We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Will go again”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of TY PEN Y BRYN

External view 1
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
External view 1
External view 2 Lounge view 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
32 reviews
External view 1
External view 2
Lounge view 1
Lounge view 2 showing 32in smart tv
Lounge view 3
Kitchen view1
Kitchen view 2
Double  bedroom view 1
Double bedroom view 2
Twin room view 1
Twin room view 2
Bathroom view 1
Bathroom view 2
Courtyard garden view 1
Fire place in courtyard garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Conwy, Conwy County, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laverdabr...
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Will go again”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A lovely little place, & very well equipped. Felt at home as soon as we walked in. Also a great location, close to the town centre. There were minor problems with some broken items, due to a previous occupant. Hopefully these should have been repaired by now.
Cannot really comment on VFM, as this is the 1st time we have stayed in S/C accommodation.
But we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, & will stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, nice atmosphere.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacquelin...
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great location”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Well equipped and short walk into the lovely town of Conwy. Was a bit concerned about parking before we went but soon found some were to park a minutes walk away so it wasn't an issue.

Lots of places to visit nearby. We were very lucky with weather so all had a great holiday.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoseandBe...
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Value for Money but Not Luxurious”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The pros: Ty Pen Y Bryn offers much more than a hotel would at the same price, particularly a kitchen to cook in and plenty of space. The bathroom is elegant and well-appointed. The location is excellent: a quiet street, with parking fairly close, only five minutes' walk away from the centre and the various pubs, cafes, and attractions. The patio offers a very good view of the castle.
The cons: The property seemed to lack that little extra dose of care that would have made it an excellent one. When we arrived the house was so cold that we had to wear our coats in it for that day and the next; there was nothing wrong with the heating, which did heat the house eventually, but if the house had been heated a little before we arrived we would have felt more comfortable there. Similarly the kitchen was well-stocked in pots and pans, but no cooking oil, coffee, or tea were provided, and it could have done with a more thorough cleaning; it did the job, but didn't go above and beyond. The master bedroom was tastefully decorated, but the mattress was so soft that we spent much of the night rolling into each other rather than sleeping.
In short, there is lots to like, but a little more investment on the owner's part would go a long way towards changing this from a place that 'does the job, and nothing more' into a really charming place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The mattress in the master bedroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2015
I will begin by stating that I have never claimed that my cottage is luxurious so why should this customer state it was not .THIS HAS NEVER BEEN CLAIMED IN ANY OF MY ADVERTS
Secondly I have always left the heating on for several hours prior to guests arrival with the temperature set at 21C. I was advised to do this by Country Cottages many years ago & have always done so.The cottage warms up very quickly & to state that it took 24 hours to warm up is quite absurd
My advert also makes no mention of a hospitality tray so why was one expected.
Finally the comment that there was no cooking oil can ony be described as "Most odd " Insurance companies do not allow the leaving of opened food containers which would be the case here ,unless she expected a new bottle of cooking oil for each guest
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny G
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely cottage, great location”
Reviewed 10 September 2013 for a stay in August 2012

Lovely cottage, well equipped, clean and comfortable with all facilities you could want. Great location within Conwy's historic town walls. Good views of Conwy Castle from the sheltered garden.
Perfect location, minutes from station and shops.
Conwy is a beautiful holiday destination; the cottage helped to make our stay special!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely cottage, perfect location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjames101...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“good base for exploring”
Reviewed 9 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

my self and children stayed here in aug/sept. was acceptable accommodation. soft comfortable double bed but the singles were a little uncomfortable. everything that was needed was there. full equiped kitchen and clean bathroom. ideal base for exploring north wales and Conwyn is a beautiful town to visit. nice places to eat. garden cafe very nice and accept dogs in outside area.(under cover if raining) cottage was ideal for the kids and the dog.stairs narrow and steep and walk to cottahe on a slight hill. parking is awkward if you cannot walk far. parking nearby but again a short walk from cottage. all said we will use this accommodation again if we visit this area again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location to town
Liked least: single bed mattresses.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth B
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“excellent little house just inside the Conwy walls”
Reviewed 4 September 2013 for a stay in July 2012

this is the perfect spot for a break away in Conwy. the town has lots of great places to eat, nice pubs and fantastic fish and chips ( we loved the fish and chips at the place in castle st ) however self catering is a breeze because all you need for cooking utensils has been provided in the kitchen at the house. If you bring your dog there is even a bowl of water outside waiting ! The house was clean throughout and very comfortable, great bathroom too. There is a nice atmosphere just being inside the conwy walls but if you go up the hill beyond the walls you can get fantastic views and walks from the Sychnant Pass Road. Llandudno is also a good seaside town to visit. If you don't have a car the train station is so close to the house ( but down the hill so no noise !) this is a great place to see a wonderful part of Wales and the owner couldn't have been more helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: making it home for our holiday and then having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gin L
1 review
“Good value for money!”
Reviewed 20 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

The property is very close to the conway castle and town centre, and also keeps distance from main streets' noise. Though it has no private parking place, a cheap public one is just over the wall. Stuff that might be needed is fully offered. Wifi is fast. All is good but the bed is too soft.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$119
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing