We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay in Conwy”
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Certificate of Excellence
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The only place to stay in Conwy”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

The highlight of our trip to GB was Conwy, and the Castle Hotel had a lot to do with it. They may be lucky with the location, but the service, the comfy rooms, the views (the castle at sunset was golden), the friendliest in the bar, and the delicious food are worth the visit!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hungry-Roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you so much for your great review. Fantastic that you enjoyed out little town - a hidden gem of Wales - and the hotel matched your expectations.
Hope you had a great visit to the UK - you certainly picked the weather!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    305
    87
    43
    23
See reviews for
195
635
32
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
226 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My wife and I have stayed here many times and always find it very good. It has a nice atmosphere and charm; not your bog standard chain hotel. The location in the centre of town is good and you can park relatively easily. The rooms are good, if sometimes a bit quirky; the food, wine and beer are very good too. The service is always keen and eager.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d_jones25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you very much for your latest review Mr Jones.
It's always nice to welcome back a regular and although you weren't over kind on Tripadvisor after your last visit to us - I'm glad my 'grumpy old man' response didn't put you off!!
Can't blame me for caring I suppose!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The hotel has a lot going for it. The building is nice and the (too?) quirky decor is interesting.

If the hotel were cheap, I'd give it a good review, but it charges top dollar. For the price you should expect more comfort.

The flaws were; very very slow service in the restaurant; room very hot, but fan not working; rooms overlooking a noisy high street.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Some D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Well I suppose you can't win them all?!
If you decide to stay a hotel in the centre of a Medievel walled town, in the middle of July, during a heatwave with all the windows open - I guess you're going to get a bit of noise?!
It's also the most expensive time to visit if you chose to stay on a Saturday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were on a 2 week tour of the UK and booked a bunch of different hotels and B&Bs. This by far stood out as one of the nicest. We had splurged and booked the Swit Caer Rhun. It was a huge suite. The bedroom had a view of the castle and the sitting room overlooked the main street. The bathroom was enormous with a jacuzzi tub! The staff was very friendly. Since our room was on the second floor (no elevator), I was really glad to give my luggage to the bellboy! There was parking across the street as well as at the back. It was never a problem. Breakfast was nice. We had dinner there one night. It was good but a tad expensive. For our second evening dinner, we looked at reviews on TripAdvisor and went to Watson's Bistro. It was amazing. We had lamb and it was delicious! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Conwy.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you for writing such a positive review. Very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us during your UK vacation.
The Caer Rhun Suite is a bit special isn't it - you didn't mention the jacuzzi bath is designed for two people!! Just the place to enjoy our complimentary bottle of Champagne - very decadent!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Visited for lunch on a really hot day..looking for a small light lunch. The dishes served were excellent and fitted the bill perfectly. For a 4* hotel the bill was good too. Smoked Haddock and Chorizo risotto was superb as was the Red Mullet with crab linguine. The Cheese rosti topped with Sm. haddock spinach and a poached egg and the asparagus risotto were also delicious. Portion sizes were ideal and the food was served as it should be, hot. Staff were attentive and friendly. Excellent value for money. Car park opposite hotel made disable access easy. Would recommend if in Conwy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coffeeshopboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. Pleased you enjoyed your lunch and the value we like to think we offer - but I sometimes wonder reading some reviews on here!!
Hope we see you again next time you visit our wonderful town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

My wife and I thought we would treat ourselves to a nice 4 star hotel in Conway, we have threatened to stay at this hotel for years, and now we have. Its a nice Hotel in a excellent position in the center of Conway. We had a superior room that was a little on the small side, but very nicely furnished,we booked bed and breakfast, and the breakfast was a little disappointing as the table we were allocated was a bit small, and my breakfast tasted of something had been burnt.on the whole a nice hotel but overpriced. if you have trouble climbing stares then you have a problem with this hotel as it does not have a lift.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoff_ingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you for your review. Yes - no lift I'm afraid. Hotel is a 17th century listed building, so impossible to 'retro fit'! Sorry.
I'm not sure why you think us overpriced? We are actually charging less in 2013 than we were in 2008 - and it's not cheap to run a hotel like ours with constant maintenance required and all costs going 'through the roof'! And we're certainly no more expensive than comparible 4 star hotels in our area.
Keep an eye on our off season offers and packages which you'll find on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

My partner and I stayed just one night at the hotel. Getting there late morning we abandoned our car in the rear car park, notified the receptionist and went walkabout. (Tight squeeze into the car park, but there is another smaller car park opposite the hotel).

Checked in mid afternoon. Had drinks in the bar. Served quickly and efficiently. Room 108 was directly above the front door. Lovely room. Everything worked as it should. No complaints really, but door lock seemed a little loose. (Only noticed this on way out - no big deal though).

Booked into restaurant at 6.15pm. Order taken quickly, (we were the only ones there), but it took until 7pm for the meal to arrive. Now I understand folks eat elsewhere in the hotel, so I accept that may have the cause of the delay, but if that wasn't the reason, maybe it was a tad too long to be waiting for food. Minor niggle, and only offered as feedback, not a criticism. Staff on the ball.

Breakfast was the English/Welsh breakfast and was included in the package. Nice breakfast, served promptly and politely. Checked out seamlessly. All staff friendly and keen to help when asked. No problem recommending it to others.

Hotel literally in the centre of the town making it convenient for everything. Thanks

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuckersCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Pleased you enjoyed room 108 - one of my favourites! Your only 'niggle' was a wait for food? Obviously it depends what you order as well as the other orders in the kitchen at the same time as yours. At the time you ate, it's 'prime time' in the bar and Courtyard and we could have as many as 10 - 15 checks on from those areas. Sorry for the delay.
Hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
0.7 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,533 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
668 reviews
13.4 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,346 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bryn Derwen Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Property: Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Hotel High Street, Conwy LL32 8DB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Boutiquey' Town House Hotel in middle of World Heritage walled town. After many years of upgrades and restoration, this famous old Inn now offers contemporary styling mixed with 'arts & crafts' character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing