We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing- fascinating insight to life in Tudor times for all ages” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plas Mawr

Plas Mawr
Book In Advance
More Info
US$634.54*
and up
Private Guided Snowdonia and Conwy Day Trip from Conwy Valley
Ranked #1 of 32 things to do in Conwy
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
England
Level Contributor
123 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Amazing- fascinating insight to life in Tudor times for all ages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

This has to one of the best tourist tours I have ever experienced. The house is so authentic and and has been restored to an amazingly high standard. It feels real and life like and is exceptional value for money. I would highly recommend it. The audio tour is included in the price

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Interested1328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    453
    93
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic restored house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is the best example of a restored house that I've seen. The attention to detail and overall presentation is very impressive. The thing that brings the whole experience to life is the interactive tour which adds an extra dimension to the visit. My children loved this part so much that they completely changed their view of the attraction from "Do we have to go to this lame house!" to " When can we come again, that was brilliant!".
We visited Plas Mawr after seeing Conwy castle and it was equally impressive, a "must see" if you're in Conwy to see the castle.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“a beautiful and apparently authentic Elizabethan house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Many levels to explore- terrific detail, and well worth paying for. We enjoyed this and definitely recommend it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank kayechen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“The best Tudor house in Britain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

The interior of Plas Mawr is magical! The interpretation of the rooms, the fabric wall coverings, the rushes on the floor, the food being prepared in the kitchen, the dishes on the table in the great hall, all add to the feeling that you have been transported back 400 years.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank sunshinelover978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Most interesting with friendly and knowledgeable attendants. As we are NT members it was free. The views from the top are worth the stairs.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaP09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Plas Mawr also viewed

 
Llandudno, Conwy County
Conwy, Conwy County
 

Been to Plas Mawr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing