We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conwy was a real delight!”
Review of YHA Conwy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
YHA Conwy
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Conwy was a real delight!”
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Though the hostel is at the top of a steep hill, once there the hospitality is wonderful. Great staff who made me feel right at home. Special thanks to Steve, Jackie, Christine and Catherine. The restaurant serves up wonderful food and the views from the dining room are breathtaking.
Conwy is a delightful walled town with great bus service to see the countryside around North Wales. Get a daily Red Rover ticket on the bus and armed with a bus schedule from the tourist office you'll have an interesting day trip. I did the loops around Snowdon and Anglesey.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    138
    26
    3
    2
See reviews for
140
51
88
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We traveled to Britain with our sons (aged 8 and 11) and stayed all over the country. This was one of two youth hostels that we visited, although I stayed in European Youth Hostels quite a bit between 1989 and 1995. This hostel is situated on a hill overlooking Conwy and has a spectacular location. The views from the second floor dining room are stupendous and there's also a rooftop you can visit - we went up at sunset and watched the light fade over the whole town, and the Conwy castle. The location, however, does mean that it's a steep walk down the hill into town and therefore a steep walk UP the hill when you're ready to go home for the night. We had a car, though, and drove it down and parked in a lot, then drove back after our day in Conwy. The hostel had plenty of parking, too.

We had a family room, which has 2 bunk beds in it and a bathroom with shower in the room. It is, as most youth hostels are, quite spartan, but met all the basic needs. The room came with bed linens and blankets, and towels could be rented from the front desk. However, each bed had a light and a plug for powering personal electronics, the room was generously sized, and we had a key to keep it locked. It was clean, and comfortable. The hostel is incredibly clean, and the staff was super helpful. We had dinner there and the servings were enormous - they had chicken nuggets and fries for the kids, which they loved. We also ate breakfast there, and it was every bit as good at breakfasts we had at hotels - the usual full English breakfast with toast, croissants, eggs, ham, sausage, mushrooms, tomatoes, etc.

The hostel also has a big beautiful back yard, where the kids were able to run around and play in the grass, while we sat at a table and shared a bottle of wine (purchased at the front desk). We also used our time at the hostel to do some laundry (they have one washer and one dryer) and catch up on postcards. There was also a game room with a snooker table, foosball, and a variety of board games. My children had never stayed at a hostel and I know that they especially enjoyed the freedom of the place - they could run down to the front desk and ask for things, play in the yard and yell and generally be themselves. There were many families there, and it was a great chance for our children to meet other kids their age, who were also traveling.

It's a hostel so it's not luxurious, but it was friendly, inexpensive, beautiful, and fun. I would highly recommend it, especially to families.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRiversFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north wales
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Stayed here whilst doing a bit of cycle touring. The hostel is very clean and the staff working over the weekend we stsyed were great and very helpful. Room was on suite and very clean. Ate at the hostel and although not mega cheap the food was tasty and the kitchen staff great. The hostel overlooks the town and so walking down into town is fine but the walk back up is quite long and steep so be warned!!
Well worth considering as a place to stay.

Room Tip: You share a room with upto 3 other people so the mega shy dont bother considering
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chadders5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Very clean and cozy place. Staff are nice and friendly. I like this place and hope we'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wei122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Staff, accommodations and location were great. Sea Gulls started squawking at 4am, right outside window

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris29720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Our introduction to hostel accommodation at Conwy was a pleasant experience. Accommodation was all that we required and a hearty breakfast set us up for the day along with happy staff willing to please. Good washing and drying facilities. Would certainly use this hostel again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jays002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Stayed there while a friend was having her graduation was a super place to sleep, clean tidy warm just what you need, with beautiful scenery not far from the hostle.

Room Tip: get the bottom bunk
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigben2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
0.4 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,202 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,594 reviews
3.6 mi away
YHA Rowen
YHA Rowen
#2 of 2 in Rowen
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass
YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass
#2 of 21 in Caernarfon
213 reviews
13.2 mi away
YHA Idwal Cottage
YHA Idwal Cottage
#2 of 4 in Bethesda
66 reviews
18.2 mi away
YHA Snowdon Bryn Gwynant
YHA Snowdon Bryn Gwynant
#12 of 21 in Caernarfon
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Conwy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Conwy

Property: YHA Conwy
Address: Larkhill Pass Rd, Conwy LL32 8AJ, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Conwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Conwy 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious modern hostel with views of Conwy's Castle, medieval walls and harbour. Conwy Youth Hostel is an ideal base for exploring North Wales. A great location for backpackers, families, youth organization and anyone wanting easy access to the coastal resorts of Llandudno and the Snowdonia National park. The hostel is situated on hill just outside the town walls of Conwy in large grounds with a summer house, barbecue and picnic area. There are spectacular views from the roof terrace of the ancient medieval town of Conwy and the North Wales coastline. The town centre with its pubs, tea shops and local attractions is just a 10 minute walk away. The Conwy Castle is well worth a visit and the quayside is great for sitting back and watching the yachts and fishing boats go by. Guest Rooms – Spacious, light, clean with security lockers and all room fully en-suite. Bar – Relax tasting the Local beer lounging in our new Bar or admire the view from the patio/terrace overlooking the Snowdonia National Park. Outside – Plenty of room for a game of football in our large garden, enjoy the peace and quiet of the summerhouse or eat al fresco in our picnic and BBQ areas. Common areas – Relax and enjoy the views from our observation lounge and roof terrace, chill out in front of the TV with the kids in our family area, challenge someone to a game of pool or table football in the games room or if you just want peace and quiet sit and read your favourite book in our quiet lounge. Meals – All our meals are delicious and great value for money. If after a hard days sightseeing you don’t feel like cooking enjoy one of our evening meal specialties such as Welsh lamb casserole or Lemon and Herb salmon. We even have a special children’s menu with old favourites like Fish Fingers and Chips and Bangers and Mash. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your YHA Conwy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Conwy Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing