebank Hotel

Property: Castlebank Hotel
Address: Mount Pleasant, Conwy LL32 8NY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Castlebank Hotel Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing