We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Menu choice required”
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Certificate of Excellence
Llanrwst, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“More Menu choice required”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We have eaten here on many occasions and it is always pretty good. However on our last two visits I have been disappointed by the menu. They changed what was a great deconstructed chicken curry into something not nearly as nice and the Shin beef was just ordinary where in the past it was great.
Always very good service, hoping for a better menu next time. If it ain't broke don't fix it springs to mind.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichieLloyd66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    696
    313
    88
    44
    23
See reviews for
200
652
32
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

My wife and I stayed for one night at the Castle Hotel as part of her birthday present. As our stay progressed I tried to think of a statement which summed up the Castle Hotel and as we were checking out I realized what sets this establishment apart from so many other hotels – “Team Work”. Every member of staff has a clearly defined role however each member of staff appears to be adept at multi-tasking thus vastly improving the guest experience. For example as we were checking out at 11.00 am the young man who is restaurant supervisor was busy vacuuming the entrance carpet. OK it may not impress everyone but it certainly impressed me and there were so many similar examples of this positive helpfulness.

Ruth checked us in and Lorraine checked us out again a ten out of ten experience.

We ate both dinner and breakfast in the restaurant and were suitably impressed by the choice, presentation and service.

A nightcap in the bar before we retired for the evening was an enjoyable experience and significantly there appeared to be a number of local patrons which is always a good sign.

Our room was comfortable and quiet with a view of Conwy Castle. I have the distinct feeling we will return.

Room Tip: We were allocated room 121 and it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed here on 25/1/14 on a dinner, bed and breakfast deal. I can't praise the hotel and staff enough, we had a fantastic stay. All the staff were courteous and friendly and nothing was too much bother - how refreshing in this day and age when customer service seems to have been forgotten about! The food in the restaurant was superb and well worth the money for the quality. Bedroom was equipped with everything you would need for a stay. Breakfast again was mouthwatering with plenty of choice. We'll definitely be back

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Booked a one night stay via living social for £109 for the two of us comprising bed, breakfast and evening meal with a bottle of house wine. The deal was such good value for Money. We only had a premium room but we could not fault anything. The only down side was the size of the portions for dinner. The food was excellent and tasty, but just not enough for us and the wine was delicious.
The staff could not do enough for us and we would definitely recommend it and would stay again without the deal.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChelleBelle59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

The staff were attentive but not in your face, the welcome from the desk, particularly Brian, made you want to relax and enjoy. Was very pleasantly surprised with the food, which was excellent and the accommodation.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Fanny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with colleagues on business for one night at the end of January 2014 and it was my second visit. It has a very homely yet historic feel about the place and staff are very friendly, welcoming and accommodating. It is awash with quirky artefacts and ornaments in keeping with its general ambience. My room was a single which was at the front of the hotel looking out onto the main street of Conwy. Well furnished, comfortable with an armchair, flat screen tv and tea/coffee tray stowed in the wardrobe. All very correct. On my last visit I made a huge mistake by eating out because on this visit we discovered just how good the food in the restaurant was. We all agreed it was delicious and whilst not the cheapest menu it was superb. I had posh fish and chips ( with scallops and king prawns) wow. We'd already sampled the locally brewed ale and it too was very good. Breakfast was good too and I opted for scrambled within smoked salmon. I would recommend this hotel very strongly but you must eat in!!!! I shall return for sure.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bob0324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel 2 nights ago. After booking on a special deal through living social, the woman on reception said she had no record of our booking. Fair enough, but she made no attempt to apologise; as if it was our own fault. Ironically, they have "certificates of customer service" plastered all around the reception area. There is a sign to welcome you, because presumably the hotel staff are unable to do this.
Parking is a problem. We were told to just 'park in the middle' of the full car park, and leave your keys, the staff will move your car to the next available space (at your own risk) No thanks!
The room smelled old and damp, but the decor was more offensive. Clashing isn't the word.
When we went for dinner, the hostess tried to sit us at a table next to the only other couple dining. Bizarre, and very basic dining etiquette. Luckily, she allowed us to select a different table. Of course, she placed the next couple to arrive at the very same table.
Food was well presented, and tasted well, but the chicken was lacking sufficient veg/potatoes. We were left feeling hungry after the two courses. Luckily for us, we were the early diners, as there were mutterings around of slow service.
When we checked out, the woman who checked us in completely ignored us (this would have been her chance to apologise for her behaviour at check in). However, the couple in front of us were having even bigger problems, to be honest we were just glad to leave.
The bar is obviously a favourite of the locals, but I suspect that is more due to lack of competition.
After arriving at this hotel I started to read the trip advisor comments, and it seems the hotel is in denial!, so I'll expect some abuse from "the management".
Quite a terrible experience all in all! ..would NOT RECOMMEND.

Room Tip: I'd suggest avoiding altogether.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 1230918736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
As it's me who does the responding - I suppose you expect me to defend our business and our staff and to give you a hard time for writing a negative review!
Well .....I'm tempted - but instead perhaps you have read different reviews than I've just read on here? I'm not "in denial" - I need to take medication for that at my age! I've just gone down the last 5 or 6 pages on Tripadvisor -30 reviews - 17 were 5's; 10 were 4's; 2 were 3's and yours.
Please be assured that we fully appreciate that we do not get it right every time and I will investigate the points and complaints you make.
We constantly review our operation and amend and improve where necessary - and even super negative customers receive our complete attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
0.7 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,565 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
677 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,363 reviews
13.4 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
974 reviews
24.4 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Property: Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Hotel High Street, Conwy LL32 8DB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Boutiquey' Town House Hotel in middle of World Heritage walled town. After many years of upgrades and restoration, this famous old Inn now offers contemporary styling mixed with 'arts & crafts' character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing