We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seven wet hungry travellers”

The Press Room Cafe
Ranked #14 of 55 Restaurants in Conwy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$13
Cuisines: Cafe, Welsh
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Seven wet hungry travellers”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We arrived trying to dodge the rain before a visit to the castle. Seven of us across three generations had jacket potato, baguettes or Welsh rarebit. Not a single scrap of food was left, everyone thoroughly enjoyed their food and the tea / coffee. I would certainly recommend for others.
You could argue £7.50 for a baguette is expensive regardless of the quality but I've had far worse for the same price ( or less) so I'm not going to mark them down.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank themajoroak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    44
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good little spot for lunch”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We visit Conwy once a month and must have walked passed this a few time. We called in for mid morning coffee and returned for lunch. Good selection of cake, sandwiches and baggets. Well presented and good service. With so many tea shops it is difficult to stand out in Conwy but I would put this on my list to return to.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Tasty, freshly prepared food”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We sat outside in the sunshine watching the world go by, cafe clean and tidy, tables cleared and clean efficiently. Staff were polite, friendly and talked to you. Menu and specials board had something for everyone whether you were stopping for coffee and cake or something more substantial for lunch. Food was well presented and very tasty, I had the quiche which was very nice and I would recommend, my husband had the BLT which he said was one of the best he'd had. Reasonable and value for money. Will be calling again soon, the press room seem to have got it just right, well done. Can you please fix the wobbly table though, no 18.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank upsadaisy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Currently sat in the sunny courtyard after looking around the castle. It's nice to be able to refresh ourselves before a long journey home. Coffee was nice and staff friendly. We didn't eat here but saw other's food- looking good!

Helpful?
Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Coffee House and Cafe-excellent menu choice”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Adjacent to the Castle car park and entrance to the castle itself this is an excellent cafe and coffee house. Very attentive staff and excellent and interesting menu choice from snacks to more substantive meals. Their Croque Monsieur is absolutely brilliant as a brunch or light lunch.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 708peterm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Press Room Cafe also viewed

 
Conwy, Conwy County
Conwy, Conwy County
 
Conwy, Conwy County
 

Been to The Press Room Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing