We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Castlebank Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Conwy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castlebank Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, Wales
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 30 November 2008

A long overdue review of this hotel I'm afraid but, four months on, the over-riding memories are:

- settling in the quiet cosy bar on a late summer evening after a long drive.

- my room - fairly small but very comfortable with every attention to detail in the decor and lighting.

- a lovely breakfast.

- the welcome I received from the hosts.

- the setting - could not have been simpler to get to, and yards from the town wall.

If/when I return to Conwy this will be my first choice.

Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank JimCardiffresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    55
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
69
256
20
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2008

From the moment we first arrived for our two day break, we could not have been treated better. Henrique, the owner, welcomed us personally and could not have done more to ensure our stay was perfect. Our room was very comfortable and tastefully decorated and the view from the window was excellent. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and we will certainly be returning again.

  • Liked — The welcome
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WardenCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2008

We have stayed at Castlebank several times now and it never disappoints. Even when the weather lets us down, Jo, Henrique and Ruby do not! It's like home from home and Conwy has something for everyone, castle, marina, good food, drink and loads of walking with beautiful scenery. There are not many places we go back to time and again, but we have been back for birthday celebrations, between Christmas and New Year, and have taken various friends there for mini breaks. We are planning to go early 2009 already and I am sure that won't be our only visit next year.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat-and-Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2008

Excellent welcome, very clean hotel and room. Only ate breakfast but that was excellent. Nothing too much trouble for the host. First class B&B in an excellent location. Very highly recommended.

  • Liked — The proice!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P_SWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham UK
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2008

Yet another perfect find on Tripadvisor. Having used Tripadvisor on many other stays worldwide, i thought it might provide some direction for a short weekend away not too far from home. Having settled on Snowdonia as place to vist I searched for the best of tripadvisor recommendations close by. Conwy seemed to fit the bill and the Castlebank hotel stood out.

The hotel was fabulous, a real home from home. The owners couldn't have been more welcoming and having been unsure whether to head out for dinner on the Friday evening I'm glad that we booked to eat in the restaurant. A lovely litle table in the corner suited us perfectly and the food and wine were excellent. The Portugese influence was clear to see and provided a nice twist. After eating far too much it was great to be able to retire to the lounge for coffee and a game of cards in front of the fire. Too much wine prevented me from working out the telescope, but a nice idea for the the more sober!

The proximity of Conwy to Snowdonia was just right and we managed a good circular path via Llanberis and a slightly ambitious "stroll" up Snowdon. Having never done any hiking before it was a fabulous afternoon even if we didn't quite manage the summit. In late afternoon Conwy made for a pleasant stroll and the castle hotel in the town centre proved to be a suitable watering hole before we returned to the Castlebank for another excellent dinner.

I can't recommend it enough, and although we tend not to return to the same place again (just because there's so much to see) I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel and the area.

Enjoy! (and don't climb snowdon in jeans!)

  • Liked — The longe area to rest those weary feet!
  • Disliked — If I absolutley had to pick it would be the poor TV reception, other than that nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianski1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2008

We've stayed here more times than we can remember so we thought it was about time we wrote a review!

We can't fault the place. The owners are very friendly and welcoming and nothing is too much trouble to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable. It's nice that they take a genuine interest in their guests and remember who you are.

All the rooms are spotless and tastefully decorated. We stayed at the front of the house and the views were stunning.

The food is excellent. Have as little or as much as you want for breakfast to set you up for the day. (You must try Henrique's medlar jam!) We had an evening meal there too which was absolutely delicious. Puts other "top" hotels and restaurants to shame.

The only criticism was that it was far too warm in our room! But that was partly due to the weather being unexpectedly warm.

Go and experience it for yourself. Excellent value for money. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Liked — Couldn't fault it.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Angie_n_Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2008

I stayed at the Castle Bank with a colleague for six months intermittently. The food is fantastic, service second to none and the rooms contemporary. The owners (Jo and Henrique) have clearly poured their heart and soul into this business and it speaks volumes from the minute you cross the threshold. A perfect stay for any occassion.

  • Liked — friendly, exellent service and good location. Conwy is beautiful
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 2up2downLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,164 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,565 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bryn Derwen Guest House
0.2 mi away
George & Dragon
George & Dragon
#9 of 22 in Conwy
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlebank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlebank Hotel

Property: Castlebank Hotel
Address: Mount Pleasant, Conwy LL32 8NY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Castlebank Hotel Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing