We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed many times & love it every time”
Review of Castlebank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castlebank Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2010

The Castlebank is a real home from home. From the moment you enter it is obvious that the hosts Jo & Henrique will do anything within their power to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. The hotel has a friendly relaxed atmosphere and is in an ideal position for exploring North Wales. We have stayed many times at this hotel & always recommend it to people we know who are visiting the area.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeithR296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

359 - 365 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2010

We stayed at the Castlebank Hotel in Conwy, Wales for three nights. It was a perfect set-up, we had two rooms (one for parents and one for teenage son). Jo and Henrique run the place and are the most hospitable, welcoming innkeepers we have run across. The Castlebank is comfortable and warm - it truly was like a home away from home. The rooms were nice, breakfast was great, lounge/bar was fun. We didn't have a chance to have dinner while we were there but are sure that it would be great as well. It was the middle of our two week trip and was an excellent place to wind down a bit, have laundry done and recuperate. The location is great, everything in Conwy is within walking distance. We would definitely recommend it and hope to return!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karabolst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We have visited Castlebank several times. My partner & I stumbled across it whilst touring round Wales approx. three years ago. Since then we have been back alone,then together with my Daughter & Son in Law & more recently with our baby Granddaughter. Henrique & Jo have always made us feel at home, & will do everything possible to make your stay enjoyable.
We liked it so much that we occupied the entire hotel & held my daughters hen weekend there. That was one of the best weekends ever!! Henrique & Jo made it very special making suggestions of menus etc. Much of the food provided reflected Henriques Portugese roots which was absolutly gorgeous!!!
We have never had a bad experience at castlebank & i would definatly recommend this hotel to anyone,the food, the charm of the building & the central position are all important But most of all the perfect owners!! Thank you!! See you soon x

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkshirelass86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

We were in Conwy for my brother's wedding and stayed for 2 nights with my wife and 2 daughters aged 4 & 13. On arrival at the Castlebank, the owner, Henrique gave us a detailed and comprehensive overview of the accomodation. We were in room 8 which although on top floor never felt like hard work to get to. The room was spotlessley clean and very comfortable.
We needed a taxi to travel to meet other relatives, no problem, Henrique booked it for us,
need advice about the local area (or anything it would seem) ask Henrique!
Lovely little bar and terrace to have a drink in the evening, fabulous breakfast cooked by Henrique's wife, wish we had time to taste the food in the evening as it smelled fabulous.
Henrique and his wife are fantastic hosts, they definitely go the extra mile to make your stay as good as it can be - go try and see what I mean. We are already planning to return!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

Just returned from our second stay at The Castlebank. Last year we stayed for a week, as our son was singing with the National Youth Choir of Wales. with the first concert in St Mary's Church, Conwy. This year the concerts were in the South, but we'd enjoyed our stay so much we returned for four nights before returning south. Once agaon we had a lovely stay. Jo and Henrique provide a highly individual service, with wonderful food and rooms so much better than the usual hotel. Our return visit was like coming home and leaving is quite a wrench.

Conwy itself is lovely and the hotel location is ideal to make the most of the town. With good advice from Henrique on places to visit, and where to eat (on nights when hotel restaurant is not serving), you can be sure of a great break.

No doubt for us about returning again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Densian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Castlebank is well situated within easy walking distance of all the major features of Conwy and provides good views. It has ample private parking and is set in it's own small, but very pleasant, grounds.

There are basically two types of hotel: the more modern Travelodge style hotel, which has been custom made to provide basic comforts in an ergonomic and economical fashion. And the older-style hotel, with plenty of character and idiosyncrasies run by a small, dedicated team. Castlebank definitely falls into the latter camp, and so long as you are aware that is more of a B&B than a hotel, then you should enjoy your stay.

The rooms are all furnished individually and each one is unique and has a theme. The style is homely, with lots of ornaments, nick-nacks and strong colours. Some people will find it charming and cosy whilst others may find it a little fussy and cramped - I guess it's very much dependent on your personal tastes. The room we stayed in had a comfortable double bed with a small bathroom which just about accommodated a shower, small sink and toilet. You wouldn't call the room spacious and the furnishings do little to make the best use of the limited space, but certainly do add character.

Beware because of the age of the building the sound proofing isn't great. We could hear the people above moving around and the floor boards were quite creaky and the water system a little noisy. We also found the room quite warm (it was July) and so had to have the window open at night - which let in the sound of the seagulls that dominate the harbour. These are the kind of things that some people wouldn't notice whilst others might find a little annoying. But given the age of the building I'm not sure what the proprietor (who is lovely and very charming) could do to improve things - just be aware if you are sensitive to this kind of thing.

The breakfast, as other people have mentioned, was top notch and the service exemplary. You get the impression that the owner is very accommodating and would do whatever he could to make this a pleasant say. I would definitely consider staying here again, but am still a little perplexed as to why the reviews are quite so good. I think the price is a little expensive considering it's more of a B&B than a fully-featured hotel, but I can imagine that a lot of people find it very charming and well run.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diplo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

stayed at the hotel with my husband henrique and jo are perfect and made us feel very welcome enjoyed coffee on the terrace vieww of the conwy estuary. bedroom was clean and tidy and well equipped. breakfast could not be beaten superb one of the best we experienced on holiday will definitly return

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neil78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Conwy
1,376 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,748 reviews
2.8 mi away
Karden House Hotel
Karden House Hotel
#17 of 59 in Llandudno
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#32 of 59 in Llandudno
497 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#5 of 59 in Llandudno
863 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlebank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlebank Hotel

Address: Mount Pleasant, Conwy LL32 8NY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Price Range: £81 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Castlebank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlebank Hotel Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing