We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing family reunion”
other travellers have booked this property
At high tide, you are less than 10 metres from the sea!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
At high tide, you are less than 10 metres from the sea!
Two doors away from the Smallest House in Great Britain A boat is needed to photograph the front!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
At high tide, you are less than 10 metres from the sea!
Two doors away from the Smallest House in Great Britain
A boat is needed to photograph the front!
Living room with sea views and a corner sofa that comfortably seats 8 adults
Dining room with sea and castle wall views. Comfortably seats 8
Master bedroom with king size bed, window seat and sea views.
Second main bedroom with double bed, window seat and sea views
Two of the bedrooms have two single beds each and both rooms have sea views
Two almost identical twin rooms have fab sea views
First floor bathroom with shower enclosure, toilet and basin
First floor bathroom with bath, overbath shower, toilet and basin
A reading area below a velux skylight. Also DVDs and books to read and exchange
Kitchen with double oven, dishwasher, washer, fridge and freezer
Yes, that is King Edward I castle wall from 1283 behind the outdoor seating!
View from main bedroom window, outer fortress wall on left
View from second main bedroom window, outer fortress wall on left
Yes, that is the sea right outside the front door
The living room and dining room are close to the sea and are almost at sea level
Less than 50 metres to first beach and just 400 metres to a 3 mile sandy beach!
Downstairs has two ornate cast iron radiators
Tiffany lights are installed downstairs
8 seat dining room table and a perfect Christmas
Log effect gas fire in living room at Christmas
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Conwy, Conwy County, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bardsleyf...
Sherwood Park, Canada
1 review
“Amazing family reunion”
Reviewed 16 February 2017 for a stay in July 2016

I booked this cottage from Canada. We used to live in the Uk and now live in Canada and wanted somewhere large enough to host 8 or more people and a dog. This place came up on my search and wow is all i can say. The location is second to none for walking and views of the local attractions. We often to took the train to places which was so convenient and relaxing for us. I am sure we will be back and would love love love to stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2017
Thank you for staying at Royal Oak Cottage! We look forward to your next visit xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalvinder...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent location”
Reviewed 15 February 2017 for a stay in June 2016

The location of the cottage was excellent once you park up you do not need car.every thing is few minutes walk shops,pubs n places to eat out.the cottage itself was clean and had everything we needed for stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2017
We look forward to you staying with us again in the future! Thank you for the lovely review! Becky and Chad x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria s
1 review
“Stunning property in an ideal location”
Reviewed 15 February 2017 for a stay in September 2016

Property is situated directly on the seafront within a few meters of the town and castle. Beautiful views. The property is simply stunning with all the amenities you could want. We had no problems with parking across from the cottage. Conwy is well situated for visiting the areas Castles and towns. Many beautiful walks from the front door.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2017
We look forward to you staying with us again in the future! Thank you for the lovely review! Becky and Chad x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shangrila...
Bentota, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 17 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

I stayed here while holidaying in UK from Sri Lanka where I live although I am British and know North Wales and particulary Conwy very well. In fact it is one of my favorite places if not the favorite. I knew exactly where the cottage was Location, Location, Location so no surprises i knew the views would be spectacular. I had not been in the house before though and it was exactly as described surprisingly spacious and very cosy. I stayed with family and invited people to come and stay for one or two nights as it had 4 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. Conwy is small but has a few very good restaurants and all walking distance and the Liverpool arms for a drink on the way was excellent. Everything you need is here. It was winter and very cold but the heating and hot water worked perfectly. Everything swift and easy with the booking and we got a parking space in the free one 5 seconds from the door the whole time but may be different in summer but it would not put me off staying here anyway. That is Conwy.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Dec 2016
Thank you for trusting us with your holiday and much thanks for your very complimentary review. Winter in North Wales and in particular Conwy, is fantastic but not many people realise this, so thank you for highlighting it. We hope you have a safe journey back to Sri Lanka. Best wishes. Chad & Becky.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley O
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful Cottage in a great location.”
Reviewed 3 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

There were 8 of us staying - Myself, husband, 2 daughters (13 and 11) ,my parents and brother and sister in law. The house is set over 3 floors so my family had the top floor which my daughters thought was great. All bedrooms have a great sea view with window seats in the 2 double rooms.

The living room area has plenty of room with a large seating area and large dining table, the kitchen is at the back of the house - mind your head - which has pretty much everything you need in.

The location is amazing, walking distance from everything you need. Edwards the delicatessen is definitely worth a visit, but go early as they sell out of the good stuff early.

We didn't explore as much as we would have liked and there is plenty to see and do in the area.

I would highly recommend Royal Oak Cottage, we will definitely come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2016
"Thank you Shelley for your complimentary review, it is much appreciated by us and of course future holidaymakers to Conwy who will be reading reviews of Conwy when considering a place to stay. You mention that fact that everything is within walking distance and this is one of the best features of the house - the location - and it allows you to de-stress completely and leave the car parked for your whole stay if you wish. We hope you choose to visit us again. Thank You. Chad & Becky"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
536ben195...
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Winter Wonderland !”
Reviewed 8 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

I needed a medium sized cottage to bring together some close friends to help celebrate my 60th Birthday, see the Conwy Winterfest and to hold a Murder Mystery night on the Saturday evening.
Royal Oak Cottage was the only one in its class in the town. With 400 years of history, built into the castle walls and yards from the quayside I had to book it. Even with such a location many times we book places in stunning location to be only disapointed by the place you rent. However not on this occasion ! the place was spotlessly clean, the bedrooms comfortable and with the owners having decorated the cottage for Christmas, it provided the perfect location. The weather outside was dreadfull but with the very good central heating and our well stocked kitchen and champagne supply we stayed in and played some of the games that the owners had left for guests to use.
Over the years I travel around and visit and stay at many places and this one beats them all. I would fully recommend Royal Oak cottage to anyone whatever the time of the year. I look forward to returning as all my friends want to visit it all again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it !
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2015
Thank you John for your complimentary review, it is much appreciated by us and of course future holidaymakers to Conwy who will be reading reviews of Conwy when considering a place to stay. I am sorry to hear the weather was poor but at least you had the views over the river estuary to Deganwy and the hills beyond from every room in the house. We hope you choose to visit us again and we will do our best to make your stay even better next time with some new additions to the cottage. Again, thank you. Chad & Becky
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDW S
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely Cottage in a Lovely Setting”
Reviewed 7 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I don't often leave reviews but wanted to say how much we all enjoyed our stay at Royal Oak Cottage.- The position on the harbour is idyllic, the castle is very close and makes for quite a view and the facilities of Conwy (which are also lovely) are only a short stroll away. Inside; the cottage blends character features with quality modern fittings. Warm, clean, comfortable and very well equipped. I must also say that the owners we’re very friendly and a pleasure to deal with. We will certainly stay here again when next in Wales!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The possition, views and character.
Liked least: More parking would be nice but that can't be helped
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2015
Hello Samuel. Many thanks for the flattering review. Your kind words have also been passed onto Dawn, our cleaner, who played a large part in making Royal Oak Cottage comfortable and welcoming for your break in Conwy. P.S. I hope the zip wire off Snowdon was as exhilarating as it sounds!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing