We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cracking hotel with great views”
Review of Castlebank Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Conwy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castlebank Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cracking hotel with great views”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We came across this hotel as the castle hotel was fully booked up and i can say im so glad they were.....

This was a cracking find, Located just on the edge of the castle walls and a 2 minute walk from the centre of Conwy.

Positives
- Ample parking for all guests, which is free onsite parking.
- Owner , henrique couldnt do enough for you, always around to answer any questions and help you with anything.....Cracking host.
- from the moment you walk into the hotel you get a warm and friendly feel.
- the lounge, bar and hotel are decorated to very very high standard and you almost feel like you are at a hotel in a big city not a seaside town.
- The rooms are very very cosy with cracking views of the castle and coast, the beds are really comfy and you get a cracking nights sleep. The shower is a power shower and the best i have ever had , i didnt want to get out of it. Room also had a Flat screen tv and tea and coffee making facilities and was clean throughout.
- The breakfast was amazing, dining area was like a fine dining restaurant, had fruit, yoghurt, cerial and then a full english with quality produce which you can tell was fresh locally. Tea and coffee were topped up when your cup was getting empty....the view from the breakfast window was over the castle.
- seating area outside the hotel was ample for you to enjoy the sunshine and views.
-£85 was a great price and would of paid more for this room

Negatives -
For the first time in all my reviews - there isnt any

if you want to stay in Conwy stay here, my review does not do this place enough justice....if you were to put this hotel anywhere in other places in the uk you would be paying treble the price

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front of the hotel for better views over Conwy bay and the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaime W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    55
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
69
254
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This was the surprise stay on our trip through the U.K.
First of all, it almost has the feel of a B&B, even though it's a hotel.
The breakfast was the best we had in the U.K. The man who runs the place was very nice and pleasant. The rooms were fully furnished and had everything one needed. The location and view was also great.

I would highly recommend staying here if you're in Conwy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 806PaulT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, Lancs
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Spent two nights here and must say that this is an excellent hotel for the money. Quirky rooms and the breakfast I can honestly say is the best I have ever had in a hotel. The quality of the food is top class. Henrique and Mrs Henrique are really genuine nice people

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chocolate53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Had excellent customer service from Henrique even before we arrived at the hotel, when he could only accommodate us in a back room and advised us to look around, in case we were disappointed with it, we declined the offer and took room 6 which we found very quirky and had no problems with. The customer service continued from the moment we entered the establishment to the time we left. The breakfast was excellent wonderfully tasty bacon and sausage and the opportunity to have a small or larger portion. As said before wonderful to be able to leave the car at the hotel with no problems and to be so close to the town. Well done to Jo and Henrique.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guesttwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights and even though our bedroom wasn't facing the castle walls (many are) it really was a stones throw away from the castle walls itself.
Lovely big free car park and it took 2 mins to walk into the town centre. Breakfast was lovely and you chose what you wanted so you didn't leave anything you didn't want. The host was very obliging and our coffee cups were always full. Really pleasant stay and the location is superb.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

The Castlebank is a fantastic family owned hotel. Henrique the owner was so helpful and pleasant. It was a pleasure to of spent time at this hotel. Its in a great location very close to the centre of Conway and the Castle. The room I had was over looking the front so had a great view of Conway.

Room Tip: I was booked into R3 which was nice and cosy. It had a fantastic view. It was a quiet room even thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bacup, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Had the pleasure of staying at the Castlebank with my sister for one night only in July whilst passing through Conwy. I don't think we could have chosen anywhere nicer. Henrique the owner was very friendly and has turned this Victorian building into a lovely cosy friendly Hotel. There are lovely quiet lounges to sit in and read if you want a bit of peace and quiet after a busy day sightseeing. There is a lovely little bar if you want a drink and a restaurant for evening meals. The cooked breakfast is absolutely fantastic and just to make us feel at home he actually had genuine Bury black puddings on the breakfast menu. This used to be a regular weekly for us to visit Bury market and take some back home to Salford where we used to live, Now living In New Zealand this was an absolute treat. The hotel has its own large car park, only a couple of minutes walk to the castle, shops, bars etc. I will definitely be putting this lovely place on my list again to stay on my next trip back to the UK. Thank you Henrique and family for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 which had lovely views to the sea and castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,139 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,531 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bryn Derwen Guest House
0.2 mi away
George & Dragon
George & Dragon
#9 of 22 in Conwy
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlebank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlebank Hotel

Property: Castlebank Hotel
Address: Mount Pleasant, Conwy LL32 8NY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Castlebank Hotel Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing