We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst lunch for a long time”
Review of Chrissie's Kitchen - CLOSED

Chrissie's Kitchen
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worst lunch for a long time”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We took lunch here today and selected from the £7.50 two course Spring Lunch deal.
The fish soup was under seasoned, in fact, a fish stock cube in boiled water would have more flavour.
The main was a hybrid Indian influenced Shepard's pie which at first glance looked good but unfortunately it was all down hill from there. The filling was spoilt by too much clove powder and again next to no seasoning. Chips? why would you serve chips with a potato topped pie?, well the cook had managed to brown the outside while not cooking the inside and these we're dripping with cooking oil. Others in our party had Thai fish cakes and at last we found some flavour and seasoning, but this time too much salt!
To be honest, we should have seen this coming when the chef ran out to buy two bottles of Coke when we ordered a glass! Really? A bistro with no coke!
All in all a very disappointing experience that we will not repeat.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank 1stSteve_666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    26
    7
    10
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Widnes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely food, good service, well worth the wait”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We had a lovely, amazingly good value meal as part of Chrissie's lunchtime special. Roast pheasant was cooked to perfection and everything prepared fresh - it takes a little while but really is worth the wait as the meals were delicious. Chrissie and her staff were really attentive and helpful too, we had a lovely dining experience and will definitely return to sample the fish menu.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenH697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Much better than ratings suggest”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Excellent freshly prepared food, be prepared to wait, but it is well worth it. Very high standard of cuisine. Only in Conwy for weekend, went fot lunch Friday and going again today (Saturday)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank socko-50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great place for genuine food”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This place is a gem! The food is great - particular fish dishes - the service is excellent and the atmosphere is just cool! Everything in Chrissie’s Kitchen suggests a genuine effort to give customers a pleasant experience. Back to the food, everything is fresh and cooked as it should be. Customers that complain about waiting obviously don’t understand food and should better go to the closer McDonald’s. My only remark is: more attention to the wine list.
Well done, Chrissie’s Kitchen! We’ll be there soon!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kocchop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Promised much but very disappointing”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Went for lunch, arrived at 1 and although only one other table occupied took over an hour for our crab salads to arrive. While we were there was just one guy? preparing food and serving. He left the premises for 15 minutes saying his tomatoes were past it and so would have to go and by them from the Spar across the street.

The food was good when it arrived but pricey for what we got. We also asked for cups of tea. A pot arrived with cups and milk. Sadly when we added the milk it curdled in the cups. When we sniffed it in the jug it was very obviously gone off! I waited at the reception and called through to the kitchen to ask for replacements. After a long time, we gave up and left leaving the money for our meals, minus the tea, on the table. While we were there at least 4 groups of people got fed up of waiting and left. When we left the same couple who had been sitting at a table when we arrived,were continuing to wait for their main course. The man told us he had had to go out to pay more parking they had been there so long! We have been coming to Conwy several times a year and had never tried this place before. Needless to say, we will never go back. Annoyed that we wasted so much of a really nice sunny day in there :(

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank NettyB61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chrissie's Kitchen also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing