We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Intensely quirky but saved by the food.”
Review of Chrissie's Kitchen - CLOSED

Chrissie's Kitchen
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Intensely quirky but saved by the food.”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I was enticed inside by the offer of laverbread gratin with cockles and bacon on the menu. The place is quirky with a hint of Fawlty Towers about it. Crooked pictures on the wall are complimented by piles of stuff behind the counter and only one table with a pepper mill on it. The fish soup starter was OK but could have done with some more seasoning. A heavily tattooed man in a dress brought out a tray of butter and garlic mayonnaise. They can't touch you for it these days and it added to the experience. We shouldn't have had to wait an hour for the main courses and we were the only diners in there but once the laverbread gratin arrived it turned out to be very good although the veg was a bit on the soggy side and I would have preferred new potatoes rather than chips. My partners Thai fish cakes were a generous portion but unfortunately only luke warm. Consistent with the other reviews here, the waitress was very inexperienced and left before we did. A memorable experience for all sorts of reasons.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rockcat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    26
    7
    10
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worst lunch for a long time”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We took lunch here today and selected from the £7.50 two course Spring Lunch deal.
The fish soup was under seasoned, in fact, a fish stock cube in boiled water would have more flavour.
The main was a hybrid Indian influenced Shepard's pie which at first glance looked good but unfortunately it was all down hill from there. The filling was spoilt by too much clove powder and again next to no seasoning. Chips? why would you serve chips with a potato topped pie?, well the cook had managed to brown the outside while not cooking the inside and these we're dripping with cooking oil. Others in our party had Thai fish cakes and at last we found some flavour and seasoning, but this time too much salt!
To be honest, we should have seen this coming when the chef ran out to buy two bottles of Coke when we ordered a glass! Really? A bistro with no coke!
All in all a very disappointing experience that we will not repeat.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank 1stSteve_666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely food, good service, well worth the wait”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We had a lovely, amazingly good value meal as part of Chrissie's lunchtime special. Roast pheasant was cooked to perfection and everything prepared fresh - it takes a little while but really is worth the wait as the meals were delicious. Chrissie and her staff were really attentive and helpful too, we had a lovely dining experience and will definitely return to sample the fish menu.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenH697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Much better than ratings suggest”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Excellent freshly prepared food, be prepared to wait, but it is well worth it. Very high standard of cuisine. Only in Conwy for weekend, went fot lunch Friday and going again today (Saturday)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank socko-50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great place for genuine food”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This place is a gem! The food is great - particular fish dishes - the service is excellent and the atmosphere is just cool! Everything in Chrissie’s Kitchen suggests a genuine effort to give customers a pleasant experience. Back to the food, everything is fresh and cooked as it should be. Customers that complain about waiting obviously don’t understand food and should better go to the closer McDonald’s. My only remark is: more attention to the wine list.
Well done, Chrissie’s Kitchen! We’ll be there soon!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kocchop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chrissie's Kitchen also viewed

 
Conwy, Conwy County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing