We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Conwy? I'd have to say it would be difficult to beat!”
Review of Castlebank Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Conwy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castlebank Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Certificate of Excellence
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Conwy? I'd have to say it would be difficult to beat!”
Reviewed 26 July 2010

We were in Conwy for my brother's wedding and stayed for 2 nights with my wife and 2 daughters aged 4 & 13. On arrival at the Castlebank, the owner, Henrique gave us a detailed and comprehensive overview of the accomodation. We were in room 8 which although on top floor never felt like hard work to get to. The room was spotlessley clean and very comfortable.
We needed a taxi to travel to meet other relatives, no problem, Henrique booked it for us,
need advice about the local area (or anything it would seem) ask Henrique!
Lovely little bar and terrace to have a drink in the evening, fabulous breakfast cooked by Henrique's wife, wish we had time to taste the food in the evening as it smelled fabulous.
Henrique and his wife are fantastic hosts, they definitely go the extra mile to make your stay as good as it can be - go try and see what I mean. We are already planning to return!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    55
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
69
251
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, South Wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2010

Just returned from our second stay at The Castlebank. Last year we stayed for a week, as our son was singing with the National Youth Choir of Wales. with the first concert in St Mary's Church, Conwy. This year the concerts were in the South, but we'd enjoyed our stay so much we returned for four nights before returning south. Once agaon we had a lovely stay. Jo and Henrique provide a highly individual service, with wonderful food and rooms so much better than the usual hotel. Our return visit was like coming home and leaving is quite a wrench.

Conwy itself is lovely and the hotel location is ideal to make the most of the town. With good advice from Henrique on places to visit, and where to eat (on nights when hotel restaurant is not serving), you can be sure of a great break.

No doubt for us about returning again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Densian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Castlebank is well situated within easy walking distance of all the major features of Conwy and provides good views. It has ample private parking and is set in it's own small, but very pleasant, grounds.

There are basically two types of hotel: the more modern Travelodge style hotel, which has been custom made to provide basic comforts in an ergonomic and economical fashion. And the older-style hotel, with plenty of character and idiosyncrasies run by a small, dedicated team. Castlebank definitely falls into the latter camp, and so long as you are aware that is more of a B&B than a hotel, then you should enjoy your stay.

The rooms are all furnished individually and each one is unique and has a theme. The style is homely, with lots of ornaments, nick-nacks and strong colours. Some people will find it charming and cosy whilst others may find it a little fussy and cramped - I guess it's very much dependent on your personal tastes. The room we stayed in had a comfortable double bed with a small bathroom which just about accommodated a shower, small sink and toilet. You wouldn't call the room spacious and the furnishings do little to make the best use of the limited space, but certainly do add character.

Beware because of the age of the building the sound proofing isn't great. We could hear the people above moving around and the floor boards were quite creaky and the water system a little noisy. We also found the room quite warm (it was July) and so had to have the window open at night - which let in the sound of the seagulls that dominate the harbour. These are the kind of things that some people wouldn't notice whilst others might find a little annoying. But given the age of the building I'm not sure what the proprietor (who is lovely and very charming) could do to improve things - just be aware if you are sensitive to this kind of thing.

The breakfast, as other people have mentioned, was top notch and the service exemplary. You get the impression that the owner is very accommodating and would do whatever he could to make this a pleasant say. I would definitely consider staying here again, but am still a little perplexed as to why the reviews are quite so good. I think the price is a little expensive considering it's more of a B&B than a fully-featured hotel, but I can imagine that a lot of people find it very charming and well run.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diplo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockport
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

stayed at the hotel with my husband henrique and jo are perfect and made us feel very welcome enjoyed coffee on the terrace vieww of the conwy estuary. bedroom was clean and tidy and well equipped. breakfast could not be beaten superb one of the best we experienced on holiday will definitly return

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neil78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

This is a beautiful hotel on a hill overlooking the walled town of Conwy and it's beautiful castle. Henrique & Jo are charming, the breakfast is wonderful, the landscaping is inspiring, and the bar is nice! Our group of four had a fantastic time at the Castlebank Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davweir4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2010

We appreciated the restaurant suggestions. \
The breakfasts at the Castlebank were perfect.\
The staff was very accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank England22010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rogerstone
Level Contributor
134 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2010

The hotel I usually stay in this area was full so on tripadvisor recommendations I booked here for one night's business travel. The Castlebank is somewhere between a small hotel and a large guesthouse on a steep hill overlooking Conway town (with its impressive castle)

There is a private car park, which was a bonus, in front of the hotel. Very steep steps lead up to the front door but there is a ramp (again quite steep). I was greeted by friendly staff who took me to my second floor room (more stairs so this hotel is not for those with mobility issues) which faced the rear (no view).

I understand that rooms at the front have good views but in my experience the single traveller staying just one night tends to get the less popular rooms.

The room was cosy with a double bed and a sofa which was a nice touch for relaxing. The TV was digital providing the usual freeview channels, there were the usual tea and coffee making facilities, a small dressing table which had just enough room for a laptop once I had cleared the knick knacks, and a small shower room. It was clean and fresh but I have to admit the decor was not my choice - too much clutter and ornaments and some very ornate lampshades with lots of tassles!

Breakfast was quite good - fruit, cereal, fruit juices, plus a choice for a hot breakfast. Cooked to order and delivered with polite and prompt service. The restaurant was not open for food every night so if you need to eat in the hotel check first - otherwise it is a walk back down the hill into Conway.

There was free internet access in the residents lounge via the hotel's PC or for a fixed fee (about £3) wifi is available in the room.

I would return to this hotel again if my first choice was unavailable - would be nice to have a view next time though!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sybil_Ramkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,500 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Llandudno (Glan-Conwy) Hotel
Premier Inn Llandudno (Glan-Conw...
#1 of 1 in Llandudno Junction
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bryn Derwen Guest House
0.1 mi away
Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlebank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlebank Hotel

Property: Castlebank Hotel
Address: Mount Pleasant, Conwy LL32 8NY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Castlebank Hotel Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing