We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful night stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Certificate of Excellence
Wrexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful night stay”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This was booked for my birthday. we stayed for one night and had our evening meal there.

The room was beautiful. The view at the castle was perfect.

The restaurant is extremely warm.

Overall I was delighted with the break here. I didn't pay for this hotel, it was a romantic break so I have no idea what was paid, but I'm so glad it was booked.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    647
    286
    85
    40
    22
See reviews for
176
607
29
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Apart from the very faded decor of this establishment, both my wife and I were very disappointed by the food served at lunchtime. My Croque Madame consisted of a ramekin lined with buttered bread, and consisting of an egg covered by some cheese. For over £7 !! And, at £67 for bar meals plus drinks for four, we left wishing we'd visited one of Conwy's many chippies instead.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maenol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We visited the Castle Hotel for lunch. The food was excellent with a wide choice of menu to choose from. The service was very good, the waitress who served us was very helpful as there was so much to choose from we were spoilt for choice. Would highly recommend a visit. They get very busy especially at holiday times so would recommend booking a table to save any disappointment.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueanddavetalbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed in one of the suites as a special treat and was a brilliant experience.

The staff were all brilliant and well trained and couldn't be more helpful.

We ate in the restaurant and the food was sublime!

I would definitely visit again. Diolch yn fawr

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mwddrwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Located within the castle walls of Conway and one block from the harbor this is a great spot to stay. We stayed here for two nights as members of a Rick Steve’s tour. Our room was nice and comfortable and the hotel offered a very generous selection of items for breakfast. A nice garden/patio area in the back makes for a great place to enjoy a pint or two after a day of sightseeing or just hanging with a bunch of friends and having a good time. As an American I found the hotel to be a bit ”old fashion” which to me was a good thing, and I wish we had more hotels like this back in the states.

Room Tip: Rick Steves uses this hotel for his tours - how can you go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob_Mannino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Castle Hotel is situated in the centre of Conwy, a short walk to the Castle & Marina. The hotel oozes quality, the Rooms are comfortable & well decorated, the Restaurant is superb offering a good menu & the bar area, where you can also dine, is cosy offering an excelllent choice of Beer & Wine.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Lovely hotel warm and welcoming staff in all sections. Fabulous restaurant and bar areas. Food is lovely and well prepared. I stayed for business trips and as a woman on my own felt very at home. Both time I stayed I was very pleased with the service I received.

Room Tip: I have stayed in a single room which had a three quarter bed which was lively and spacious and a dou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon190737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
0.7 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,462 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
658 reviews
13.4 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,147 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 60 in Llandudno
820 reviews
3.0 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Property: Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Hotel High Street, Conwy LL32 8DB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Boutiquey' Town House Hotel in middle of World Heritage walled town. After many years of upgrades and restoration, this famous old Inn now offers contemporary styling mixed with 'arts & crafts' character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing