We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic stay”
Review of Castlebank Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Conwy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castlebank Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2009

me and my partner stayed for two nights . it was the best hotel that we have stayed in. with its warm and friendly atmosphere.the breakfast was the best and nothing was to much trouble for them.the rooms were well thought out and they catered for everything we could have wanted. it was like home from home and we didnt want to leave. in our opinion if you are in conwy this is the place to stay. we will be going back very soon. just like to say thank you to the both of them for the pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maltesersManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
There are newer reviews for Castlebank Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 460 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2009

Exceptionally managed by husband / wife team Henrique and Jo. They are genuinely friendly and helpful people with good knowledge of what makes a hotel stay memorable. We had room #3 which had a good view of the castle and its walls. The hotel had a homely feel to it and we spent quite a bit of time relaxing in the lounge reading the papers. The hotel is located just outside the city walls, but this is no problem at all because the town is so small that everything is in walking distance.

We hired a car from Avis for a day which worked well - getting around by bus to surrounding areas (Anglesea, Bangor, Snowdon) is difficult otherwise. The couple that run avis are located in Llandudno Junction (10 min away by car) and you can arrange for them to pick you up from the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CandR8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2009

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Castlebank Hotel in Conwy. The location is probably the best thing about the hotel and it really is more of a B&B. It is right across the street from Conwy Castle and has it's own parking. I think the price is a little high for the area and it could probably benefit from a good cleaning. The proprietor was very pleasant and extremely helpful, so I am somewhat ambivalent regarding the review. They did offer dinner by reservation, but it was not available the nights we stayed. I believe someone was under the weather. There was a lounge area with tourist information, magazines, newspapers and a computer for internet access. All in all not a bad place.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2009

We stayed for two nights in the Medlar Room. This hotel has an interesting history having been on a reality TV show. The room was comfortable, but needs updating. The bathroom was small, but very clean and well appointed. Breakfast is very, very good. Do try the sausage from the local butcher. The hotel serves dinner on weekends, I would definitely make dinner reservations here. The proprietors are especially accommodating.

Would I recommend this hotel to a friend? - Yes, with some caveats. This property has potential. The guestrooms need to be updated. It is in a beautiful building, has a great location just outside the walls, and has an exceptional staff.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Asterope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2009

We stumbled upon this hotel/B&B by shear accident, and after six weeks of travelling through England & Ireland would rate this one of the best. A home away from home, perfect hosts and good food. Have thoroughly recommended it to fellow Oz travellers heading to Wales in June. Would stay nowhere else in Conway.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garethe55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2009

We agree with all the other glowing comments. Only stayed for one night B&B-really sorry that we had not booked for dinner.
If you want a biggish faceless hotel-don't go-but if you like somewhere small,welcomig and comfortable with real personal service, then this is spot-on.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mouldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2009

I've stayed in many hotels and B&Bs in britain over the years, and this beats most hands down on service and friendliness, not to mention the food. Henrique is the very hands on owner and nothing is too much trouble for him. The breakfasts are freshly cooked to order and piping hot, a rarety these days! We also ate dinner in the restaurant on the second night and the choice and quality of the food was excellent. You have to book ahead for the evening because the restaurant is open on an 'as needs' basis but I do recommend it, and the price is very reasonable too. There were 6 of us in our party, and we stayed in the bar on both nights of our trip chatting and drinking and Henrique never complained about running back to serve us our next drink. We had a great weekend, Conwy is a lovely town and the views are fantastic from the hotel if you get a room at the front. The shower rooms are a little compact, just a small shower and toilet with a basin either inside or outside in the bedroom. Although not the most elegant of rooms, this is an old house and everything you need is available: Iron and ironing board, tea tray, hair dryer, TV with Freeview and the usual toiletries. All together a really nice place to stay if you're in Conwy!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jazziebabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,244 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,631 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Bryn Derwen Guest House
0.2 mi away
The Erskine Arms
The Erskine Arms
#7 of 22 in Conwy
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlebank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlebank Hotel

Address: Mount Pleasant, Conwy LL32 8NY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Price Range: £28 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Castlebank Hotel Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing