We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful B & B in Conwy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glan Heulog Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Glan Heulog Guest House
Ranked #5 of 21 Conwy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Delightful B & B in Conwy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

We arrived in Conwy jet-lagged and tired from the drive from the Manchester Airport. Viv and Stan met us at the door and sent us upstairs to get a little nap, making a point of staying particularly quiet so they didn't disturb us. After a quick cat nap we were off to explore Conwy with our recommendations and directions from Viv. It's just a short walk along a pathway into town, just enough to feel like you've burned off some of those calories from the delicious Welsh breakfasts that we were served.

Stan is a Welsh speaker, so he TRIED to help me with my Welsh pronunciation. I think I'm pretty hopeless on the subject, but he really did try.

The B & B is located on a hill, and you either need to walk up the steps to the front door through the garden or walk up the fairly steep drive. If driving, the parking lot behind the house is much more level. The hill was not an issue for us (again, I was thrilled to get the exercise), but possibly could be for someone with mobility problems.

All in all, we had a wonderful visit, and I would highly recommend Glan Heulog for your stay in Conwy.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Afroglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    40
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
36
101
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Just an overnight stay during a two day tour of Snowdonia but very pleased we chose to stay at Glan Heulog. There were four of us in two rooms. Viv and Stan immediately made us feel welcome and were very helpful and friendly during our stay. Rooms were very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. Our rooms were at the front of the house and had very nice views across the valley. Can't say there was anything we didn't like about our brief stay. If we visit North Wales again would hope to stay at Glan Heulog again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the house have a nice view across the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evolsjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

This was my first trip to Wales and we couldn't have had nicer hosts from the moment we arrived. The room was lovely, tastefully decorated, very comfortable and well equiped with good views - very relaxing. Viv and Stan seemed genuinely interested if we had had a good day and where we had been and offered very good suggestions of where else to go without being too pushy. The breakfasts were lovely with excellent sausages and mushrooms cooked to order. I will definately stay here again and am already looking forward to it, Thank you Rowena

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RowenaWorcesershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

We booked a two-night break here, based reviews, and we were not disappointed. Just outside Conwy city walls, it is an easy 5 minute walk into the town. The room was exactly what I like - clean and tidy; full en suite; hairdryer&kettle; kitschy guest house decor. Owners are great hosts: welcoming us, asking if we wanted to change rooms (as we had booked online) and even loaning us a tyre pump and advice when the car got a flat. Such hospitality. Breakfast is lovely, but my boyfriend's favourite part was the house dog! As said before, not so great if you don't like dogs - but in that case maybe Conwy isn't the place for you as every person and pub seems equipped with their own pooches.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DontPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Just returned home from 4 night stay, The whole place is spotlessly clean, breakfast cooked to perfection. Our room, room 6, was spacious by B & B standards, had an en-suite bathroom with shower, great view to castle walls and the most comfortable bed ever slept in away from home. Viv and Stan are very friendly and helpful hosts, without being "in your face", Would definitely stay there again and would recommend to anyone,

Steve & Lesley, Chesterfield. UK

Room Tip: Room 6, great view from front of house
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveH1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

It is becoming rare in this cost-to-service based world to find quenuine hospitality, but Viv & Stan, the owners of this excellent Guest House B & B make a full and sincere effort to make their guests welcome. With my mother and my wife we were given comfortable rooms with excellent shower facilities and great beds. The breakfasts were as substantial as anyone could wish for. With hill views from the front of the house the atmosphere was bright and airy. Even more so since our 4 day stay included excellent weather (this is North Wales). There is even a view of the famous Conway castle to the north. Milly, the famliy dog contributed to our entertainment. The only thing wrong was that we could not stay longer. Next time, a week for sure. Thank you very much - John, Yu & Doreen

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexi060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

Stayed at Glan Heulog Saturday 4th June 20011 . We were warmly welcomed and found the room to be of an excellent standard. The breakfast provided was thoroughly enjoyed with an excellent choice. Mr & Mrs Watson -Jones provide a very good service to their guests

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richard_randles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
1.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,402 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Llandudno (Glan-Conwy) Hotel
Premier Inn Llandudno (Glan-Conw...
#1 of 1 in Llandudno Junction
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bryn Derwen Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glan Heulog Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glan Heulog Guest House

Property: Glan Heulog Guest House
Address: Llanrwst Road, Conwy LL32 8LT, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Conwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Glan Heulog Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Glan Heulog Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glan Heulog Guest House Hotel Conwy
Glan Heulog Hotel
Glan Heulog Guest House Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing