We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not So Tasty Food”
Review of George & Dragon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
George & Dragon
Ranked #9 of 22 Conwy B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Staying in Conwy decided to have a meal on the evening of my Birthday. We choose the George & Dragon as we had been there a few times for drinks and they have a lovely walled garden. The Landlord and staff are very friendly and it was great that we were allowed to take our small dog with us. Mussels were on the menu and I was assured that they were excellent served with peppers and cream sauce. My expectations were good as I have heard so much about the Large Conwy Mussels and also seen a programme on TV . What a disappointment they were tiny defiantly not Conwy ones and the sauce represented dish water, Hubby,s meal not to good either.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 106 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2013

we stayed here on way home ,we were tired and didnt really want to start looking for accomodation,the staff were very friendly and helpful,the room was basic,and i dont think it justifies £65 a nite,it was clean, but also very noisy,the toilet cistern in particular,i wouldnt have wanted a room below this !also walls very thin,and could hear dog barking a lot,and also antics of other people !!!!!evening food we had was good value,although was a little disappointed with the breakfast choices,but nice to be offered smaller portions.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jules503874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We have just spent three nights at the George and Dragon. Whilst it was OK it was not what we were expecting because of the misleading website.
The site showed pictures of white bedding, croissants and orange juice and described the rooms as premium en-suite rooms. The reality was that the bedding was orange and brown, the towels were very old and worn and the rooms in need of refurbishment. There was no hairdryer. The lovingly prepared breakfast was poor with no choice other than fried food.
The website said there was free parking but there was no car park and when I asked where we should park was told it was difficult in Conwy. We had to approach the Tourist Information Office who explained how we could park overnight.
In summary we did not expect luxury for the price of £55 per night but I feel the website is not representational of the offer.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank disappointed14450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012 via mobile

Had some lunch here on Sunday
Great specials for £3-50 if you prefer a smaller portion and plenty of choice
The bar area had great pub atmosphere and Christmas decs enhanced that
I had chilli and rice which came with tortilla chips and for £3-50 it was a bargain.
Really enjoyed it
Worth a visit
You can't go wrong

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fairandsquare07862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,264 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,652 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Erskine Arms
The Erskine Arms
#7 of 22 in Conwy
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bridge Inn Conwy
Bridge Inn Conwy
#6 of 22 in Conwy
85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Bryn Derwen Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George & Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George & Dragon

Address: 21 Castle Street, Conwy LL32 8AY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Conwy
Price Range: £106 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — George & Dragon 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your George & Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George & Dragon Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing