We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place for a break”
Review of Llys Llewelyn

Llys Llewelyn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Conwy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Llys Llewelyn
Ranked #18 of 22 Conwy B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place for a break”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for a short weekend break a while ago, and we loved it. The owner was very friendly and helpful, and made us a huge breakfast each day (not so keen on the black pudding, but that's just us). The building has so much more character than we see in hotels. We hope other b&b's take a leaf out of their book.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodrigo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    6
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
3
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Rick Steves was right on the money again A great location ,helpful and friendly host,thanks Alan for making our trip to Nth Wales so enjoyable.Do not expect the Ritz,property needs a little TLC but the price and location are great

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 983steve42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a couple nights in late May. We just read the other three reviews before us and agreed with the points that they made. The value, location, knowledge and hospitality of the owner are great. We would definitely stay again. Alan really is a very warm hospitable host. We would recommend Llys Llewelyn to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

The Tourist Information only recommended us highpriced B&B´s.Thanks God they are all fully booked or the proprietors were very arrogant, so we fled. By chance we saw Llys Llewelyn Guest House, where we found an inexpensive accomodation and the very friendly Landlord Alan. From our room we had a lovely view over the city and to the castle. The bathroom is very tiny but sufficient. Beautiful walks in the environment. Check in without any doubt! Thank you, Alan, for sitting by us during breakfast and for the good talks and entertainment. I think, we would be friends if I live nearby.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gobbson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed in march whilst on a would normally stay at the Castlehotel but fortunately it was fully booked.
Staying at Llys llewelyn is not about the room size or the odd spec of dust..its about the warm of the reception offered by the owner Alan a retired mountain guide and ex coach of the British ski team.
We chatted over breakfast he was inspiring offering great advice on little known walks and climbs in snowdonia.
I found the location ideal just outside the city walls with easy parking . The b&b is elevated with a fantastic views over Conwy.
Great value ..i hope to come back soon

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobcat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnwood, WA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Llys Llewelyn after seeing it mentioned in Rick Steve's guidebook. We enjoyed our stay.

Lets start with location. It's just outside the city walls. It's high up so we could see the walled city and the castle from our second floor room. The town is small so everything is close. It's location is probably better than those in the walls thanks to the elevated location offering nice views.

The room was a bit cramped. The bathroom too was a tight squeeze. We didn't spend a lot of time in the room so it didn't matter to us. But, it you want space you won't get it in the rooms we used. Not sure about the others though.

Things were clean. The beds were okay. Breakfast was continental and was good.

The best part about the Llewelyn is the owner, Alan. We really liked him and thoroughly enjoyed his company. He joined us for breakfast (asked permission) and we chatted for quite a while. We learned about his life and he seemed genuinely interested In ours. It was a great morning over juice/coffee/tea.

The Llewelyn is a listed building so it's got character. In his hook Rick Steve's sys that the Llewelyn needs some TLC. We have to be honest and agree. However, given the price, the location and Alan's company we didn't mind the slightly "dated" appearance and would use Alan again in a minute.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill_from_Washington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,142 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,536 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#15 of 60 in Llandudno
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bridge Inn Conwy
Bridge Inn Conwy
#6 of 22 in Conwy
60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
George & Dragon
George & Dragon
#9 of 22 in Conwy
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llys Llewelyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llys Llewelyn

Property: Llys Llewelyn
Address: Mount Pleasant, Conwy LL32 8NY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Conwy
Also Known As:
Llys Llewelyn Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing