We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog friendly but service poor”
Review of George & Dragon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
George & Dragon
Ranked #9 of 22 Conwy B&B and Inns
Wilmington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Dog friendly but service poor”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We spent two nights here in June 2013. We were initially very pleased that the landlord allowed us to stay there with out dog, a very well behaved border collie. We were shown the room before we accepted and although there were no frills it was bright, clean and tidy if a little tired. The landlord was very friendly and remained so throughout or stay. Unfortunately that is where the good points end. The room proved to be very stuffy, even with the windows fully open and the weather wasn't even very warm. As it overlooked the High Street it was also very noisy with the windows open. The shower door didn't close and the drainage system for the toilet, shower and sink were via an automatic electric pump with was very noisy.
Breakfast was dreadful. I don't ever eat a cooked English breakfast as I cannot digest large amounts of fat that easily. I normally opt for cereals and toast but the choice of cereals was limited to just Kellogg's cornflakes or Wheetabix. Orange juice was available but the glasses looked like they hadn't been washed properly. The room also smelled of stale cooking fat. To get service you have to ring a bell which we did. I young lad seemed to be in charge so I asked for some toast and marmalade. My husband had a full English breakfast. He then disappeared before we had a chance to order tea to go with it. When the breakfast arrived my toast came with apricot jam. I pointed this out to him and he said he would go and look for some marmalade. He didn't. I don't jam on toast so I asked if there was anything else I could eat. He eventually came back with a bowl of muesli which was basically just oats and a few sultanas. I normally like muesli but this was really boring. I knew there was a supermarket just 100 yds up the road so I went out and bought myself a jar of marmalade to have with my toast. My husbands breakfast was fine.
Next day as I entered the restaurant he said to me he had now got some marmalade in but when he brought me my toast he didn't bring it out so I eat my own again. When he brought out my husbands breakfast he apologised that he didn't have any eggs so had given him some hash browns instead. There was a shop just two doors down on the other side of the road selling eggs but he never thought to buy any. The place wasn't even busy, we were the only couple in the restaurant and the previous day there had only been one other couple.

Room Tip: Take your own breakfast if you don't eat cooked breakfasts
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    17
    8
    13
    18
See reviews for
20
43
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthenshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Staying in Conwy decided to have a meal on the evening of my Birthday. We choose the George & Dragon as we had been there a few times for drinks and they have a lovely walled garden. The Landlord and staff are very friendly and it was great that we were allowed to take our small dog with us. Mussels were on the menu and I was assured that they were excellent served with peppers and cream sauce. My expectations were good as I have heard so much about the Large Conwy Mussels and also seen a programme on TV . What a disappointment they were tiny defiantly not Conwy ones and the sauce represented dish water, Hubby,s meal not to good either.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

we stayed here on way home ,we were tired and didnt really want to start looking for accomodation,the staff were very friendly and helpful,the room was basic,and i dont think it justifies £65 a nite,it was clean, but also very noisy,the toilet cistern in particular,i wouldnt have wanted a room below this !also walls very thin,and could hear dog barking a lot,and also antics of other people !!!!!evening food we had was good value,although was a little disappointed with the breakfast choices,but nice to be offered smaller portions.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jules503874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Conwy hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We have just spent three nights at the George and Dragon. Whilst it was OK it was not what we were expecting because of the misleading website.
The site showed pictures of white bedding, croissants and orange juice and described the rooms as premium en-suite rooms. The reality was that the bedding was orange and brown, the towels were very old and worn and the rooms in need of refurbishment. There was no hairdryer. The lovingly prepared breakfast was poor with no choice other than fried food.
The website said there was free parking but there was no car park and when I asked where we should park was told it was difficult in Conwy. We had to approach the Tourist Information Office who explained how we could park overnight.
In summary we did not expect luxury for the price of £55 per night but I feel the website is not representational of the offer.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank disappointed14450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012 via mobile

Had some lunch here on Sunday
Great specials for £3-50 if you prefer a smaller portion and plenty of choice
The bar area had great pub atmosphere and Christmas decs enhanced that
I had chilli and rice which came with tortilla chips and for £3-50 it was a bargain.
Really enjoyed it
Worth a visit
You can't go wrong

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairandsquare07862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,139 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,531 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bridge Inn Conwy
Bridge Inn Conwy
#6 of 22 in Conwy
60 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bryn Derwen Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George & Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George & Dragon

Property: George & Dragon
Address: 21 Castle Street, Conwy LL32 8AY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Conwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — George & Dragon 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your George & Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George & Dragon Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing