We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful value”
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Just back after a two night stay, room only for Sunday and Monday £119 . room clean and everything you need in it. staff very friendly and helpful nothing too much trouble, plenty of parking spaces .just a short walk down hill to the sea front ,

Room Tip: we had a room at the back of the hotel . facing the car park, no problems with noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Highhouse59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Thank you for your very nice review. Pleased you took advantage of one of our offers advertised only on our website. Please check back - we update them all the time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

983 - 989 of 1,343 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2013

We stopped off here for a glass of wine after walking the walls. Food looked so good we decided to give it a go. Food was great as was the wine. Lovely mix of old and new in the hotel staff all very polite and friendly. We will be going back for lunch in July.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

Thank you very much for your review. Pleased you enjoyed your quick stop. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

i had wanted to stay at the castle for a while so when i saw a two night special we thought we would try it. the premium room had a badly cracked washbasin, the toilet seat needed replacing and the bathroom was very small. breakfast was £13.95 each. there was fresh fruit but not fresh fruit salad. no water but fruit juice. has i don't have pepper i asked that my breakfast did not contain any i was told that i could not have the mushrooms has they were cooked in pepper.
the evening meal was very good and i would recommend it. i would never stay there again though.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pamela w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

Just can't please some people. I believe she stayed in Room 108.one of our most requested rooms, with lovely bay window seat over the main entrance. Stayed on an offer with one night free, except for breakfast. The room has a lovely large walk in shower and an expensive 'vintage' sink. Obviously we should have shopped at Armitage Shanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Upgraded to deluxe room to the front of the hotel. Super comfortable bed and fabulous ornate decor. Dinner and service superb (highly recommend the bouillabaisse) and bread and butter pudding. Breakfast fast efficient service and pleased to see the famous Castle muesli still on the menu. 10/10

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank North Wales H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

Thanks very much for the 5 out of 5. Always particularly pleasing when a regular guest gives us a great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Just got home from having a fantastic meal at Castle Hotel. Service was great. Got a table in the bar easily at 3.30 on a Saturday. I had lambs kidneys then fish and chips. Wife had scallops then chicken. We eat at some nice places in London and MCR and this place really compares. Not over expensive. Great place for a lazy relaxed lunch.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

Thank you for taking time out to write a good review. Pleased you enjoyed your lazy lunch - should be here this week - could be eating outside in our tropical weather!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We eat here on a regular basis, but can't get my head around this at all. I called the Hotel 7 times NO ANSWER, I got through next time to be told fully booked, I tried again 15 mins later same story, tried again 5 mins later "Bingo" got a table 9.00 pm perfect but had to be there no later. Arrived prompt had drink in bar table not ready ok not a problem ordered bottle of wine eventually went into restaurant one whole section of the restaurant not even being used at least 30 + covers not doing anything !!

I witnessed at least 9 people asking for a table, who I think were residents and were told NO and walked out the door. When we went into restaurant there were people still on main courses, so no a big hardship. Must of lost a fortune seems like the staff or Chef just want to go home !!! Sad as the food is great.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank absolutevenues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

Can't really understand this one either! 7 phone calls seems a bit excessive! We have had a BT problem with a 'dead line' - sounds like it's ringing to the caller, but doesn't ring here! They tell me they've fixed it!
We served well over 100 dinners on the Saturday night in question, so don't think we turned away too many people and certainly not because the chef wanted to go home! It was very hot and muggy though, which turned some people off!
Seems like this person doesn't like us much - last time she called us "overrated and expensive". Keeps coming back though!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This is a nice hotel conveniently located. Parking is either across the street or behind the hotel (very tight though). Wi-fi reception was good. The rooms were nice.

Breakfast is ok….the cold part is very average - no real fresh fruit (just an apple or orange), 3 types of cereal, some yogurt and a few muffins/croissants. The hot part is better – eggs, smoked salmon, toast, etc.

We did have an issue with our booking.

When we checked in (we were here for 3 nights) we were told that we would need to switch rooms our last night. We had booked a month earlier for a Deluxe Double room. They told us we would NOT have a deluxe double the last night, but would have a Premium Double. And that they would only charge us for a Premium Double for the 3 nights. However, that night we realized that they had put us in a Premium Double room. The next morning we asked about this and we were told that this room (#112) WAS a deluxe double. However, this is not what the website describes.

Here is the website description for the deluxe and premium rooms: A deluxe double bedded room with castle views and either a corner 'Spa' bathroom, or a corner bath in the room to watch TV whilst you 'soak'!
Larger Premium Double Room with ensuite bathroom.

On the website, there is a picture of the Premium Double that looks EXACTLY like the room we were in (room 112). Room 112 faces the street, does NOT have a castle view nor does it have a corner spa bathroom or corner bath in the room to watch TV whilst I soak.

Now, having said this, the premium room IS a nice room, however, our issue was that it is not what we booked. And for them to tell us this was a deluxe (and act like they were giving us a deal by lowering our rate to the premium) is what we had an issue with. We did not wish to argue at this point since both rooms were nice. We just wished they would have been more upfront about the whole issue. Honesty is always the best policy. Unfortunately we did not get that in this case.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank RBonTheLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

Thank you for your review. Bit of a curate's egg I suppose - good in parts!
My main concern was the impression that we have mislead you by not giving you a Deluxe Room. I've checked the booking engine and you're correct in saying that the image shown was the room you stayed in 112 and it is a Deluxe Room. The image was shown in error on our accommodation 'booking engine' under Premium rooms. This has now been rectified by our web company.
All our Deluxe Rooms are different and one (room 117) does indeed have a corner bath in the room with Castle views.
I'm really sorry for the mistake and if you come our way again, there will be a bottle of Champagne waiting for you with our compliments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
0.7 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,720 reviews
13.4 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,064 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castlebank Hotel
Castlebank Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#15 of 60 in Llandudno
718 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,292 reviews
20.7 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Hotel High Street, Conwy LL32 8DB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Price Range: £65 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Boutiquey' Town House Hotel in middle of World Heritage walled town. After many years of upgrades and restoration, this famous old Inn now offers contemporary styling mixed with 'arts & crafts' character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing