We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of Castlebank Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Conwy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castlebank Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Certificate of Excellence
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 11 August 2009

I stayed here for 2 nights with my wife and 2 young children. The hotel is situated in a nice quiet part of Conwy, just outside the castle walls. A warm friendly reception was provided on arrival and we were shown around the hotel just as a friend would show you around their own house. Living room, bar etc were all very welcoming.

Our room was on the top floor of the building with magnificent views of the surroundings from every window. It was spotless and decorated in a nice homely fashion, different to the chain hotels we would be most familiar with. Some thought went into our children's requirements like no other hotel we have stayed in previously. The room had ensuite shower but we were provided with a room adjacent to a bathroom which allowed us to bath our children. A travel fridge was also provided in the room which was great for keeping our 1yr old's milk etc cool.

We had breakfast in the hotel each morning and it was very good. Loads of variety from cereals, yoghurts, cooked food and constant coffee top ups provided. Service was excellent.

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel. It is a very comfortable base for anyone touring North Wales or visiting this area on business.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    55
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
69
256
20
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2009

We stayed at the Castlebank for three nights as part of a touring holiday. It was a perfect base set in a very nice coastal village/small town. The views from the hotel were great and access to the rest of Wales was spot on. The hotel itself was excellent. It is a small hotel , kept very clean and comfortable with good service and very nice breakfast. - we could not have picked a better place to stay. The rooms were decorated in what I thought was a very comfortable fashion just as if it were your own home. The bathrooms were compact but very functional. Good showers with plent y of hot water and better than usual toiletries. We enjoyed the sitting room and even more so the Bar where we were made very welcome. Our hosts were great and made the three days most enjoyable. I plan to go back and do it all over again. Well done the Castlebank.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citytravellerGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2009

My friend and I went for the weekend, it was a present off my parents. We had a fantastic stay, our hosts were really friendly. The room was comfy and the shower was great. We had a lovely breakfast too. Would definately recommed it,

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2009

me and my partner stayed for two nights . it was the best hotel that we have stayed in. with its warm and friendly atmosphere.the breakfast was the best and nothing was to much trouble for them.the rooms were well thought out and they catered for everything we could have wanted. it was like home from home and we didnt want to leave. in our opinion if you are in conwy this is the place to stay. we will be going back very soon. just like to say thank you to the both of them for the pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maltesersManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2009

Exceptionally managed by husband / wife team Henrique and Jo. They are genuinely friendly and helpful people with good knowledge of what makes a hotel stay memorable. We had room #3 which had a good view of the castle and its walls. The hotel had a homely feel to it and we spent quite a bit of time relaxing in the lounge reading the papers. The hotel is located just outside the city walls, but this is no problem at all because the town is so small that everything is in walking distance.

We hired a car from Avis for a day which worked well - getting around by bus to surrounding areas (Anglesea, Bangor, Snowdon) is difficult otherwise. The couple that run avis are located in Llandudno Junction (10 min away by car) and you can arrange for them to pick you up from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandR8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2009

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Castlebank Hotel in Conwy. The location is probably the best thing about the hotel and it really is more of a B&B. It is right across the street from Conwy Castle and has it's own parking. I think the price is a little high for the area and it could probably benefit from a good cleaning. The proprietor was very pleasant and extremely helpful, so I am somewhat ambivalent regarding the review. They did offer dinner by reservation, but it was not available the nights we stayed. I believe someone was under the weather. There was a lounge area with tourist information, magazines, newspapers and a computer for internet access. All in all not a bad place.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2009

We stayed for two nights in the Medlar Room. This hotel has an interesting history having been on a reality TV show. The room was comfortable, but needs updating. The bathroom was small, but very clean and well appointed. Breakfast is very, very good. Do try the sausage from the local butcher. The hotel serves dinner on weekends, I would definitely make dinner reservations here. The proprietors are especially accommodating.

Would I recommend this hotel to a friend? - Yes, with some caveats. This property has potential. The guestrooms need to be updated. It is in a beautiful building, has a great location just outside the walls, and has an exceptional staff.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asterope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,159 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,562 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
673 reviews
3.0 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,362 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bryn Derwen Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlebank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlebank Hotel

Property: Castlebank Hotel
Address: Mount Pleasant, Conwy LL32 8NY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Castlebank Hotel Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing