We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable for families”
Review of Castlebank Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Conwy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castlebank Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Certificate of Excellence
sandy, utah
Level Contributor
256 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Comfortable for families”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This place is more B&B than hotel. Fantastic location right by city walls, and very responsive hosts (who were kind enough to mail us a journal left behind). Loved the common room access where our kids could play Monopoly or read. Bedrooms are showing their age and there are lots of stairs. Decor is "grandma clutter." The rooms have a sink by the bed and then the toilet/shower is behind its own door. Really loved looking out the bedroom window to see the castle walls and the water in the bay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wellsfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    55
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
69
254
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monticello, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We had a lovely stay at the Castlebank Hotel. It was just outside the walls of this lovely walled city. Very historic. The accommodations were clean, comfortable, great full Welsh breakfast in the morning. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: I think the rooms are all good. Plentiful parking as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Not sure how this is classified as a hotel as it was really on a guest house. It is quite tired accommodation which does not really warrant £85 per night - would expect to pay £60. Perfectly adequate but was expecting something more and better standard of furnishings.
Location v good, close to castle and town centre.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AFL79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We decided to make North Wales a stop on our UK vacation. Rick Steve's guidebook recommended Conwy as our base of operations. Good suggestion. We loved Conwy with the castle and medieval walls. Booking this "hotel" was easy via email. No deposit/advance payment was required (unlike our other stops on this vacation). The price was reasonable. After we arrived in the UK I received an email that the owners would not be present during our stay...no worries, the substitute team made us feel welcome. Our two rooms were fine; nothing elaborate or fancy or particularly historical but comfortable. We asked for, and received, an "early" fully cooked breakfast one morning at 8AM so we could met our tour guide for North Wales on time. This B&B is convenient to everything in the small town of Conwy...for example we easily walked from the train station to the B&B with our luggage. The only hiccup was check-out...we could not get our US-swipe-credit cards to work so we had to round up enough cash to pay the bill. Not a huge issue.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mike919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Spent two nights here in early August 2014. Very welcoming owner, full of information to help us enjoy Conwy. Great breakfast and clean comfortable room. Free wi-fi. Although just outside the town walls it's ideally placed to explore the town and beyond.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HMHZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We Have stayed here before, about 6 years ago, went back last week and would definitely come back and recommend it to any friends or family staying in the area. The FIRST and most important thing any hotel or B & B must provide is a good bed, EVERYTHING else follows; the beds here are excellent! Lovely, friendly, informative and engaging staff/owners are imperative in a small Hotel and Henrique and his wife Jo tick all the boxes and although we have only stayed twice we were made to feel as friends as much as clients. I note some question the decor but we love the individuality of the place it ain't a Hilton and it ain't a Premier Inn and is sooo much better for it. We'll be back and hopefully sooner than 6 years!

Room Tip: we stayed in room 5 this time which is large and front facing- liked very much
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Began our tour around Northern Wales with two nights in Conwy, at the Castlebank Hotel. Conwy is a picture perfect village and we would recommend it to anyone. The hotel is just fine, but not as good as we were expecting based on TA reviews. The room was big enough, with a king size bed, but since we had the large bed our room had no view. The room only had one window and when we first arrived, since there was no cross breeze, it was quite stuffy. The bathroom was sort of strange; You had to step up to get the toilet. The tv was tiny. Breakfast was ample and the proprietor, Henrique, was helpful, friendly, and fun to talk to. All-in-all, a fine hotel, but four stars at most.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mgertz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,138 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,528 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bryn Derwen Guest House
0.2 mi away
George & Dragon
George & Dragon
#8 of 22 in Conwy
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlebank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlebank Hotel

Property: Castlebank Hotel
Address: Mount Pleasant, Conwy LL32 8NY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Castlebank Hotel Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing