We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The friendliest hotel around.”
Review of Castlebank Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Conwy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castlebank Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The friendliest hotel around.”
Reviewed 16 October 2008

We've stayed here more times than we can remember so we thought it was about time we wrote a review!

We can't fault the place. The owners are very friendly and welcoming and nothing is too much trouble to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable. It's nice that they take a genuine interest in their guests and remember who you are.

All the rooms are spotless and tastefully decorated. We stayed at the front of the house and the views were stunning.

The food is excellent. Have as little or as much as you want for breakfast to set you up for the day. (You must try Henrique's medlar jam!) We had an evening meal there too which was absolutely delicious. Puts other "top" hotels and restaurants to shame.

The only criticism was that it was far too warm in our room! But that was partly due to the weather being unexpectedly warm.

Go and experience it for yourself. Excellent value for money. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Liked — Couldn't fault it.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Angie_n_Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    55
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
69
256
20
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2008

I stayed at the Castle Bank with a colleague for six months intermittently. The food is fantastic, service second to none and the rooms contemporary. The owners (Jo and Henrique) have clearly poured their heart and soul into this business and it speaks volumes from the minute you cross the threshold. A perfect stay for any occassion.

  • Liked — friendly, exellent service and good location. Conwy is beautiful
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 2up2downLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Castlebank in September 2008 for a week-end away and found everything about the hotel to be superb! Jo and Henrique provided a personal and friendly service, the food was excellent and the rooms of the highest standard. There was nothing to fault. This really is an outstanding venue and a place we would recommend to anyone; a hotel which offers value for money, professional customer care, high standards of accommodation and a most enjoyable experience.

  • Disliked — High standards all round
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank calmandrestful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glos
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2008

A really nice, comfortable small hotel. The owners were never far away to be on hand if you needed anything and very accommodating with my early starts in providing breakfasts! The WiFi was a welcome addition, and the room was generous and luxurious. The hotel is a stones throw from the town centre and Quay, where there are plenty of nice shops!! I would highly recommend this hotel and look forward to staying there again. Many thanks!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dustings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recklinghausen, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2008

A warm welcome and excellent, professional service throughout our stay. Our room was tastefully decorated, included literature on the history and development of the house, as well as tourist information, and had wonderful views to the sea and castle. All the facilities - bathroom, heating and lighting - functioned perfectly, which was not the case with some more expensive hotels we have stayed in this month.
Excellent value for money at 80 pounds per night for a double room, including full English breakfast, (some home-made jam, good coffee and lots of it!), car-parking and use of internet/computer.

  • Liked — All the facilites worked
  • Disliked — no comment
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NG72RD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-u-Lyme
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2008

This is a wonderful hotel with extremely welcoming (and hard working!) hosts. My husband and I celebrated our first wedding anniversary here and will certainly go back in the future. Nothing was too much trouble for Jo and Henrique(?) and they always had a smile on their face and made time for a quick chat. The food was lovely (the best goats cheese and red onion tart i have had!) - i just wish i had had enough space to try the desserts!

  • Liked — Friendly hosts, comfortable accomodation, great food
  • Disliked — access difficult for disabled
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petalpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2008

Its impossible to find fault with this idylic hotel. The room was cosy, comfortable and spotlessly clean with all the amenities you would expect and a few extra, such as a dvd collection available and intenet access. Castlebank is perfectly situated next to the town walls to offer amazing views across the estuary and (as the name suggests) Conwy castle, which is just a hop skip and a jump away.

The lounge and bar are the perfect place to unwind and there is a pretty terrace to enjoy a glass of white port on and gaze over the town. We could wax lyrical for some time about the charm of this little gem of a hotel but the real reason you should choose it for your visit to Conwy above any other, is the outstanding hospitality provided by Henrique and Jo the owners.

From the moment we arrived the welcoming and friendly atmosphere created by our hosts made us feel totally relaxed and truely on holiday. Jo's breakfasts where lovely, beautifully cooked using local produce and if you get the chance you must eat in their restaurant, it was the best meal we had in Conwy. Henrique's professional but relaxed approach made us feel instantly at home and it was a joy to be in his company.

They clearly both work very hard to ensure your stay as their guests is the best it could be and they have certainly suceeded as we can think of no better place we have stayed.
We would highly recommend castlebank to couples both young or old and families alike, It will not dissapoint .

We will definately be returning ourselves, Fay and Nic

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nicfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,162 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,562 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bryn Derwen Guest House
0.2 mi away
George & Dragon
George & Dragon
#9 of 22 in Conwy
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlebank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlebank Hotel

Property: Castlebank Hotel
Address: Mount Pleasant, Conwy LL32 8NY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Castlebank Hotel Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing