We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, charm and whimsy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Certificate of Excellence
MA
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Location, charm and whimsy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

First off, location, location, location. The hotel is right smack in the center of town, no more than a five minute walk from any part of the walled town. Add: great architecture and fun room decor. Then factor in great food at the restaurant. Last but certainly not least, there was the friendly and accommodating staff. A particular stand-out is Brian at reception who is so incredibly nice and helpful. There were a couple of small issues like a small peeling section of ceiling in the bath, no AC (it was a particularly hot period, but the fan cooled things off nicely) and no soap replacement. These details would normally have resulted in a four rating in my opinion, but my overall experience was so memorable due to all the positive aspects of this hotel that I have to rate it a five.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. Love the word "whimsy" - not heard that in a long while!
I have mentioned your review to Brian - he's very pleased and thanks you! We are very fortunate that we have some lovely local people working with us, many of whom have been with us a long time and our investment in training and development pays off. Our younger team members all show great enthusiasm and really care.
Not sure which room you were in, but there is a constant programme of repair & renewal, so you can be sure we will remedy any problems in the off season.
I guess the soap thing is a moot question. Along with many other hotels, we do try and save some cost, but also have a duty to the environment. We have considered the liquid soap route but don't think that's right either!
You're obviously a seasoned traveller and to get a 5 star rating from you is very encouraging. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    278
    83
    38
    21
See reviews for
166
598
28
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
plymouth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

A lovely hotel with great staff and spacious comfortable rooms.

A good selection of local beers in the bar and good value food in the restaurant. Car parking can be tight but the overflow car park over the road helps with this.

Some good local restaurants too; Watsons and Raj.

Don't touch the plates!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank triggerhippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you for writing a good review.
We're all really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Our carparks can get a bit busy this time of year - but for a hotel in the centre of a walled town - I guess we shouldn't winge too much! We can always get a bit creative and double park to help the volume!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

The highlight of our trip to GB was Conwy, and the Castle Hotel had a lot to do with it. They may be lucky with the location, but the service, the comfy rooms, the views (the castle at sunset was golden), the friendliest in the bar, and the delicious food are worth the visit!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hungry-Roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you so much for your great review. Fantastic that you enjoyed out little town - a hidden gem of Wales - and the hotel matched your expectations.
Hope you had a great visit to the UK - you certainly picked the weather!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

My wife and I have stayed here many times and always find it very good. It has a nice atmosphere and charm; not your bog standard chain hotel. The location in the centre of town is good and you can park relatively easily. The rooms are good, if sometimes a bit quirky; the food, wine and beer are very good too. The service is always keen and eager.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank d_jones25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you very much for your latest review Mr Jones.
It's always nice to welcome back a regular and although you weren't over kind on Tripadvisor after your last visit to us - I'm glad my 'grumpy old man' response didn't put you off!!
Can't blame me for caring I suppose!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

The hotel has a lot going for it. The building is nice and the (too?) quirky decor is interesting.

If the hotel were cheap, I'd give it a good review, but it charges top dollar. For the price you should expect more comfort.

The flaws were; very very slow service in the restaurant; room very hot, but fan not working; rooms overlooking a noisy high street.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Some D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Well I suppose you can't win them all?!
If you decide to stay a hotel in the centre of a Medievel walled town, in the middle of July, during a heatwave with all the windows open - I guess you're going to get a bit of noise?!
It's also the most expensive time to visit if you chose to stay on a Saturday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were on a 2 week tour of the UK and booked a bunch of different hotels and B&Bs. This by far stood out as one of the nicest. We had splurged and booked the Swit Caer Rhun. It was a huge suite. The bedroom had a view of the castle and the sitting room overlooked the main street. The bathroom was enormous with a jacuzzi tub! The staff was very friendly. Since our room was on the second floor (no elevator), I was really glad to give my luggage to the bellboy! There was parking across the street as well as at the back. It was never a problem. Breakfast was nice. We had dinner there one night. It was good but a tad expensive. For our second evening dinner, we looked at reviews on TripAdvisor and went to Watson's Bistro. It was amazing. We had lamb and it was delicious! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Conwy.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you for writing such a positive review. Very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us during your UK vacation.
The Caer Rhun Suite is a bit special isn't it - you didn't mention the jacuzzi bath is designed for two people!! Just the place to enjoy our complimentary bottle of Champagne - very decadent!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Visited for lunch on a really hot day..looking for a small light lunch. The dishes served were excellent and fitted the bill perfectly. For a 4* hotel the bill was good too. Smoked Haddock and Chorizo risotto was superb as was the Red Mullet with crab linguine. The Cheese rosti topped with Sm. haddock spinach and a poached egg and the asparagus risotto were also delicious. Portion sizes were ideal and the food was served as it should be, hot. Staff were attentive and friendly. Excellent value for money. Car park opposite hotel made disable access easy. Would recommend if in Conwy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coffeeshopboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. Pleased you enjoyed your lunch and the value we like to think we offer - but I sometimes wonder reading some reviews on here!!
Hope we see you again next time you visit our wonderful town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
0.7 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,402 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
13.4 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
3.0 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#15 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Property: Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Hotel High Street, Conwy LL32 8DB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Boutiquey' Town House Hotel in middle of World Heritage walled town. After many years of upgrades and restoration, this famous old Inn now offers contemporary styling mixed with 'arts & crafts' character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing