We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Castlebank Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Conwy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castlebank Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 14 February 2010

We spent 2 nights at Castlebank Hotel and cannot rate the hotel highly enough. It is warm, comfortable, friendly, stylish, quirky and interesting. It is within a few yards of the town but very quiet, right next to the town walls with a stunning view. The owners are the very best kind of hotelier...they obviously love the job and take great efforts to make their guests feel at home. Nothing was too much trouble - they opened the restaurant just for us on Friday night and cooked and served a lovely meal. Our room was perfect...three windows with different views, decorated with style and flair but still cozy and comfortable, light and airy. This hotel has had much love and attention lavished on it and this shows in every room. Much thought has been given to the needs of the guests, and we didnt once think "if only they had..."! We would love to return and would recommend the hotel to anyone visiting north Wales. We wish the owners continuing success with their business and thank them for a really heartwarming stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank resopinions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    55
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
69
254
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2010

We had a lovely time during our two day stay at the Castlebank Hotel. The owners were very welcoming and made every effort. Breakfast was fab. Evening meal lovely. You see the walled town and the castle from the windows with the bay behind. Our room overlooked the view and was very comfortable, clean and stylish. We did not really want to leave and could have stayed for a week. I hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy1Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
150 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2010

Nice, comfy, clean and the owners are extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJH02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2010

This was a great location, walking distance to Conwy Castle, the castle walls, and the town and waterfront. A beautiful view from our bedroom window of the castle. A nice place to stay with a good breakfast.

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pacificnwkristi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2009

We were one of only three couples who made it through the snow for the Christmas Break at this hotel. Jo and Henrique made it feel almost like a private party. The friendliest of service,top quality meals with lots of choice. Log fire in the bar. We stayed in room 5.very comfy with a great sleigh bed. Almost expected Santa to take us away xmas eve!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haggisbasher60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2009

I stayed here in a very wet and miserable November but the welcome I received could not have been warmer. This is a small, family run hotel which feels almost like you are staying at a friend's house, rather than a hotel. The owners were very friendly and pleasant and nothing was too much trouble. Stayed in room 5 which was very comfortable and clean. The bathroom is a little small but, again, very clean. Shower was fine - plenty of hot water. Downstairs there is a restaurant/breakfast room, bar and a very comfortable sitting room which had a lovely warm fire and plenty of information leaflets and books etc to read. You can also borrow DVDs to watch in your room. The breakfast was excellent and cooked to order. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed on the day I was there, otherwise I would definitely have eaten there. Close to the town but nice and quiet. I will definitely stay there again if I am in the area - highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshire_Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
156 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2009

Stayed for two nights at the Castlebank Hotel in Conwy, the welcome was warm and the owners where on hand throughout our stay to organise anything we needed help with.

The bedroom was decorated to a high standard and felt homely and comfortable, the views were stunning and we are thoroughly impressed with the attention to detail that had gone into the hotel.

The breakfast was cooked to order and the food delicious and again the service was outstanding.

The location is very central and easy to reach on foot from the town centre.

Overall this hotel provides excellent value for money and we couldn't recommend it more, we will definately stay again if we're in the area and I'll be recommending it to friends and family staying in this area of north wales.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeaRoseBakery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,139 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,531 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bryn Derwen Guest House
0.2 mi away
George & Dragon
George & Dragon
#9 of 22 in Conwy
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlebank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlebank Hotel

Property: Castlebank Hotel
Address: Mount Pleasant, Conwy LL32 8NY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Castlebank Hotel Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing