We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful views, comfy cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Maes Masarn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Conwy, Conwy County, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Elizabeth...
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful views, comfy cottage”
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The cottage is very clean and comfortable, it has everything you need come rain or shine. The cosy nights in front of the fire, the garden with beautiful views. With a very well equipped modern kitchen we cooked dinner for 9 all sitting round the table with no trouble at all. There is plenty to do in the area - a must is going up Snowdon for 'breathtaking views'. The owners are very friendly and helpful, which made our stay even more pleasurable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views from the cottage
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue B
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Breathtakinly Beautiful”
Reviewed 13 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Beautiful cottage and surrounding country side. Very peaceful and tranquil. The amenities in the cottage were first class you couldn't ask for more. If you like open log fires its a must. All the bedrooms were very well presented and comfortable and very clean. Good family bathroom as well as an on suite also has a down stairs toilet. Very good out side area with seating. There is a washer/dryer machine and outdoor clothes line provided witch came in handy after you been walking and getting muddy. The owners of the cottages are very friendly, they helped us out after our shopping didn't arrive. They have great information on the surrounding area, and are only to happy to pass on to you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort of the cottage
Liked least: holiday went to quick
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2016
Many thanks for the review. We hope to see you again. Regards Neil and Catrin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pennyanne...
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxed!”
Reviewed 4 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I had such a wonderful time with family I do not see often. It was such a relaxing place to be.
Everything we needed in lovely surroundings. Comfortable and spacious rooms, with a wonderful log fire as the evenings were a bit chilly.
There is so much to see and do in the area, we will just have to come back again!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log fire
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliaclar...
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent accomodation with fabulous views”
Reviewed 2 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We received a very warm welcome with tea and coffee already in the cottage and milk in the fridge. Kitchen/diner facilities were great as we were doing our own cooking. Bedrooms were a good size with comfortable beds.
Lovely large lounge/diner with a real open fire and as many logs as you need.
Location is great with so much to see in the immediate area or you can go further. All in all, we had a great time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert T
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Another year”
Reviewed 15 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This cottage has been our holiday destination for many years and is still the best we ever visit. All is found and always clean. The area has so much to offer for visitors and the hard work put into the cottages by Catrin and Neil is reflected in the high standard. Roll on next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2016
Thank you for your kind comments. It is great to see you every year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan_Ath...
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Lovely. But there's a 'but'.”
Reviewed 15 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

First impressions of this cottage are excellent. It's set back from the road about 2 miles south of Conwy and is one of 6 cottages surrounding a central cobbled courtyard. It's lovely and tranquil and surrounded by fields and trees. Parking is separate from the cottages making it a safe haven for little ones to play.

You could be in the middle of nowhere which is just what we wanted!

On the inside, it's generally positive. A large and modern well-equipped kitchen diner with a separate utility room containing another sink and washer. There’s also a large lounge with another dining table and comfy seating for 9 as well as the all-important log fire (logs for which are provided free).

Upstairs there are 3 good sized bedrooms with sleeping for 7, one family bathroom and one en-suite.

Perfect then? Well, not quite.

The double bed is very uncomfortable. You could almost feel each spring digging into you as you tried to get comfy. We still slept though so not a huge problem.

The real bind though is that the only shower is in the en-suite meaning that getting ready in the morning was a bit of a chore. We had to wait for the residents of that room to rise and then take it in turns to enter.

The shower room itself is awful. A tiny trickle of water coming from a head that wouldn't stay up and in a cubicle that needed condemning. Badly applied sealant has been used to fill holes in the base and this was rising up making the whole thing look appalling. The shower appeared to be electric at first but it was actually just a mixer fed from the immersion heater meaning that there was never enough water for everyone to take a shower in the morning.

Once we got used to the immersion heater we managed to have hot water when we needed it (adults shower in the morning, kids at night) but it was all a bit of a faff.

The main bathroom was pleasant enough (aside from having no shower and the hot water tap wouldn’t turn off but that’s easily fixed.)

If they put a shower in the main bathroom and update the one in the en-suite then I would happily give this place 4 stars. If they did this and also replaced the mattresses with something a bit less lumpy (and perhaps fit a combi boiler instead of the immersion heater) then it would easily be a 5.

At the moment it’s just not quite there…..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, log fire
Liked least: The bathroom/shower
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2015
Thank you for your positive comments about the cottage. We are sorry you were not happy with everything at the cottage. The en suite shower room has now been fully refurbished (see photos). With regard to the hot water as you say there is as much as you need and we have checked with people who have stayed since who have confirmed it was fine. We have also asked about the mattress but to date everyone has been OK but we will monitor it. Thank you again for your feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretJ...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We have visited Maes Masarn for 4 consecutive years as we love both the property and the area.”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have visited several times, first with toddler grandchildren and, latterly, with elderly parents in their 90's. Good location for visiting the Conway Valley as well as coastal towns such as Llandudno, Rhos and Conway itself. We like the privacy of the garden and views over to the Great Orme. Well away from road and set in pretty cobbled courtyard. No noise. Facilities of good standard. If you need it, log fire very cosy. Owner, Neil, friendly and accommodating. Would highly recommend this.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attractive property in pretty location
Liked least: Stairs a bit steep for infirm
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing