We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vanilla slice”
Review of Popty Conwy Bakery

Popty Conwy Bakery
Ranked #1 of 2 Bakeries in Conwy
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Vanilla slice”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Well we just couldn't call into conway and not sample a vanilla slice after reading reviews about them on here and my word I'm glad we did!!! I actually think this was the best slice I've ever had! Would definitely advised arriving earlier than we did though which was around 2.40pm most of the stock had sold out.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank minimodmk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    21
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best vanilla slices in the Northern Hemisphere ....”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Used to be Veals bakery in my youth, glad to see the tradition continues. Balls made the best meat and potato pies ever but Pobty is getting there quickly. I pronounce to them a few years ago that their vanilla slices are absolutely the best I have ever consumed in the Northern Hemisphere ... and in the southern the prize goes to the Pennyben family bakery in Tasmania.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Francis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A must visit”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The cakes are HUGE ! Buy a custard slice and you'll be eating it a week later...it's the size of a housebrick!
The bread is freshly baked every day...hot and delicious. The pies, pasties...and did I mention the cakes???
Yep... Definitely 5 star!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great bakery”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My husband had a vanilla slice and he was very happy with it, I had a chocolate cake. It was very yummy and huge. The prices are very good and the desserts are fresh.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Vanilla Slice!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

What can we say - the blackboard that they display says it all! If you like Vanilla Slices, then this is the place to go!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynsey2830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Popty Conwy Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Popty Conwy Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing