We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with Castle Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Castlebank Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Conwy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castlebank Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location with Castle Views”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights and even though our bedroom wasn't facing the castle walls (many are) it really was a stones throw away from the castle walls itself.
Lovely big free car park and it took 2 mins to walk into the town centre. Breakfast was lovely and you chose what you wanted so you didn't leave anything you didn't want. The host was very obliging and our coffee cups were always full. Really pleasant stay and the location is superb.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    55
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
69
249
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

The Castlebank is a fantastic family owned hotel. Henrique the owner was so helpful and pleasant. It was a pleasure to of spent time at this hotel. Its in a great location very close to the centre of Conway and the Castle. The room I had was over looking the front so had a great view of Conway.

Room Tip: I was booked into R3 which was nice and cosy. It had a fantastic view. It was a quiet room even thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bacup, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Had the pleasure of staying at the Castlebank with my sister for one night only in July whilst passing through Conwy. I don't think we could have chosen anywhere nicer. Henrique the owner was very friendly and has turned this Victorian building into a lovely cosy friendly Hotel. There are lovely quiet lounges to sit in and read if you want a bit of peace and quiet after a busy day sightseeing. There is a lovely little bar if you want a drink and a restaurant for evening meals. The cooked breakfast is absolutely fantastic and just to make us feel at home he actually had genuine Bury black puddings on the breakfast menu. This used to be a regular weekly for us to visit Bury market and take some back home to Salford where we used to live, Now living In New Zealand this was an absolute treat. The hotel has its own large car park, only a couple of minutes walk to the castle, shops, bars etc. I will definitely be putting this lovely place on my list again to stay on my next trip back to the UK. Thank you Henrique and family for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 which had lovely views to the sea and castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We’ve stayed at Castlebank Hotel 3 times now and will definitely go back again. It offers good value well-equipped accommodation, tasty food, and a genuinely welcoming host.

The hotel is just outside Conwy town walls, just a few minutes walk from the main shopping streets, the harbour, and Conwy Castle. It also has its own car park. Llandudno is an easy 5 mile drive away.

The rooms are very clean, cosy and comfortable, with extra touches such as DVD players. The en-suite bathrooms have showers, and there is also a bath available in a separate (shared) bathroom for anyone who prefers a more relaxing soak. There is free wi-fi throughout the hotel. Rooms at the front of the hotel (particularly the higher ones) have great views towards the Castle and river.

Henrique is a friendly and welcoming host, with lots of useful local knowledge if you need help with any plans.

There are several comfy lounge and bar areas where you can relax. The cooked to order breakfast is very tasty, and the hotel also offers evening meals on certain nights but unfortunately we have not yet been able to try these.

Castlebank is definitely our hotel of choice when we’re staying in the area and we hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FluffyPuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlewich
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

loved our stay here! our room had everything you could possibly want and very friendly staff. ideal location too! I'd definitely stay again. Car park too which is a bonus. it was an easy walk into the town center and breakfast was fantastic, they even did a vegetarian breakfast. Restaurant was closed when we stayed but there were not many people staying so that is probably why.We preferr
ed to eat out anyway.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

My family enjoyed our one night stay here on a short trip through North Wales. We found the two rooms we stayed in very comfortable and Henrique was very welcoming. Although Conwy was quiet on a weekday evening, we enjoyed a peaceful walk on the walls at sunset. Breakfast in the morning was very good. I only wish we lived a bit closer as I would love to return and spend a relaxing long weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

What a lovely place to come across. The hosts were very friendly & accommodating, great cooks, clean and bright rooms. The small bar is perfect after a days touring with outside seating available along with plenty of space inside. We stayed three nights a should have done more.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,080 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,462 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Llandudno (Glan-Conwy) Hotel
Premier Inn Llandudno (Glan-Conw...
#1 of 1 in Llandudno Junction
703 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bryn Derwen Guest House
0.1 mi away
Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlebank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlebank Hotel

Property: Castlebank Hotel
Address: Mount Pleasant, Conwy LL32 8NY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Castlebank Hotel Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing