We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff save the day”
Review of George & Dragon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
George & Dragon
Ranked #9 of 21 Conwy B&B and Inns
1 review
“Staff save the day”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

I've Called in at the George and dragon a few times for food and drinks and while the place is in need of a refurb the ladies behind the bar work hard to make you welcome with little Venice smiling you can't help but feel better what an asset

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Conwyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    17
    8
    13
    18
See reviews for
20
43
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

If only I'd looked at TripAdvisor before going! Really shoddy room. Grim bathroom. Corridor stinks of dogs. Owners not so friendly. Paid in advance and then told that the earliest breakfast is 9am (way too late - I needed to get out of the place - also very odd as they expect you to leave by 10am). Ended up having to find somewhere else to eat breakfast. Not recommended. Wish I'd read the reviews before booking.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Conwy hotels

Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Four of us arrived for a lunch midweek, two weeks ago, and sat in an outside area to enjoy the weather. We ordered our meals from the bar and waited - for about half an hour. Plenty of empty tables so they weren't rushed off their feet. The two cheese sandwiches that finally arrived were so dry they were almost like toast. (Even British Rail do better than this now!) The two tomato soups were positively gelatinous and most unpleasant, clearly not homemade as the sign at the front implied about the food served here. Soups was advertised as coming with a roll but only a slice of, again dry, bread arrived. While we ate the area was mobbed by seagulls ploughing their way through the abandoned tables throwing cutlery on the floor and knocking glasses over. No wonder it attracts them - if everyone else leaves their food as we had to! We were in a hurry or we would have complained in person but this was truly our worst meal out in a very long time.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Beanyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yelverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Conwy is a fabulous tourist destination so it is a shame that the occasional unwary tourist stops for refreshment in this appalling establishment. When we arrived it had only two customers on a busy sunny day which should have warned us. The food was passable but I have never received worse bar service. When this was pointed out the atmosphere declined further as the bar woman argued aggressively and loudly in front of the other customers. Cheerful customer service was totally absent. Most of my requests were met with the single word "No".

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PewTor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I am quite amazed at how many bad reviews this place seems to have. I arrived in Conway last weekend as part of the Pirate festival. Although staff were sometimes very busy because of the festival I have no complaints. I ran out of tea and sugar and milk and all I had to do was ask for more, these people aren't psychic, all you have to do is ask!
As a regular enough traveller all I ask in a place is that the beds are good as you need a good sleep, and bathroom and facilities are clean enough and they were... this place is not the Hilton but it will provide a good enough place to stay whilst visiting Conway, after all, your not there to eye up the wallpaper! More than anything I trusted that our stuff was safe and secure as we had the top floor with a seperate locked bathroom.We even lost our sat nav and when we left we rang the place to see if they found it. if they had of then I have no doubt they would have returned it (turns out we found it). I also had the Thai Curry and it was great. Also thanks to Matty for service at breakfast and everyone one for making us welcome.

Room Tip: top floor has 2 or 3 rooms and a seperate bathroom with shower. swimming pool and fitness centre ter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poka H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The pub was filthy, the landlady sarcastic and totally unprofessional, the whole building smelt of dogs and my colleague actually had a flea on his jacket after putting it on his bag on the floor when he checked out.
Our Saturday breakfast table had not been cleared or cleaned by Sunday morning and we paid £130 a night for two rooms. Compare that to a pristine £29 a night Premier Inn.

Room Tip: Have a look at the hotel around the corner - slightly more expensive but clean, presentable, profess...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 569Businesstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We went to Conwy on the bank holiday weekend and did not realise that there was also a festival in Llandudno which meant that accomodation was hard to find. We were told about the George and Dragon by the Tourist Information and after trying a couple of other places were relieved to find that they had a room. We were taken to see the room by a member of staff who informed us that " its what it says on the tin......bed & breakfast ". Maybe we should have taken this a warning of things to come but we accepted the room, paid upfront and went out to enjoy Conwy. When we returned for the evening we asked the bar staff about the procession of old vehicles that was due to come through the town that evening. They knew nothing, even though it passes in front of the pub. We ate in the pub that evening and all credit to the chef the meal was good. Whilst we were eating our meal some customers who had been in the pub all day, and very drunk by now, were being loud and using bad language. Due to this we decided to go out and have a drink somewhere else. When we returned later we went straight to the room but within an hour or so the band at the pub next door started to play again. We didn't mind this as we were staying in a pub. When the pubs had closed the noise began. People in the street shouting, screaming and arguing, dogs barking this went on for some considerable time. Taking all this into consideration I would not recommend The George & Dragon to anyone. The room was dirty and smelt musty. The beds were very uncomfortable. When we went for breakfast the next morning the chef was on his own but again credit to him he served a good breakfast. The toilets in the dining room were dirty and there was tissue all over the floor. This was not a good experience and certainly not worth the money they charged.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,506 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bridge Inn Conwy
Bridge Inn Conwy
#6 of 21 in Conwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bryn Derwen Guest House
0.1 mi away
Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George & Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George & Dragon

Property: George & Dragon
Address: 21 Castle Street, Conwy LL32 8AY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Conwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — George & Dragon 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your George & Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George & Dragon Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing