We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect romantic get away.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Certificate of Excellence
Conwy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect romantic get away.”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I have stayed at the Castel Hotel 4 times, and every time my husband and myself have had a wonderful time. From when you arrive you are treated with 5* service. I love how ever room is unique. When we stay we always eat in the hotel, I like sitting in the bar area, it has a lovely atmosphere. The menu is fresh and vast, and gets updated regularly. If you stay always get the breakfast it is top quality my favourite is the black pudding. All in all it's a lovely treat to stay at the hotel. Give it a go.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChelleFlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely review. It's always great to hear from a regular guest. You've restored my faith in human nature! Hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    647
    286
    85
    40
    22
See reviews for
176
607
29
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Stayed here last summer and had a pleasant stay in a super room overlooking the High Street. Called in recently for a drink and the public areas have had a disastrous make-over. Some hideous furniture and incongruous fittings have replaced the faded elegance. There is a new outdoor courtyard area which, again, lacks a quality feel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 212Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Another strange review, they seem to come in 'clusters'!
I'll just say (for fear of being censored again!) that we haven't had a makeover since last summer. New carpets and an exposed original Victorian tiled floor is all we've done and yes, a new courtyard area, created by local blacksmith and stonemason built walls, costing over £40,000!
There are photos of the courtyard on this site so you can make your own minds up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

As a local inhabitant of Conwy and regularly eating out in and out of town I have to say that I have eaten in gourmet restaurants and had far more value for money.
Having ordered the scallops - which were very nice - the way the menue portrayed them even as a light snack was an overstatement.
I think id have had more fulfilment from a bag of crisps.
Wine by the glass is just extortionate and before anyone says you expect to pay that in a four star hotel. No I don't.
I expect to pay that in a five star exclusive hotel.
Not a four star in the middle of a noisey and sometimes disruptive town.
So food ok
Overpriced
Wine a rip off.
Rather have a really excellent meal in the Kinmel Arms in st George to be honest.
Five star at its best there

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fairandsquare07862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Once again, this is my third response to this review. I've also asked for it to be removed as being inaccurate and potentially written by someone connected to local competition.
I'll just add that it's worth looking at the other 27 contributions made by this reviewer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Talbot Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Answer - when you stay at the Castle Hotel Conwy. Having paid nearly £500 for 3 nights in the Castle Suite we expected a suite. We got a room. A massive disappointment. A suite is defined as more than one room or a room large enough to have separate clearly defined areas for sleeping and sitting. We didn't have that. In fact in order to watch TV we had to be in or on the bed as the TV came up from a box at the base of the bed.

Before booking I asked the hotel for internal photos of rooms. I was told that they didn't have any but that I could look on Trip Advisor! Sadly Trip Advisor has not photos of the Castle Suite.

The floors are very creaky and noisy. This didn't upset us but the person staying in room 107 complained at the noise we made on the Sunday morning when walking around the room packing!

So we had 2 problems. We were expected a auite and didn't get one and the cost of the room per night was extremely high for what we had. Certainly not value for money.

Room Tip: Be aware the Suites are NOT suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grandadChepstow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I treated my husband to a night at the Castle as a Valentine's gift but booked to stay during March en route to an Anglesey track day. We arrived to a somewhat chaotic check in as there was a large family celebration going on that evening. I was in fear for the beautiful Tiffany lamps as children jumped around in the narrow space where the check in desk was! I hadn't booked in time to get a table in the restaurant for the evening but staff were very helpful and had organised one for me in the bar area, which was probably more the kind of atmosphere we were looking for anyway!

The hotel is charming and unique without lovely lamps and ornaments decorating the corridors and had a pleasant subdued grandeur to it. We love old buildings and this hotel had managed to preserve its ancestry far better than some of those recently taken over by big chains etc.

I had booked a feature/deluxe room and The room we were allocated (117) was fabulous, complete with in room tub! We also loved the groovy key rings, which were flattened spoons! The room had views onto the castle which my husband loved and we couldn't resist taking the odd photo and showing our room off via facebook before we went out to explore Conwy.

After a gorgeous day, walking the walls and visiting the harbour (complete with uncharacteristically warm and sunny weather for Wales in March) we returned to the hotel to make use of the huge bath! My only slight niggle was the fact that there were no robes or slippers in the room, which when you have such a feature as an in room giant bathtub, you would expect the luxury to continue beyond stepping out. We had requested robes before we went out (as my room description had included them) but there were none when we returned. A quick call to reception solved the issue though and they were brought to the room within a couple of minutes.

We ate in the bar that evening and the food was so good- and filling, that neither of us could manage a dessert! We slept remarkably well and never heard any noise from the floor above or from the family party that were staying at the same time. We had a leisurely breakfast the following day, despite the fact we should have been rushing! Making our way to Anglesey later than anticipated! We felt so relaxed that by the time we returned home, we felt we had been away for a week- and that's no bad thing!

My only regret is that I missed the Travelzoo offer for this place, as I often take advantage of their deals and have wanted to stay at The Castle since eating there back in 2001! If there are any offers again, I will most certainly return to the Castle and even if there are not, I could still be tempted!

Room Tip: room 117 has a two person bath in the room- very romantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pol73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Sounds like you had a great time! You've set the bar high now when it comes to hubby's Valentine's gifts!
Thank you for taking time out to write such a comprehensive review of your stay.
We bought the hotel in 2000 from a large London based hotel group and have spent the last 12 years undoing all the 'corporateness' and adding back some of the original character, whilst trying to offer contemporary stuff, like free broadband wifi. It's really nice to read you appreciate our efforts, as it's not easy to do, especially in the current economy.
You'll be pleased to know that we are 'stocking up' on extra bath robes and slippers, so they will be an automatic service in our feature rooms in a very short period of time.
Look out for our various packages and offers on our website, which are available throughout the year and there will probably be another Travelzoo winter offer, as it was incredibly popular!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangor, wales
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

cannot fault the castle hotel, in conwy. Fabulous relaxing atmosphere. lovely room. great food and a great welsh breakfast especially their own muesli. This is our first time to stay but have been for evening meals in the past, can highly recommend for a night away to chill.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idriswyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank you for a realy positive review, perhaps I should say 'diolch yn fawr' as you are from just a few miles away!
Sometimes we try and go too far to 'get away' but you and I both know that if you get the right place, it doesn't matter where it is and if you only have to drive 20 minutes, all the better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby,
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We ate here on Sunday 25th March. Beautiful food, well presented, good sized portions and friendly helpful staff! The restaurant setting is delightful and relaxed without being pretentious and stuffy. Excellent! We will definitely visit again when in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyLass18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank you very much for writing such a positive review.
We served over 200 meals on the Sunday you came, weather was beautiful, so lots of people dining outside in our new Courtyard! You chose the dining room which has a different atmosphere to the bar, lounge and courtyard and it was clearly the right choice for you. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
0.7 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,462 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
658 reviews
13.4 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,147 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 60 in Llandudno
819 reviews
3.0 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Property: Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Hotel High Street, Conwy LL32 8DB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Boutiquey' Town House Hotel in middle of World Heritage walled town. After many years of upgrades and restoration, this famous old Inn now offers contemporary styling mixed with 'arts & crafts' character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing